We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, convenient and continental- great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ter Duinen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ter Duinen
Ranked #7 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cosy, convenient and continental- great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Ter Duinen for 2 nights at the end of August and couldn't fault our stay at all. From the moment we arrived, Marc got us checked in even though we were 2 hours early and sorted out our parking. Our room was in the extended part of the hotel and was lovely- the bed very comfortable, bathroom clean and spacious and we liked the plasma TV. The only thing missing was a kettle and teabags, but we had hot chocolate while out, so this wasn't a problem. The location of the hotel was also just right- far enough out of the centre to be peaceful but within easy walking distance of everything we needed. Breakfast was lovely- I recommend the eggs- my soft boiled egg was perfect!
All staff were very friendly and we were given some great recommendations for where to eat- both restaurants were fab.
Overall, we had a really good stay at the Hotel ter Duinen and will definately visit again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tashebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,478
    351
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
337
1,265
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bushey, Herts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

Hadthree lovely nights at Ter Duinen. The owners and all their staff are welcoming, informative and understanding of guests needs. The hotel is a perfect place to stay, charming decor, well maintained, and in a lovely location away from the tourist hustle and bustle. Quiet and relaxing just ten minutes walk from the centre, along the lovely canal or catch a bus from outside.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyful12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at Ter Duinen and look forward to our next visit. The hotel has been improved since our last trip some 10yrs ago and offers bright, roomy and charming accomodation overlooking one of Bruges' many canals. While there is no restaurant for evening meals, as is common in Bruges, this is not a problem as it is only a short and interesting walk through historic streets to the many restaurants in the town centre. There is parking across from the hotel and private garages are also available, although I would not recommend this for cars with low ground clearance! The hosts were extremely welcoming and we will definitely be back

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjvic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

Lovely in every way. Great people...very pleasant and none-snooty. Child Friendly. Just make sure to take a travel kettle as there is not one in the room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuiscardLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

Had two glorious nights at Ter Duinen. Marc and all his staff are of the highest standard, welcoming, informative and understanding of their guests needs. The hotel was a perfect place to stay, clean, well maintained, in a lovely location, quiet and relaxing.
Only ten minutes walk from the centre, along the lovely canal or catch a bus from outside the hotel every 10 minutes. We used one of the hotel garages at extra cost but worth it for peace of mind. The room we stayed in was canalside with lovely views. Very roomy and comfortable, my only recommendation would be to install a shower bracket on the wall.
Marc gave us a discount card which came in very handy at various museums and boat trips. I would particualry recommend De Proeverie near Walplein for the best coffee and hot chocolate and Die Windmolen bar in St Anna, for fantastic beer and great snacks. Search out De Stove for great food and spend your evenings in Simon Stevin Plein or Waldplein areas rather than Markt or Burg.
All in all a great stay in a splendid hotel away from the hustle and bustle but not far from anything. Highly recommend the hotel and above all the first class customer service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roux62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

This hotel was perfect for our trip.- breakfasts really are wonderful. Everyone was always pleasant and helpful. Planning a return trip already.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sco76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

My mother, sister and I spent 4 nights in this lovely hotel. We had a very clean, spacious & quiet room, and the breakfast is as good as they say! The hotel is located in a very quiet area but still only a 15 min stroll from the main square. It is only a short bus ride from the train station and the stop is just across the road so cheap and easy to find. The staff were friendly and helpful and we would recommend this charming hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clodmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.7 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Duinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Duinen

Property: Hotel Ter Duinen
Address: Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#4 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Duinen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming hotel along a beautiful canal in medieval Brugge. Superb buffetbreakfast, free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ter Duinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Duinen Hotel
Ter Duinen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing