We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, quiet and convenient”
Review of Hotel Egmond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Egmond
Ranked #77 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Comfortable, quiet and convenient”
Reviewed October 24, 2005

The Hotel Egmond was booked but they suggested their Aramis Apts. which are about two city blocks from the Egmond and just as conveniently located near the center. While some of these apts apparently have a full kitchen, that didn't interest us and we were given a large room and private bath that was furnished with scandinavian style furniture. We had just arrived from a 5 star hotel in Amsterdam so we missed the feather pillows and more posh bedding but all in all this room was quite satisfactory, especially for the price ~$100USD which offset our splurge in Amsterdam. The room was very quiet, clean and comfortable; bathroom large. The Egmond Hotel manager couldn't have been nicer. She let us use their laundry facilities, a main reason why I chose this hotel. We enjoyed the hotel garden and could have had the hotel breakfast (for an additional charge) but we chose the many lovely tea rooms instead. The main downside is that, like most of the small hotels, it isn't air-conditioned and we were a little warm at night. The single window did not have a screen so we were reluctant to open the window and let in the mosquitoes. This wasn't a huge problem and we had a wonderful three night visit in Bruegge.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travellover53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    70
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
18
114
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2005

This small hotel is located walking distance to railstation (with great pictorial directions!) and next to quiet and lovely park. Hotel owner/manager Chris is helpful, breakfast is a substantial European buffet (cereal, yogurt, breads, cheese, fruite, coffee, etc). Also in this city that "sleeps early", next to a wonderful restaurant, De Bekoring, which we would HIGHLY recommend.
Also Egmond has window screens, a rare luxury in Europe! As well as room-controlled heat and airconditioning (request).

Helpful?
4 Thank balpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArroyoGrande
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2005

Greated like family by the owners who were tremendously helpful. Decent room, good breakfast and a short distance away from the maddening crowd. But beware the front desk during the day and evening when the owners are away. The desk clerk clearly doesn't like to be bothered; barely acknowledges your questions. A shame because everything else about this spot was very positive. Even brought in a room screen to ward off the mosquitos. Great restaurant nearby, Maximillian just around the corner, was the best by far in Brugges. Fireplace with a view of the canal and swans. Signed. Love to travel from California.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BobLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 1, 2005

The hotel is in a great location - close to the main attractions though in a blissfully quiet and beautiful area. However, we found our room to be somewhat shabby and we all got itchy red bug bites during the night. The daytime staff were very cool. The gentleman at the front desk actually made sighed loudly when we asked for a recommendation for a place to eat dinner, as though we were really bothering him. Probably wouldn't go here again.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2005

My wife and I were lucky enough to stay three nights at this charming renovated mansion next to the Minnewater Lake. There are only eight rooms, all nice sized with ensuite bathroom. We stayed two nights in room #2, which is larger, on the first floor, and opens directly out into the mansion's beautiful garden. The rooms were clean, breakfast was good and plentiful.

Just 50 meters away is a charming restaurant with a terrace fronting the lake, the Kasteel Minnewater. We had dinner and Belgian beers here two nights.

The central square is a ten minute walk, Notre Dame with the Michelanglo statue is five minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DougViages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2005

We just got back from a two week trip through France, Belgium and Germany and the Hotel Egmond was by far the best of The Hotels we stayed at.....
The care with which the property is managed and the level of service given to the guests is beyond compare.
We will DEFINITELY stay there again and again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank alwaysthinking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2005

We spent a weekend here in mid-June 2005 and loved it - both house and beautiful garden. It's very handy to the railway station yet in a quiet situation which is a great relief given how busy Bruges is in the weekends. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and the owners are very friendly and helpful. We look forward to going again on a future visit and will make sure of booking early to ensure we get a room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kiwianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#76 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gasthof Groenhove
Gasthof Groenhove
#62 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Barge Hotel
De Barge Hotel
#46 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#25 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosenburg Hotel
Rosenburg Hotel
#43 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Egmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Egmond

Property: Hotel Egmond
Address: Minnewater 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Egmond 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small romantic hotel in the middle of a park in Bruges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Egmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egmond Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing