We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (872)
Filter reviews
872 results
Traveler rating
642
158
42
17
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
642
158
42
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheritage roomteddy bearhermes toiletriesperfect locationsmall luxury hotelbeautiful hotelcanal sidejunior suiteroaring firesitting roomroom overlooking the canalglass of champagnethe ground floorour honeymoonfairy talesmoked salmonbreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 872 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2017 via mobile

I booked this hotel months ago as a Christmas treat for my girlfriend, and was incredibly excited to stay here. Our arrival certainly didn’t disappoint! The hotel is beautiful both in and out, and the staff were some of the friendliest I have ever encountered.

Although located on an easily accessible single lane side street, there was plenty of room to leave my car while popping into reception to find details on where to park in my pre-booked parking space. Much to my girlfriend’s annoyance, I am very particular about where I park my car, however the parking garage was nearby, easy to find, and had ample room. Upon our return, we were told our room was not quite ready, as we arrived a few hours early, but the hotel kept our bags in a safe place while we walked to the nearby market for a spot of lunch.

We checked in at 2pm, and were given the keys to a charming little room located in the entrance way to the hotel. The decor was romantic and quaint, and the coffee machine and Hermes toiletries were a lovely touch. Having stayed in Bruges before in a hotel nearby, I knew what a perfect location this was. The central market is a 2 minute walk away, as are pickup points for boat tours, bars, restaurants, shops and historic sites. Despite being right in the heart of it all, the hotel is incredibly quiet due to its position tucked down a little side street. The hotel is so close to everything, popping back for a rest and to change for dinner was no trouble at all.

After a lovely day looking around the market, touring the shops, and a delicious dinner, the icing on the cake was enjoying a nightcap by the roaring fire in the hotel’s beautiful bar area. The perfect end to a wonderful day.

After a delightfully comfortable night’s sleep, we were slightly disappointed to learn that the room did not include breakfast. I would certainly have expected breakfast for the price of the room, and felt that €25 was a little much per person to pay on top. We decided to venture out for breakfast, and found an amazing waffle place nearby!

Checking out was easy, and the leaving gift bag was an unexpected, but lovely gesture. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a centrally located, comfortable, quaint stay in the beautiful city of Bruges. I will certainly return on my next visit.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ross-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyVermast, Owner at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review about the hotel.

It was a pleasure for us having you as a guest and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will forward your review to our staff to encourage them in what they are doing!

Wishing you all the best for the Holiday Season and a prosperous New Year.

Warm regards,
Family Vermast & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2017 via mobile

Lovely, quiet hotel in a perfect location right on the djiver canal.
Rooms are small but cosy and comfortable with everything you need. The only recommendation is to have a full length mirror and a better extractor fan in the bathroom. There is nowhere for the steam to escape so we ended up having to open the bedroom window!
The customer service was excellent and the farewell gift a lovely touch.
Breakfast was ok, not a great selection and very expensive at €25 pp.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel, no complaints and it felt luxurious at a good price.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank n_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyVermast, Owner at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Dear Mr Grant,

Thank you for your review about the hotel.

It was a pleasure for us having you as a guest and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Wishing you all the best for the Holiday Season and a prosperous New Year.

Warm regards,
Family Vermast & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2017 via mobile

This is a wonderful small boutique hotel situated directly on the canal in medieval Bruges. Lovely waterside terrace. It is a very elegant hotel with stylish decor that has a wow factor. Building dates back to 15th century and original use was a monastery. A warm welcome and high service levels throughout.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Paulsmithcasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyVermast, Owner at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel de Orangerie for your recent trip to Bruges.
We are glad that we could exceed your expectations and would be very happy to welcome you back soon again!

Warm regards,
Family Vermast and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017

The Hotel de Orangerie is located on a quiet lane, just steps away from the main street, right where you want to be in the charming town of Bruges. Modern updates focused on comfort and luxury cloak most evidence of the 15th century convent that originally occupied the building. Workmen doing exterior repairs to the building across the lane (September 2017) let you know it's time to wake up.

Our "standard suite" was not a suite at all, it was just a bedroom and bath. The bedroom was quite small, so small in fact that it is not possible to open your luggage on the floor. Surprised and disappointed by the small size, we toured a more expensive room but declined because it too was small.

Service by all staff members is incredible and constantly reminds you why this is considered a luxury hotel. It's all about the service.

Public areas in the hotel include the glass-ceiling lobby, as well as the stately and absolutely luxurious library and dining room. The breakfast buffet is rather small, as the hotel only has 20 rooms, but it was truly a daily delight. Between the quality of the food, the service, and the surroundings, this is a top-notch breakfast. The terrace along the canal briefly attracted us only out of curiosity, but we did not find it irresistible enough to linger.

The bottom line is that this is a good hotel (4/5) in a great location (5/5), with undersized rooms (3/5). Highlights include the great staff (5/5) and the scrumptious breakfast (5/5) in luxurious surroundings (5/5).

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank StCharlesLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyVermast, Owner at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel de Orangerie for your recent trip to Bruges.
We are glad that we could exceed your expectations.

Regarding the size of the rooms, we don't have a '' standard suite''. We have Comfort rooms, Heritage rooms, Junior Suites and rooms with view on the canal. The size of the rooms are also mentioned on our website.

We would be very happy to welcome you back soon again!

Warm regards,
Family Vermast and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017 via mobile

While we visiting Belgium with few friends we tried to discover new kind of hotel concept and we found l’orangerie ... cosy and luxury with a high class service ... reasonable prices for the huge quality ... we booked one of the heritage rooms that included our private hammam that was awesome specially after a long day of walking around the city in November.... great service.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank cropopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyVermast, Owner at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel de Orangerie for your recent trip to Bruges.
We are glad that we could exceed your expectations and would be very happy to welcome you back soon again!

Warm regards,
Family Vermast and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews