We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located and high value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 't Keizershof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel 't Keizershof
Ranked #75 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well located and high value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We found this via Rick Steves and were glad we had. The hotel is close enough to the train station to pull our suitcases (we are 65) and very affordable. The stairs to second floor are steep but which ones aren't? The room is small, but very clean. The hotel was perfect for the couple of days that it takes to see Bruges. If we were staying for a week, we would have considered more luxury, but this is very well located and good "bang for the buck." We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Email early if traveling during a busy season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poocherTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    62
    26
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
96
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

When visiting such a beautiful city as Bruges, you really have to ask how much time are you going to spend in your room? Once you have worked out that bit, the delightfully simple and charming Hotel 't Keizershof makes complete sense. Why do you need a television or a mini bar when you have an amazing selection of restaurants and bars (including one right next door).

The owners, Stefaan & Hilde, are charming and friendly. They work hard and keep the place spotless. Wifi, parking and a very generous breakfast are all included in their rates.

In summary, great value, great location and friendly owners. Perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

The rooms were small, but clean. No fancy amenities... what we expected of a European hotel. The real gift of staying with Hilde and Stefaan was the hospitality. Stefaan brews the best pot of coffee I've ever had and presents it along with a fine sense of wit. Hilde's bright conversations after morning runs are punctuated by small kindnesses as opportunities present themselves. Ralph the dog is a cheerful morning greeter in a breakfast room decorated with the progressively impressive artwork of the Vandooren daughters. Set aside any ideas of super soft towels to enjoy a taste of real Flemish life guided by a generous and compassionate family. (Try out the beer garden restuarant next door, on the corner; no English translations, but great service and food. Make reservations.)

Room Tip: Upstairs near the bathroom and shower is quiet. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We keep coming back. Fantastic days at the beach can be combined with visiting this lovely city, again and again. The perfect service and the good value of the hotel round it up.
No need to repeat, but the owners are very nice and helpfull.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daztac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

I travelled here with my husband in June and we quite liked it. I wanted to give it a 3.5 as I think it's better than a 3 but not quite a 4 - however I went with the 4 because I think it deserves that more than a 3! Please note that although I have classified this as a 'couples' trip because I was with my husband, it was not intended as a romantic getaway, it was part of a longer european trip. It would probably not be suitable for a romantic getaway if that is what you're after.

The rooms are old yes, but they are mostly clean (I noticed on the last day down between the sink cabinet and the wall was extremely dirty). We got very good service, Stefaan was very helpful, giving us a book with a map and tracing out the best routes for us and they also do your laundry for you, it is 7.50 euros per load which is a perfectly normal rate if you were to take it to a laundromat to do it yourself!

We were there during a cold spell, it wasn't cold enough that we needed heating though as it was fine if we just closed the window. I agree with the person who said the rooms have a weird smell, whenever the room was left closed up all day it would get a very musty smell, maybe there is some water leaking somewhere? But for the most part we left the window open anyway and only closed it when we slept.

The shower was excellent, very good water pressure and two shelves to put your soaps etc on! So many of the other showers we had on our trip had no shelves at all! I do not know why the previous poster objected to one toilet for 7 or 8 people, if you stay in a hostel you have to share the toilets with far more people and this hotel really charges hostel rates. 45 euros for two people is very cheap so I don't know why they were complaining or saying that was too expensive.

The bed was comfortable except for the pillows, they were a bit flat but we found that nearly everywhere we went in Europe. The mattress was a bit soft though which was a problem for my husband who is larger than me, but I had no problems with it.

Breakfast was a little strange, it only offered various breads with spreads - no cereal, fruit, yoghurt etc. What was offered was nice though - white bread, whole meal bread, croissants, raisin bread, sugared toast with butter, three types of jam, a type of ginger spread which my husband quite liked and a fantastic chocolate spread. Juice, tea and coffee is also offered.

The location is also great, about 2 minutes' walk from the main train station and ten minutes' walk from the town square. It is also right near the Minnewater, the tranquil canal/park area in Brugge so most people walk to the town square through there rather than the more direct route of going directly down the street.

WiFi had excellent signal and good speeds. Much, much better than the wifi we paid for in our 3-star hotel in Munich! Stefaan also let my husband use their private computer to format one of his USB drives which he was unable to do via his phone. I think we would return if we were to stay in Brugge again :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilaBear87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel t'Keizershof. It was our first stay in Europe and we were not disappointed! The best thing about this Hotel is the location. Very close to the main train station and about a 5 minute walk to the main strip of shops & another 5 to the Markt square.
Breakfast was included in the price & it was very generous! Very helpful hosts and of course we loved Ralph (their Golden Retreiver). We would definitely stay again if we are lucky enough to come to Brugge once more!

Room Tip: The only negative in our room #1 was that the pillows are very soft. You really need 2 more but only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

The room was not fancy but very clean,quiet and comfort, heater was working very well, and there is NO pub at the downstairs ( the earlier review mentioned about the pub, but there was no pub at the building) the hotel is strictly NO smoking allowed,so the rooms and the public areas are maintaining very well. The free WiFi was very convenience for us. The price was affordable. We have a very good time.

Love the managers family and the dog, it felt like our own home at Bruges.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmySeeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.6 mi away
Hotel Olympia Bruges
Hotel Olympia Bruges
#56 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Passage
Hotel Passage
#88 of 97 in Bruges
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#69 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 't  Putje
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 't Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 't Keizershof

Property: Hotel 't Keizershof
Address: Oostmeers 126, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel 't Keizershof 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Hotel 't Keizershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing