We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!”
Review of Hotel de Orangerie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Orangerie
Ranked #8 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in Oct 2013 and had a wonderful time. The hotel is ideally located for sightseeing and is about a 2 min walk from the main Market Square. The room was beautifully decorated and the bed was huge, it was immaculately clean and the turn down service with a weather report for the next day and bedtime chocolates was great! The Reception staff were very friendly and helpful and the lobby was very welcoming. We prepaid for breakfast which is fairly expensive but well worth the money for the fabulous dining room alone; there was loads of choice and great quality food with lovely views over the canal. There are plenty of restaurants within a short walk and a boat trip stop immediately outside the hotel. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

We do appreciate that you have taken the time to write a nice review about your recent experience at our Hotel.

Thank you very much for the compliments about the room, the breakfast and the staff.

Looking forward to welcome you back in our Hotel de Orangerie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de Orangerie
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 744 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for three nights & within 24 hours we'd vowed to return.

Located about 3 minutes walk from the central market square & right on the canal (handy for the obligatory boat trip) it's a perfect place from which to explore Bruges - if you're stuck where to eat, the reception staff are happy to advise; just tell them the kind of food you're looking for & they'll book a table for you there & then if possible.

The hotel is beautifully decorated throughout, the staff are friendly, charming & cannot do enough for you - an example: the first morning there was a problem with the shower temperature which we reported. As they could not get a plumber out to resolve this, they immediately upgraded us to a suite with its own sitting room at no extra cost.

The atmosphere is that of luxury, yet at no point do you ever feel ill at ease; it genuinely feels as if you are staying with friends - I honestly cannot praise this hotel enough, they made my wife & I's stay a pleasure from start to finish & even gifted us complimentary champagne when they realised it was our anniversary.

We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZappaStevenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review of our Hotel.

It is a pleasure reading your positive feedback and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

A difficult review to write. This hotel has a terrific location and it's in a city that is beautiful and charming. The rooms are very good considering the restraints that the conversion of the historic properties must have imposed. The sleeping room and bathroom, certainly not large as others have pointed out, were modern and tastefully decorated. Our room was quiet in the evening, but that is strictly a function of who is housed nearby you. Sound travels easily from room to room. The breakfast each morning was delightful. The food was excellent and the service very efficient. And yet if it was possible I would have rated this hotel 3 and 1/2 stars. I do not agree with the rave reviews the hotel receives. Excellent "luxury" hotels are characterized by more than fashionable fittings; there should be an attention to detail that evidences strong management and pride. This hotel has overcome the difficulties caused by its challenging conversion, but it incredibly ignores irritants well with in its control. As many reviewers have mentioned, the rooms have a ridiculous "safe" on the closet shelves that is unattached to anything, weighs about 5 pounds, and provides absolutely no security. Why not just buy a good safe for the office area and provide a service for customers wishing to use it, and dump the silly boxes in the rooms. The lobby is decorated with large overgrown palms that actually prevent you from using two of the three lounge chairs without being engulfed by the plants. Prune the palms! The dining room is fitted with slip chairs that have cushions so soft and are set so low that the table height is not far below shoulder level of an average sized female. Then there is the library--a comfortable room in which to enjoy a first-class drink that will be served expertly by staff. But the warm and inviting atmosphere of the room is lost when you notice the most ridiculous decoration in the hotel -- a large modern photograph printed and framed to appear to be an erotic painting of a dozen nearly naked women seated and laying around and on a table at the center of which is some absurd seated and presumably also naked man. It really looks like something you might have seen in the Sixties in Playboy magazine. Unless the Hotel Orangerie longs to be the Belgium Bunny Mansion, it should lose the tasteless work. It still has much more to do be considered a true luxury hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Nice reading that you really enjoyed Bruges and the location of de Orangerie.

Your compliments about the breakfast and the service will be passed to the staff.

Recently, we won an award for '' Best Boutique Hotel'' in Belgium.

Taste and colours are personal.

We hope to welcome you back in de Orangerie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were greeted like royalty and given a stunning large room overlooking the canal. The bathroom with Hermes amenities was lovely. Champagne when we arrived on the outside terrace, chocolates every evening in our room, champagne breakfast every morning that kept us full all day & outstanding personal service from the entire staff. The hotel gave us a historic tour of Bruges & that allowed us to get away from the "5th Avenue" tourist stores. We truly felt we were part of the family. We loved that we could walk anywhere & were just minutes from the market square where In Bruges, the movie was filmed. This was so memorable a stay that we would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Get a room with a canal view if you can.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanis351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you very much for the review you wrote about your recent stay!

It is one of the most beautiful reviews, we ever received.

We love to pamper our guests with special little things that make them feel at home.

It was very pleasant to hear that you have experienced it.

We hope to welcome you back in Hotel de Orangerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Luxurious yet simple and charming, while retaining the character and grace of its old bones, the Hotel de Orangerie is tucked away a cobblestone’s throw from the Grote Markt, making it central and within easy walking distance of all of Bruges’ main attractions. (And within earshot of the quaint bells that chime daily over the old town.) The public spaces are extremely elegant and delightful, and encourage relaxation. Hotel staff were welcoming, attentive and helpful.

We enjoyed a very comfortable room, delightfully and tastefully decorated with continental chic, which had a view of the Belfry over the rooftops. It had a bijou bathroom that was more than adequate.

The canal-side terrace is a special bonus of the hotel, where we sat and enjoyed the morning sun as we watched the traffic on the nearby bridge and canal ebb and flow. The complimentary walking tour was lovely and should not be missed.

It was a great pleasure to stay at this hotel, which captured some of the essence of old Bruges.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you very much to take the time to write a review about your experience at de Orangerie.

It's a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel, especially the location, the room and the terrace.

Alos nice reading that you recommend the complimentary walking tour that we offer.

Our whole team is looking forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We chose the Hotel de Orangerie based on having seen it before on previous visits to Bruges and also from online reviews. We booked two nights (Fri/Sat) via Hotels.com.

Our room was a deluxe double room. The room itself was very well presented but was at the front of the hotel (the opposite side from the canal) but this did mean it was very quiet. The bathroom was a little 'tired' and in need of sprucing up a bit.

The staff were all lovely and made us feel very welcome. On seeing my camera one of the staff took the time to point out the various viewpoints to get the best shots of the city at night.

We chose to have breakfast at the hotel on the first morning we were there. Breakfast was very good. Lots of different freshly baked bread, meats, salmon, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, etc plus a choice of eggs with bacon if wanted. Included in the price is a glass of champagne. The breakfast seems expensive, but when compared with what else is available locally we decided it was probably priced about right.

The Hotel has a patio area beside the canal and is perfectly located for exploring Bruges. There was a 'flea market' opposite on the saturday morning. Some of the top rated restaurants are just a short walk from the hotel.

In all it was a very pleasant and relaxing stay in a hotel full of character.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smurf4568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

We do appreciate that you have taken the time to write a nice review about your experience at de Orangerie.

Thank you very much for the compliments about the room, the staff and the breakfast!

Looking forward to welcome you back in our Hotel de Orangerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is a charming cluster of canal houses elegantly melded into a luxury hotel without sacrificing the historic charm. Our room was cozy and elegant, the public spaces are beautiful and the staff is simply amazing. The hotel offers a free daily walking tour at 2:20.

Situation in the heart of the historic district, it is ideally placed for exploring Bruges by foot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

It is a pleasure reading such a positive review of our Hotel.

Thank you very much for your compliments.

We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Orangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Orangerie

Address: Kartuizerinnenstraat 10, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#41 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $168 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Orangerie 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Orangerie Hotel is located right on the most picturesque canal of medieval Bruges in the very heart of the city centre. This small XV century monastery of the Sisters Karthuizerinnen has been converted into a wonderful "boutique hotel", furnished with exclusive fabrics (Braquenié, Pierre Frey, Bennison, Ralph Lauren), antiques, and objets d'art.All of the 20 graciously proportioned bedrooms have been individually decorated with antiques, and offer all the modern comfort that the discerning traveller expects. In the elegant lounge along the canal, guests can relax by the open fire, in comfortable sofas while going through the available art books and international magazines, and enjoying a drink which is served round the clock. The winter garden lounge with its views on the “trompe l’oeil” Italian gardens is a haven of rest and tranquillity in fresh white and light-greyish colours. It is recommended to enjoy the typical English “Afternoon Tea” or an aperitif either on the waterfront terrace or in the cozy lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de Orangerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martins Orangerie Bruges
Martins Orangerie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing