We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcome and personal attention”
Review of Hotel Ter Duinen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ter Duinen
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here for the first time on 29th June 2013 with my partner - staying in a double room facing the canal.

On the plus side, there are many things to mention: we had a great welcome from the young man at reception; the room was large, well furnished, clean, with a nice view; the location was great - away from the busy centre, but just a 10 minute walk into town; we had a great breakfast; the owner was charming and personally involved with all the guests in the morning...

Room for improvement - just a couple of minor things to mention: my partner likes to sleep with the windows open, and it was very noisy all night - with people and traffic going past throughout the night, which really surprised me (not a problem if you keep the windows closed, as they double insulated; I solved the problem by wearing ear plugs); the mattress was not particularly comfortable and not up to the standards of the top chain hotels; a kettle was provided in the room, but this only included a single tea bag and milk portion per person - a little bit mean! And the price at over Euro 180 including off street parking was not particularly cheap.

In conclusion, I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again. The personal service makes a really refreshing change from the big chain hotels where you are treated just as a number.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andreas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 2,042 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Lovely hotel in Bruges. Stayed here with our 2 children (9 & 11), ideal quadruple room, with views over the canal. 10 minutes walk from the main market square. Owners were extremely helpful, and spoke excellent English. ( we arrived during the Bruges triathlon which meant road closures around the hotel, they offered to drive us back to where we left our car and checked with the local police when the roads would reopen) Breakfast was very good, freshly squeezed juice, breads, pastries, boiled eggs and the kids loved the hot chocolate. Would definitely recommend to others and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebR286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

After reading other reviews on TripAdvisor we were not disappointed with our choice, we booked rooms with canal view a little extra but worth it. As stated by others breakfast was a delight, a great family run hotel, nothing was too much trouble, lovely garden and conservatory, garage parking also made for a stress free time, if we are in Brugge again we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms 23 & 24
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

For our annual weekend away without kids, we chose Bruges and this hotel was perfect. It's easy to find and meets the description - always a relief. We upgraded to a canal view room, although having seen the rear views over roofs and trees, I would not have been disappointed with that. The rooms are not big, but are spotless, as is the entire hotel. The breakfast room and adjoining salon for evening drinks, are dressed to look like a good restaurant. The owners are friendly, welcoming and helpful and willing to give lots of information about recommended restaurants and places to visit. Breakfast lived up to reviews, plentiful and varied. We also used the service offered of hiring a garage, which was useful and kept the car secure during our stay. Once in Bruges you don't need transport. Lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here...had a nice room with a great view of the canal...room even had a small balcony, the only one in the hotel. Room 23. Room 24 would also have the same view, appears to be a smidge larger on the floor plan, but two windows rather than a window and a balcony. Breakfast was very nice and included a boiled egg if desired. Location an easy 10min walk from the town center...far enough away that area didn't seem touristy. Couple that runs the hotel are fantastic and take a personalized role in making sure your stay is the best it can be...they very thoughtfully let us reschedule when a medical appointment got moved and conflicted with our original dates. They also gave us a heads up that a Triathalon was starting at a certain time the day of our arrival and many streets would be blocked off if arriving by car...we adjusted our plans that day and arrived with 2 minutes to spare. Saved a great deal of inconvenience! BEER TIP: do yourself a favor and track yourself down a Gouden Carolus Classic. I didn't think anything could compete with Czech beer...especially Krusovice...but Madonna, was this ever good! My wife NEVER drinks beer...EVER...and enjoyed it! NOTE: accidentally rated 'swimming pool' and can't figure out how to remove it...no swimming pool.

Room Tip: had a nice room with a great view of the canal...room even had a small balcony, the only one in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neruda11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This place is close enough to everything to enjoy your stay without being in the middle of it all. I really enjoyed our walks to the central area of Bruges. The staff and owners are extremely friendly and very accommodating. Staying in a place were you get to talk with the owners and see how much they love what they do and truly care about your stay is priceless.

The room was nice, nothing magnificent, but clean and comfortable. We had a big window with a very nice view of the canal.

Breakfast was terrific! The service was fantastic! We left this place with smiles on our faces.
I would stay here again and I would recommend it to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We are husband and wife in our mid/early 60's from Burlington, Ontario and visited Amsterdam for 5 days the first week of June 2013. We wanted to visit Brugge/Bruges and after reading trip advisor reviews a day visit would not be enough. We decided to take the train and stay overnight. Hotel Ter Duinen was selected based on past guest reviews and we booked directly with the hotel on-line.

We received an immediate e-mail confirmation of our booking. But, the following day received a personal e-mail from the owners welcoming us and giving us directions how to get to the hotel(bus, taxi, car) and the costs/parking. This was a "value added" service and left us with a very comfortable feeling.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner, Marc. He was friendly and helpful. The following morning we met his wife, Lieve over breakfast. They reside at the hotel and during our entire stay, we felt like special guests in their house. It is very evident that they take pride in their hotel and value their guests. Rooms are very clean and comfortable.

The hotel is a short walk into town and we especially liked being away from the busy centre of town. We would classify this as a "Boutique style" hotel and it enhanced our visit to this Medival Fairy Tale town. Both the hotel and town are a must visit.

Room Tip: We upgrade to a Canal view and glad we did. However, the rooms at the back look down on the nicely l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getoutofsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.7 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
756 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,567 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Duinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Duinen

Address: Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#4 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $173 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Duinen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming hotel along a beautiful canal in medieval Brugge. Superb buffet breakfast, free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ter Duinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Duinen Hotel
Ter Duinen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing