We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old hotel.”
Review of Hotel de Orangerie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Orangerie
Ranked #8 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This beautiful hotel is unique in that it retains so many original features and furnishings. It is like an oasis coming through the front door to be greeted by the friendly staff. The reception area is dreamy making you feel that you should be walking through the door 200 years ago. Although Initially I thought the breakfast was extremely expensive, after eating out at other cafes/restaurants I believe it is on a par with most other places. Bruges is extremely expensive, particularly for food. Most meals are about 25 euros at reasonably average restaurants. The rooms are quaint and more than adequately furnished with lovely antiques. Comfortable beds too.

Room Tip: My daughter has a room on the 2nd level overlooking the canal. It is noisy with the windows open, b...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank katiemaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

It is a pleasure reading your positive feedback and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in de Orangerie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de Orangerie
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 743 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed 1 night in The Orangerie where we experienced a warm welcome by their staff.
The building has a unique and authentic atmosphere, while the service level is really more than up to date and meeting all present standards.
The breakfast is something to look forward to; fresh fruits, fresh dairy, perfectly boilt eggs, as much espresso or cappucino as you like.
We would certainly recommend this hotel and plan to come back soon ourselves.
Ankie & Jacqueline

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

It is a pleasure reading such a positive review of our Hotel and thank you very much for your compliments on our property.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay & the champagne breakfast and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Cheekily popped in to escape searing heat and grab something to eat. Just like to say thank you to the wonderful restaurant manageress who provided us with immaculate service and fantastic food and kept her cool at all times, you're a star.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yao66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very happy that you had such a wonderful lunch with us, and that you enjoyed the service!

We hope to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Great location, beautiful old hotel, room was clean, beds comfortable. Nice turn down service with chocolate. They had scheduled a complimentary 2 hour walking tour. That was wonderful!

Didn't chose breakfast due to it being pricey-really cute and good restaurants near by (we liked Gingerbread tea house). The dining room was gorgeous though. Car park was quick and no big deal. Nice to have free wi-fi

The walls are quite thin-we could hear the people in the room next to us talking-luckily they were speaking in a language we didn't understand :)

Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJBBMOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

We are very honoured to read such a beautiful review and are very happy, you have enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Room was a delight, although my wife said she needed better light to put on makeup. Great location and lovely afternoon tea. We'll be back. We've already booked for next year. Heidi and Mitee, as usual were perfect hostesses

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Thank you for writing a beautiful review.

It was an honour to welcome you back in de Orangerie.

Thank you very much for the compliments about the room, location, high tea and the staff.

Looking forward to welcome you and your family back in our Hotel de Orangerie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Initially it was a disappointment that our room didn't have a canal view or any view at all. The hotel was packed due to a holiday weekend and so changing rooms was not an option.It was easy to overcome this due to the quality of the hotel. It is in a great location, on a side street, on a canal but close to the market place. I would recommend this hotel to travelers because it is a comfortable , clean and a well appointed but small hotel. The breakfast was quite good and was included in our rate. Bruges is a lovely city, and one that you don't want to miss if you are able to get there. It is about two hours ( in traffic) from Brussels Airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view. Avoid 123 which is downstairs and try to get a room above ground floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanny1Lorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review.

It's a pleasure that you've enjoyed your weekend!

We are looking forward to welcome you back in de Orangerie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Me and my now fiancé (as I proposed during this trip!) had an absolutely wonderful time here at the hotel. Everything was very well presented, clean and the staff were very helpful and very nice. Great, central location too for shopping and restaurants etc. it's a shame we never got to experience the canal trips run from the back of the hotel, maybe when we come back next time though when it's sunnier.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your recent stay!

It was an honour to welcome you and your fiancé in de Orangerie.

Very nice reading, you have enjoyed your stay again.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Orangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Orangerie

Address: Kartuizerinnenstraat 10, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#41 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $169 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Orangerie 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Orangerie Hotel is located right on the most picturesque canal of medieval Bruges in the very heart of the city centre. This small XV century monastery of the Sisters Karthuizerinnen has been converted into a wonderful "boutique hotel", furnished with exclusive fabrics (Braquenié, Pierre Frey, Bennison, Ralph Lauren), antiques, and objets d'art.All of the 20 graciously proportioned bedrooms have been individually decorated with antiques, and offer all the modern comfort that the discerning traveller expects. In the elegant lounge along the canal, guests can relax by the open fire, in comfortable sofas while going through the available art books and international magazines, and enjoying a drink which is served round the clock. The winter garden lounge with its views on the “trompe l’oeil” Italian gardens is a haven of rest and tranquillity in fresh white and light-greyish colours. It is recommended to enjoy the typical English “Afternoon Tea” or an aperitif either on the waterfront terrace or in the cozy lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de Orangerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martins Orangerie Bruges
Martins Orangerie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing