We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ter Duinen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ter Duinen
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
“perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had a great stay at Hotel Ter Duinen. Everything was perfect: charming, welcoming, comfty, great breakfast, great location, great advice. We stayed in the top level family bedroom with fantastic views of the canal, this room is really nice and comfortable, loved it!

Room Tip: romms with view are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agatheparis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,497
    355
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
340
1,282
34
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Excellent hotel. Very helpful owners. We had a beautiful balcony room overlooking the canal. The hotel was within easy walking distance of the Markt square (1km) with a friendly local bar close and a good local restaurant within 1km. The owners were multilingual and seem to be able to converse in any language fluently!! Breakfast was good and the hotel was very popular.
Thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkAlison186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

What a welcoming a wonderful family hotel. Although not in the city centre the short walk along the canal was beautiful. The family creates a really friendly atmosphere and are super helpful. Breakfast was exceptional. Would definitely go back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HungryItaliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed 1 night at Ter Duinen on the way home after a tour to see various friends in Germany. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer as we felt very comfortable. The boss was just brilliant, making us feel at home and explaining everything with patience and care. My wife is sadly ill and we experienced personal kindness over and above expectations from Marc. The hotel is beautifully located on the canal, far enough from the centre to be quiet, but close enough to be a short walk. Secure covered parking is a bonus. I have stayed in other hotels in Brugge, but would stay here again without hesitation. Thank you.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms are at the back, some with balcony. Rooms at the front have a canal view and ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samaritan444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fareham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Have just spent a very comfortable & enjoyable couple of nights at this hotel. A quiet. location, about a ten minute walk from the centre of Bruges. Very comfortable room overlooking canal, as requested. Spotlessly clean, great breakfast in a lovely dining room & exteremely obliging owners who went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended!




  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I admit I found this one on Trip advisor. A one night stop over to break our constant too and fro-ing to Germany and back. Bruges is a natural stop for us, but it is highly touristy. The Ter Duinen is away from the madding crowd in a quiet canal side road within easy walk of the centre. Family run, the staff without exception were helpful and charming. The breakfast was freshly prepared, lovely fresh fruit salad and a good selection was available. The coffee was excellent. As we like to sleep with the windows wide open, whatever the weather we were recommended a back room looking out onto the small patio garden. But even on a Monday morning the traffic at the front of the hotel was minimal.

Room Tip: Don't think it matters, quiet location. all rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

As soon as I spoke to Marc to make the reservation, I knew we were on a winner!! (Well, the other TripAdvisor comments certainly helped...) Marc told us everything we needed to know before arriving - right down to the cost of bus vs taxi - and he wasn't wrong!

Rooms are quiet, spacious, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast in the sun filled dining room was a delight, but the thing that made the weekend were our hosts Marc and Lieve.

You can tell when a family is genuine about their desire to make guests remember the Hotel Ter Duinen as a family hotel, run (and renovated) by the owners and their extended family. We certainly felt part of this family during our stay. Nothing was too much trouble - from allowing us to borrow his son's iphone cable, to excellent restaurant recommendations, it was all fantastic! We were very glad to have stayed there, very sad to leave, but we look forward to one day coming back.

We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It was by far the most attentive hotel we have stayed at. (Psst - take the time for an afternoon drink in the lounge and browse through the hotel photo album - this is what family is all about!)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulandjulie262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Duinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Duinen

Property: Hotel Ter Duinen
Address: Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#4 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Duinen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming hotel along a beautiful canal in medieval Brugge. Superb buffetbreakfast, free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ter Duinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Duinen Hotel
Ter Duinen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing