We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very bright light at the end of a tunnel”
Review of Hotel de Orangerie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Orangerie
Ranked #9 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very bright light at the end of a tunnel”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

After being messed about by another hotel leaving us high and dry in Bruges and staring down the barrel of sleeping in the car, this hotel really came through. My girlfriend and I were given a very sympathetic and understanding reception by the girls on the desk who found us a room and were able to accommodate us for the time we wanted. To say that we were happy with our choice to stay would be an understatement - it was fabulous. From entry into the hotel, it was clear that a lot of care and attention had gone into all the decor, and we found a beautiful boutique bedroom with Hermes bath products and a bottle of Veuve Cliquot waiting for us. The bed and sheets were probably the softest we'd been on for a while and there was not a sound from the outside. A must for this hotel is a visit to the bar and restaurant. Wonderful decor and eclectic furnishings compliment the fabulous drinks selection, and for us, there was no better way to wrap up a night out than to recline in the great sofas with the biggest and best prepared G&T we'd had for a long time. In short, a truly wonderful place with equally wonderful staff and which is an oasis amongst all the commercial 'Travel Lodge' options out there. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jamie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.

It's a pleasure that you've enjoyed your stay.

We are delighted to hear you had such a nice experience and that you appreciate our service.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in de Orangerie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    121
    33
    11
    10
See reviews for
114
444
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Incredible place to go if you're a couple! Met the owner while checking in, crazy guy with an aston martin but very friendly, like the staff! Well decorated and perfect location. Rooms were perfect too!

Room Tip: ask for a good room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ehvoila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for writing a wonderful review about your recent stay. It's a pleasure reading you really have enjoyed it. We hope to welcome you back soon in the '' Orangerie''
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed for 3 days over the New Year festivities , gorgeous and luxury stay. Staff were fantastic and the bar is definitely one to have a drink in, Eric is a great character, thanks. Recommended for a piece of luxury

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent have their own name and character
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandSFynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We are very honoured to read such a beautiful review and are very happy, you have enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for your wonderful words regarding the staff.

We are looking forward to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed for our wedding anniversary, great rooms, excellent staff, great service. Very good attention to detail.

Restaurant does great breakfast, very comfortable hotel.

Great location very central, we went in winter but had lovely canal side terrace which in summer would be great for relaxing evening drink or afternoon tea.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
It is a pleasure reading such a positive review of our Hotel and thank you very much for your compliments on our property. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have just returned from a four-night second stay at Hotel de Orangerie (the first time was in Nov 2011). The hotel has its plus and minus sides. On the plus side is the location, ideally situated in central historic Bruges, and the excellent decoration of the communal rooms and bedrooms. The staff are welcoming and helpful. On the minus side several points should be made. Firstly, don't expect a room with a canal view. On our first visit we had an attic room with a view of the fire-escape in the inner courtyard ! This time round we had a Junior suite set on two floors , second and third overlooking an inner courtyard: we had a direct view of an apartment in the adjoining building next door (three metres away !) directly opposite the small window in the living room part, while on the bedroom floor the windows were skylights. The daylight in the living room was so poor that we had to turn the lights on to read. Secondly, the building is far from sound-proofed. The corridors are uncarpeted wooden floors .. when people come in late at night or get up early in the morning they clatter down the corridors and make maximum noise. At 9h00 the room maids' loud conversations could be heard right down the corridor. In our room we could hear the people in a nearby room use the bathroom and flush the toilet .. and also them and their children talking. The mini-bar which in fact contains a half-bottle of champage and two glasses makes a noise throughout the night. Thirdly the television is supposed to have UK and French channels .. all of which were unavailable. Why ? When I asked I was told channels were being 'adjusted' , whatever that is supposed to mean ! Fourthly, charging 25 euros for breakfast buffet when one really only wants a cup of coffee and a croissant is pushing the boat out too far. We found an excellent tea room nearby where we had fresh fruit juice, coffee and croissant for 5 euros each ! The foregoing may seem like nit-picking but if the hotel prides itself on being one of the leading small hotels of the world it needs to address the issues I have raised.

Room Tip: Ask them to specify in the clearest possible terms whether or not your room has a view of the canal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KINDER P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review about your recent stay at our Hotel.

Thank you very much for the positive comments on our property and your kind words about the staff.

We only have 3 Junior Suites with canal view in the hotel. The room that you've booked ( a family room) has no canal view.

But, we hope to welcome you and your family back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had looked at reviews and images of the hotel, so were expecting it to be pleasant,but it definitely surpassed our expectations. The hotel is so close to the cultural centre of Bruges, but is located down a quiet side street, facilitating a good night's sleep, as did the very comfortable bed. The staff were welcoming and very obliging. There were also some lovely touches, such as the complimentary glass of champagne with breakfast and the note placed on our bed each night giving details of the weather for the next day. We came away full of delight and appreciation of our stay in this cosy, well-appointed hotel

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NickB1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review.

We are very happy that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and that you enjoyed the service, the room, the location and the champagne breakfast.

Looking forward to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I really cant say enough about this Hotel, a sheer delight..................The Hotel Bar/Restaurant were really from another world.........however, more importantly the Staff were such fun, they were so helpful, but all had great sense of humours, making our stay a joy !!!........
We didnt want to leave ! and cant wait for the next stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stokeabbott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review!

Nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay!

We will pass your kind words to our staff.

We hope to welcome you back in the Orangerie very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Orangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Orangerie

Property: Hotel de Orangerie
Address: Kartuizerinnenstraat 10, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#41 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Orangerie 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Orangerie Hotel is located right on the most picturesque canal of medieval Bruges in the very heart of the city centre. This small XV century monastery of the Sisters Karthuizerinnen has been converted into a wonderful "boutique hotel", furnished with exclusive fabrics (Braquenié, Pierre Frey, Bennison, Ralph Lauren), antiques, and objets d'art.All of the 20 graciously proportioned bedrooms have been individually decorated with antiques, and offer all the modern comfort that the discerning traveller expects. In the elegant lounge along the canal, guests can relax by the open fire, in comfortable sofas while going through the available art books and international magazines, and enjoying a drink which is served round the clock. The winter garden lounge with its views on the “trompe l’oeil” Italian gardens is a haven of rest and tranquillity in fresh white and light-greyish colours. It is recommended to enjoy the typical English “Afternoon Tea” or an aperitif either on the waterfront terrace or in the cozy lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel de Orangerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martins Orangerie Bruges
Martins Orangerie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing