We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect hotel in Brugge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ter Duinen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ter Duinen
Ranked #7 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The perfect hotel in Brugge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this lovely quiet hotel on the Langerei fronting onto the canal for 5 nights in late September. The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk into the center of Brugge and also across the canal to the Folk Museum, Our Lady of the Pottery, the Guido Gizelle Museum and the windmills. Bus numbers 4 and 14 to and from the center and the railway station stop virtually outside the door. Marc and Lieve Bossu-Van Den Heuvel were charming and lovely hosts and made one feel very welcome from the moment of arrival. Thanks also to Thijs for all his help during our stay. We had a lovely room with bath overlooking the canal with a very comfortable bed and excellent bathroom. The hotel has a pleasant lounge and conservatory area adjacent to the garden where we enjoyed tea in the afternoon on our return from excursions. The hotel has a lift and provides a computer for use of guests (and WiFi). The hotel also provides a discount card that reduces the cost of boat trips, museum entrance charges (including the 3 day museum card) and was very welcome. Breakfast was really excellent with fresh orange juice, various meats, cheeses, bread and home baked croissants, boiled eggs, fruit etc served by Lieve and her staff in the lovely breakfast room, providing a perfect start to the day. Really the perfect hotel for a long or short stay in Brugge and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tunku41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,482
    351
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
337
1,269
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Enjoyed my stay at the Ter Duninen, although it is about a 20 minute walk from the centre it is a interesting pretty walk and the hotel is in a quiet canal street. The hotel was very charming and comfortable with friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were very adequate and comfortable and the breakfast delicate, fresh and beautifully presented. We thought Bruges is a beautiful city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Hotel Ter Duinen for 2 nights. It could not have been a more comfortable, charming hotel. The hosts, Lieve and Marc are not only very professional in managing a top notch small hotel; they are friendly and warm too! The hotel has an exceptional collection of art in the form of posters, documenting early exhibitions and travel to Brugges. Breakfasts are a visual treat!
The focus of this fine hotel is on comfort and service. #1 in our estimation!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onekoffieatatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Ter Duinen back in late May 2012. We loved our time in Bruge, what a beautiful city, historic buildings, winding streets with cobbled stones and of course great food and drinks. The hotel stay was welcomed with friendly staff and that continued throughout our time there. The hotel is located a good walk away from the city centre, however, this was part of the experience as it was a quiet location overlooking a canal with a bus stop directly out the front for weary travellers who don't wish to use a bicycle to get around. We walked everywhere, this was fantastic, it didnt matter if you went of course as everywhere you turned there was another beautiful place to observe. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely return. The breakfast was packed full of fresh, delicious goods that started each morning with a smile. I recommend staying upstairs in the room overlooking the canal- a pretty location with a balcony. A small bar fridge would be the only improvement to the charming room we stayed in, so that a bottle of wine purchased could be chilled and enjoyed on the room balcony in romantic privacy.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs in a room overlooking the canal with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

A friend of mine recommended this hotel to me. My wife and I had the opportunity to stay two nights at Brugges ,and were very satisfied with the hospitality , service, courtesy, and warmth of the host. Breakfast was incredible in abundance and in quality , it was served in silverware and with exceptional courtesy.

The room was cozy and very clean. The service was incredible. I recommend this place without any hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmundo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this lovely little hotel for 3 nights in August, and found it very good value. The owners are friendly, experienced and provide excellent service, everything from selling bus tickets, giving advice about what to see, to arranging for our washing to be done so that we did not have to waste our time at a laundromat. When you walk in, after a friendly welcome, you are shown a charming courtyard garden at the back and a beautiful sitting room and dining room where breakfast is served. The atmosphere is of a gracious home. The breakfast is excellent. Our room was at the top of the building with a view over roof tops and a canal, and provided a comfortable stay. The lift made it possible for us. The location was picturesque, and although we found that it took us a bit longer than 10 minutes to walk to the centre - more like 15 minutes (fitter people might walk faster), the bus stop a few steps up the street meant that we could hop on a No.4 or 14 bus and get to the centre in 2/3 minutes. We had the advantage of a quiet location with the convenience of getting to the centre of Bruges in minutes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heachri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at Hotel Ter Duinen. Because we arrived early on a Saturday morning, our room wasn't ready, but that didn't stop our host from making sure we felt taken care of the minute we got there. We were handed a map, a discount card to use for the local attractions, and directed towards a lovely lobby sitting area, restrooms, and a little bar area where we could organize ourselves if we wanted to begin sightseeing, or perhaps take a little break from traveling.

We chose to start sightseeing, and returned a few hours later, when our room was ready. We chose to stay in a "full bed" room, so our room smaller, but had everything we needed, and included a lovely little balcony with chairs. Everything was very clean.

Hotel Ter Duinen is a 5-10 minute stroll into town, but with views like that, you don't notice...you're there to see the town anyway, right? The nighttime host gave us a great recommendation for dinner that night, and the service was friendly and efficient all of the time.

Breakfast is wonderful, and the lobby is sunny and worth taking a break from sightseeing in.

My husband and I had a great stay at Hotel Ter Duinen, and we would definitely recommend it to anyone who is visiting Bruges.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.7 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Duinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Duinen

Property: Hotel Ter Duinen
Address: Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bruges
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Duinen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming hotel along a beautiful canal in medieval Brugge. Superb buffetbreakfast, free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ter Duinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Duinen Hotel
Ter Duinen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing