We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel in the heart of Bruges” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Orangerie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de Orangerie
Ranked #10 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in the heart of Bruges”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed for two nights in September. Very nice hotel, in a perfect location. We upgraded to a canal view room, which was nice, but a tad spendy.
The hotel staff are very pleasant and professional, and I would recommend the afternoon tea service which was a great way to spend the afternoon along the canal.
There are a lot of restaurants and shops within very easy walking distance from the hotel, as well as a boat launch for canal tours.
With so much of the world yet to see, I don't know if we will ever return to Bruges, but if so, we would certainly stay at Hotel de Orangerie again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write a nice review about your recent stay in our Hotel.
It's a pleasant reading that you have had a wonderful stay in our Hotel, that you have enjoyed the High Tea with the view on the canal and furthermore thanks for the kind words about our staff.
We hope to welcome you back in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    113
    31
    11
    10
See reviews for
100
414
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in this hotel this weekend. Great choice. Very personal, charming, comfortable and cosy. Very friendly staff. Sadly we didn't get a room canal side but I suspect that would have been more expensive. One or 2 criticisms, is they don't include breakfast in the price and it was an expensive extra. Synthetic pillows for a luxury hotel was a surprise and the rooms were a little too hot and as our room (101) was on the ground floor we couldn't keep an open window. The gorgeous sitting room with a huge log fire was perfect for after dinner coffee and nightcap which came with delicious local chocolates and biscuits. Mint tea was served out of an antique silver tea pot! Definitely recommend this hotel. It's a 3 minute walk to the bell tower in the Markt Square.

Room Tip: Better not to have a room on the ground floor which don't have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to write down your experience about your recent stay in our Hotel de Orangerie.
Nice reading that you really have enjoyed your stay and that you have experienced the charming, cosy and personal atmosphere.
The champagne breakfast is worth every penny : a rich assortment of hot &cold dishes, various kinds of bread, butter cakes, delicacies , coffee, tea, fresh fruit juice, champagne,... a very comprehensive breakfast!
We use synthetic pillows , but on request we can always offer feather pillows .
About the rooms, each room is different decorated and have different sizes. The view is also different, the one has view on the street, the other on the canal or on the patio.
So, we can almost fulfill the wishes of our guests.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Amazing hotel. Rooms are small but it's an ancient building in central Bruges so not much you can do about that! The staff are wonderful, helpful and discrete. Best thing about its that its not too stuffy. Too many good hotels seem to surgically remove personality from their staff but here they are friendly and ready with a joke. The breakfast is great, no menu just ask for whatever you want plus plenty of champagne! Overall top notch, make sure you enjoy a couple of hours in front of the fire in the drawing room, that's where I am now, enjoying a gin and tonic!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
What a wonderful review!! Many thanks!
Very nice to read that you have enjoyed you recent stay .
Your very kind words of our staff ,will be passed on to them,
We hope to welcome you back in our Hotel where you could enjoy another gin and tonic in front of the fire place and where you could taste the lovely champagne breakfast in the morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
183 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is 4 star hotel, full of character and within a stone's throw from the market square as well as the canal view. If you love historical buildings, this really does have some very nice details, especially in the breakfast room, which is truly stunning. We had two rooms 215 where my wife and I stayed as well as 110 where my wife's parents stayed. Our room was too small for the price with a non existent view as well as a dated bathroom, 2 single beds moved together, old towels as well as synthetic pillows, mean that we had an average stay. My wife's parents room was much bigger, with a fabulous view over the canal. The breakfast was very good as was the service, although the communal areas are rather small so you may have to wait a few minutes for a breakfast table. No English TV channels even though they were on the paper list, Car parking at 24Euros per day but free WiFi.

Room Tip: Get canal view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your recent stay!
Nice to read that you like old historical buildings. Due to historical buildings we cannot change the size of rooms. Room 215 is called Room de Luxe , because it is smaller than room 110, which is called a junior suite with view on the canal.
Very nice to read that you adored our new decorated , boudoir styled, breakfast room and that you have enjoyed our champagne breakfast.
We hope to welcome you back in our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We booked this on Hotels.com so I am always a little paranoid about boutique hotels..there was no need to be. This is a great hotel. The place is charming,comfortable,romantic,centrally located, and just lovely. The staff can't help you enough. It's almost like you are on a small ship with your own butler when you come downstairs for a drink in the evening.. We were in 218 with a canal view. The shower is a challenge because its not wall-mounted but hand-held in that room but that was the only glitch. Plenty of electrical outlets and free wifi. No coffee or tea in the rooms but they will bring you anything you want!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank April E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write a wonderful review about your recent stay!
Lovely to hear that you have enjoyed your stay , that you have experienced that our staff is always at your service and that you have adored our decoration.
About room 218, we admit that we have to arrange a wall-mounted handle in the shower and will be installed . We have 24 hours roomservice which gives a higher quality than coffee and teafacilities.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hotel de Orangerie was just perfect! the staff was extremely helpful, breakfast was great , service was perfect & location near the canal view...! Thank you to make this trip so wonderful! We would go back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your nice review! It's always nice to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that the staff is very helpfull and friendly!
It's our philosophy to create the perfect atmosphere so that our guest feels at home with the perfect service given by our staff!
We hope to welcome you back in our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked via an online travel agent - Five Star Alliance - to stay at the Hotel de Orangerie  from Thursday 25th of October to Sunday 28th of October 2012.  Our stay was a total disaster. 

 As I had received no confirmation at all from either agent or hotel, I rang before leaving on the Thursday afternoon to confirm that we were staying at the hotel for the weekend. I was reassured when the receptionist said she had found our reservation.  

My partner was therefore astonished to be told after breakfast on the Saturday morning that we had to check out immediately as the hotel had our stay as being for 2 nights, not 3.  My argument, that I had not only booked for 3 nights but also confirmed my reservation directly was not accepted. 

If you read some of the criticisms of this hotel, you will repeatedly find the word 'attitude' used.  Unfortunately, I also found this to be the case; there was no ownership of the problem by the hotel staff.  It was suggested that 'my' travel agent had made a mistake, and there had subsequently been a 'miscommunication' with the receptionist, for which I was apparently responsible.  We were offered 'free' breakfasts by way of compensation, which  I refused. 

We were told that as the hotel was fully booked for that night, they could only offer us accommodation elsewhere - at The PAND Hotel across the canal.  We were left upset, angry, and humiliated as our luggage was wheeled out of the Hotel de Orangerie and down the street.  

Despite having to pay an even more expensive room rate (€378.90), our room at The PAND Hotel (Room 107) had no view other than the back of another house.  Our room at the Hotel de Orangerie (Room 108) had looked out over the canal.  I also found the salons a little bland and certainly would not have chosen to stay there.

I subsequently  wrote to the Hotel de Orangerie and received a hugely disappointing response from the manager; although one in keeping with the attitude we encountered during our stay.  If you read some of her replies to other negative reviews on this site you will get the  idea; she is sorry you feel that way but nothing is ever their fault. There was no apology.  Most of her reply seemed designed to annoy and irritate even further.

It's a great shame, as the  location is excellent and the hotel charming.  I should also put in a good word for the chambermaid, who was extremely sympathetic towards my partner whilst we were having to vacate the room.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Mr Stammers,
We find it very sad how you deal with your own mistakes!
You try to blackmail us first by email in order to get some compensation for your fault booking. After several mails, I passed all you emails to your Tour operator Five Star Alliance.
They sent you an email , which clearly stated that you have made your booking online for 2 nights and not for 3 nights. Furthermore, you received also your confirmation of your booking for the 2 nights.
See here the email of your Touroperator Five Star Alliance, if you wouldn’t have read it :

“Dear Robin Stammers,

We apologize that there was a misunderstanding in the number of dates booked. Our system shows that you made your reservation online on September 9th, 2012 for October 25th - 27th (2 nights). The booking form which you filled out to complete your reservation displayed the dates clearly prior to completing the reservation. You also received a confirmation email shortly after the reservation was made which included the dates of your stay. We have included the automatic confirmation email which was sent to you on September 9th below:

Search and Book Luxury Hotels Worldwide:
Five Star Alliance”

Because you didn’t receive any compensation for your own errors, you try to blackmail us again trough Tripadvisor
Moreover, I find it very sad how you deal with it.
The error was created by your own and we have done everything to find another hotel , to worn your luggage to the other hotel, your car stayed one night longer in our parking , etc
I hope next time, you will double check your own-made booking before going on holiday, this will solve troubles in the future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Orangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Orangerie

Property: Hotel de Orangerie
Address: Kartuizerinnenstraat 10, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#41 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Orangerie 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Orangerie Hotel is located right on the most picturesque canal of medieval Bruges in the very heart of the city centre. This small XV century monastery of the Sisters Karthuizerinnen has been converted into a wonderful "boutique hotel", furnished with exclusive fabrics (Braquenié, Pierre Frey, Bennison, Ralph Lauren), antiques, and objets d'art.All of the 20 graciously proportioned bedrooms have been individually decorated with antiques, and offer all the modern comfort that the discerning traveller expects. In the elegant lounge along the canal, guests can relax by the open fire, in comfortable sofas while going through the available art books and international magazines, and enjoying a drink which is served round the clock. The winter garden lounge with its views on the “trompe l’oeil” Italian gardens is a haven of rest and tranquillity in fresh white and light-greyish colours. It is recommended to enjoy the typical English “Afternoon Tea” or an aperitif either on the waterfront terrace or in the cozy lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel de Orangerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martins Orangerie Bruges
Martins Orangerie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing