We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel ruined our weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Graaf van Vlaanderen
Ranked #92 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
A TripAdvisor Member
London, Great Britain
15
Reviewed May 1, 2006

When we arrived our rooms were not made-up from the previous occupant and there was a bucket of filthy tea-towels soaking in the corner. They made up the room, but the blankets still stank. Later that night we couldn't sleep as the rooms have NO HEATING and the whole hotel was FREEZING cold (We each had an itchy smelly blanket, one clean white sheet and one small pillow). The carpets are filthy throughout the hotel, the staff were indignant (particularly the hotel/restaurant manager). The rooms have no toilet in them, and you have pay to have a shower.

Breakfast is a plate of processed cheese and some ham. Also a basket of two bread rolls per person and some preserve. A glass of orange juice is brought to the table for each person and you can order a tea/coffee if you need one.

I will never stay here again - if the hotel was in England it would be closed down - DISGUSTING!!!! For 20 euro's more we could have gotten a beautiful hotel in the old town with excellent facilities. It's no surpise this place make you pay before you stay!

Also don't believe them is they say this place is just newly renovated - it is not - AVOID like the plague unless you want a sleepless night in a filthy bed!!!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Graaf van Vlaanderen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 79 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
29
Reviewed February 17, 2006

This hotel is located on the plaza near the new concert hall and only a short walk from the train station and the central market square. Also on the positive side was the cost of 49 Euro per night for a double room with breakfast. The breakfast was also fairly tastey. However, the room itself had some serious problems. Fist, the floor wasn't level. It wasn't just a little bit off level but quite a lot, such that it was difficult to share a double bed without rolling on top of each other or off the bed entirely. Also, the use the shower is not free, which is a needless inconvenience.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Miami, FL
352
Reviewed January 13, 2005

Look at the price for the rooms? Cheap, yes? Seem like a good deal? Well, you get exactly what you pay for -- nothing. This hotel is not a hotel at all. Rather it is a restaurant that decided to use its upper area as a hotel. To begin with, for 46EURO, they claimed you will get a room with a wash basin with access to a hallway bathroom. When we arrive, we easily find the hallway bathroom but could not gain access. After we asked how to get in, they said that it costs 6EURO per person to take a shower and 1EURO to access the toilet. We ended up "upgrading" within 10 minutes to a room with a private bathroom, which was horrible compared to what else you can get with 67.50EURO a night. Additionally, for a hotel within such a chic restaurant, they give their hotel guests an awfully cheap breakfast consisting of 4 small slices of cheese and some bread. Take your money elsewhere!!! You can do better!!! Thank goodness we only stayed there 2 nights, December 29, 2004 to December 31, 2004 before heading to Paris.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 26, 2005

First of all, I regret that you had a bad experience in our hotel! I want to apologize for the inconvenience that you had! I also want to let you know that we have just renovated the hotel and are looking forward to welcome new customers!
As we are a low-budget family hotel with not much comfort, the prices are very cheap, offering continental breakfast complimentary. If you take a room without private facilities, you pay 46 € for a double room, including continental breakfast. To take a shower, we ask 3 € / pers. The use of the toilet is free, always been!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vreselijk!!
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnsHoningh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woutervanloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Franondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ada L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#73 of 97 in Bruges
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Passage
Hotel Passage
#89 of 97 in Bruges
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 't  Putje
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lace Hotel
Lace Hotel
#91 of 97 in Bruges
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Van Eyck
Hotel Van Eyck
#65 of 97 in Bruges
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ensor
Ensor
#56 of 97 in Bruges
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graaf van Vlaanderen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graaf van Vlaanderen

Address: 't Zand 19, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: $81 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Graaf van Vlaanderen 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Graaf van Vlaanderen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graaf Van Vlaanderen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing