We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem of a hotel”
Review of Hotel Ter Duinen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ter Duinen
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A real gem of a hotel”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We are just back from 3 nights staying in this charming hotel in the north side of Brugge. 10 minutes away from the city centre, a nice walk along the canal and quiet away from the bustle of the town. We found it one of the friendliest hotels we have stayed in, the personal service and attention to detail is outstanding, and the breakfast is better than we have ever had, delicious and interesting, meats, cheeses, fruits, croissants, and wonderful soft boiled eggs.
We travelled with 2 teenagers and all loved the hotel, they felt very at home there and enjoyed the complimentary mini eggs on reception! Our room - the only quadruple in the hotel, was comfy, quiet and spacious enough for us all. The owners were delightful and nothing was too much trouble. This is a real find of a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenandanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,545
    358
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
347
1,323
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
485 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just returned from a lovely weekend in Bruges with my partner, my brother and his wife.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and found it to be perfect for our needs. The owner Marc takes great pride in getting things 'just so' and really could not have been any more helpful.

The price we paid €318 per couple for a Friday and a Saturday night. Breakfast is included within this rate and it is as good a continental breakfast as you will get anywhere in Europe. (lots of fresh fruit, lovely meats, breads, cheeses and boiled eggs on request).

The bedrooms are clean, cosy and quiet. I wouldn't go as far as to say they are terribly luxurious and if you are travelling as a couple it is worth stipulating that you definitely want a double rather than a twin room with beds pushed together. (my sole gripe).

The downstairs sitting area, the garden and the breakfast room are perfectly art directed and Marc has amassed a fantastic collection of Belgian Art Nouveau posters.

Bruges can be pretty harsh on the wallet. As you will be spending most of the time wandering the canal lined streets, drinking in quaint little bars and eating magnificent food, I'd recommend what little time you'll spend in any hotel, you spend here and offset some of the cost you could pay just 500m up the road.

Hotel Ter Duinen deserves your custom!

Room Tip: Make sure you stipulate a double if you really want a double. There are no mini bars in the rooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidDundonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is our third stay at Ter Duinen. Been going there since 1991. It has everything you would want in a Hotel in Brugge and more. It is a most convenient ten minute walk from the city center letting one relax after a day with the crowds (city bus right at the door if you want.) The included breakfast is perhaps the best we ever get, and we have stayed all over Europe. They are rightly proud of it. If you stayed in a hotel without such an amenity included, you could easily add 20 to 30 Euros to your room bill.
The owners are wonderful welcoming people. Always ready with advice, and willing to take as much time as needed to explain any questions you may have about restaurants, sites, walks, etc.
In short, my wife and I have nothing but good things and memories about Ter Duinen. Rooms well appointed, welcoming, if your driving easy access to the ring....NO STRESS!
Edward Albert
Westchester, NY, USA

Room Tip: Take a room with a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 892edwarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in April and arrived very late which was not a problem.

Marc buzzed us in left a key in reception and drew signs to our room which was most helpful.

Room had everything you needed including a fab shower. We did not have a great view but to be fair we never spent a huge amount of time at hotel.

Hotel was clean and staff extremely helpful and would definitely stay again if I come to Bruges.

Great location with transport links directly outside hotel.

Lovely breakfast rustic dining room service great.

Thanks for a lovely stay and hope to see you again in the future

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelstar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gartocharn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A lovely town hotel, with quite the most charming staff! They are knowledgable, understanding and give a very high standard of service irrespective of the number of stars. The hotel is clean, spotless really, they have garages to let with your stay, and breakfast is fresh and served with enthusiasm. Fresh orange, boiled eggs how you like them, and a buffet. The owner delivers high standards and expects the same from places he might recommend to visit or eat, so he is worth quizzing if this is important to you.

Room Tip: We had one over looking the canal at the front, with a road, but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisE514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Brugge is a VERY popular tourist destination and we enjoyed staying a bit off the beaten track. Although it was cold and windy during our visit, we found the 10-15 minute walk into the city centre perfectly manageable. The hotel is very comfortable and staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ample and nicely served - freshly squeezed orange juice was a real treat! Our room - 23 - had large windows and a canal view, but was fairly small. I'd ask about garden view rooms next time, as the garden looked lovely

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotogetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Of all the three star hotels we've been in, this is by far the best. To be honest, we've been in 4 star hotels that could not match Ter Duinen. Very friendly staff who speak their languages, the rooms are spotless and cozy, the location itself is great and only a 10 minute walk from the center of Brugge - and the breakfast... we've never had that kind of service for breakfast. No lining up for bread or drinks, they bring it to your spot.
The garage we rented for our stay was an actual garage, not just a parking spot. The car was
locked up and safe. If we ever return to Brugge, we'll definitely go back here, we've had a delightful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.7 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
377 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Duinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Duinen

Property: Hotel Ter Duinen
Address: Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#4 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Duinen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming hotel along a beautiful canal in medieval Brugge. Superb buffetbreakfast, free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ter Duinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Duinen Hotel
Ter Duinen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing