We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de Orangerie
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Brugge Centrum(Bruges)(Great Value!)
$109
ibis
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$182
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only(Bruges)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Novotel Brugge Centrum(Bruges)(Great Value!)
$133
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Martin's Brugge(Bruges)(Great Value!)
$158
$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Aragon(Bruges)
$202
$177
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$297
$265
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Navarra Brugge(Bruges)
$196
$184
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
NH Brugge(Bruges)(Great Value!)
$157
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$212
$200
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (798)
Filter reviews
798 results
Traveler rating
590
144
39
15
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
590
144
39
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsteddy bearheritage roomhermes toiletriessmall luxury hotelperfect locationbeautiful hotelcanal sideroaring firejunior suitesitting roomroom overlooking the canalglass of champagnefairy taleold world charmour honeymoonlovely roomthe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
457 - 462 of 798 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed for our wedding anniversary, great rooms, excellent staff, great service. Very good attention to detail.

Restaurant does great breakfast, very comfortable hotel.

Great location very central, we went in winter but had lovely canal side terrace which in summer would be great for relaxing evening drink or afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

It is a pleasure reading such a positive review of our Hotel and thank you very much for your compliments on our property. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have just returned from a four-night second stay at Hotel de Orangerie (the first time was in Nov 2011). The hotel has its plus and minus sides. On the plus side is the location, ideally situated in central historic Bruges, and the excellent decoration of the communal rooms and bedrooms. The staff are welcoming and helpful. On the minus side several points should be made. Firstly, don't expect a room with a canal view. On our first visit we had an attic room with a view of the fire-escape in the inner courtyard ! This time round we had a Junior suite set on two floors , second and third overlooking an inner courtyard: we had a direct view of an apartment in the adjoining building next door (three metres away !) directly opposite the small window in the living room part, while on the bedroom floor the windows were skylights. The daylight in the living room was so poor that we had to turn the lights on to read. Secondly, the building is far from sound-proofed. The corridors are uncarpeted wooden floors .. when people come in late at night or get up early in the morning they clatter down the corridors and make maximum noise. At 9h00 the room maids' loud conversations could be heard right down the corridor. In our room we could hear the people in a nearby room use the bathroom and flush the toilet .. and also them and their children talking. The mini-bar which in fact contains a half-bottle of champage and two glasses makes a noise throughout the night. Thirdly the television is supposed to have UK and French channels .. all of which were unavailable. Why ? When I asked I was told channels were being 'adjusted' , whatever that is supposed to mean ! Fourthly, charging 25 euros for breakfast buffet when one really only wants a cup of coffee and a croissant is pushing the boat out too far. We found an excellent tea room nearby where we had fresh fruit juice, coffee and croissant for 5 euros each ! The foregoing may seem like nit-picking but if the hotel prides itself on being one of the leading small hotels of the world it needs to address the issues I have raised.

Room Tip: Ask them to specify in the clearest possible terms whether or not your room has a view of the canal or the inner courtyard ....and try and get a room at the far end of the corridor ...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KINDER P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

We appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review about your recent stay at our Hotel.

Thank you very much for the positive comments on our property and your kind words about the staff.

We only have 3 Junior Suites with canal view in the hotel. The room that you've booked ( a family room) has no canal view.

But, we hope to welcome you and your family back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had looked at reviews and images of the hotel, so were expecting it to be pleasant,but it definitely surpassed our expectations. The hotel is so close to the cultural centre of Bruges, but is located down a quiet side street, facilitating a good night's sleep, as did the very comfortable bed. The staff were welcoming and very obliging. There were also some lovely touches, such as the complimentary glass of champagne with breakfast and the note placed on our bed each night giving details of the weather for the next day. We came away full of delight and appreciation of our stay in this cosy, well-appointed hotel

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NickB1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

We are very happy that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and that you enjoyed the service, the room, the location and the champagne breakfast.

Looking forward to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I really cant say enough about this Hotel, a sheer delight..................The Hotel Bar/Restaurant were really from another world.........however, more importantly the Staff were such fun, they were so helpful, but all had great sense of humours, making our stay a joy !!!........
We didnt want to leave ! and cant wait for the next stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stokeabbott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review!

Nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay!

We will pass your kind words to our staff.

We hope to welcome you back in the Orangerie very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Situated on a canal and a few minutes walk from the centre of Bruges this lovely old building is a perfect place to stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, our room was comfortable and pleasantly furnished with a nice if rather small bathroom. Breakfast was excellent and the bar was well stocked even if the service was sometimes a little slow. We will definitely stay here again when we re-visit Bruges which we intend to do as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WJK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you for your nice review.

It's a pleasure that you've enjoyed your stay!

We are looking forward to welcome you back in de Orangerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews