We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea at the Orangerie - what a treat!”
Review of Hotel de Orangerie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Orangerie
Ranked #8 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea at the Orangerie - what a treat!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We went to the Orangerie for afternoon tea on a Saturday afternoon as a treat during our honeymoon. Having tea on the terrace is a wonderful experience, although the people queuing for boat rides can be a bit off putting. Scones, jam, tea in silver tea pots, little patisseries,extra tea when you need it....wow. And the scones are amazing, melt in your mouth creations. recommended as a special treat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AB1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review.
It is very nice hearing you have enjoyed the High Tea on the terrace and that you have noticed the details which make the difference.
Furthermore, thank you for recommending it as a special treat.
We hope to welcome you back in Hotel de Orangerie .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    126
    35
    11
    10
See reviews for
121
468
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We absolutely loved the Hotel de Orangerie! We had a spacious family room on the top floor appropriately named "The Belfry" because of the straight on view of one of the most picturesque landmarks in all of Bruges. The morning breakfast was delicious and would have been worth the 25 Euro price tag, but it is complimentary to "Loved" members of the Small Luxury Hotel chain. All it takes is one overnight stay in any of their hotels, and then the free breakfast is a perk. It's a great deal at a fabulous collection of hotels!

Room Tip: The top floor Belfry room has an amazing view, and the room itself is large and tastefully decorated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaraRoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write a wonderful review about your recent stay in our Hotel de Orangerie.
It's marvelous to hear that you really have enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in our Hotel .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

5th time to visit the Orangerie and it was like going 'home' had room 105 this time and it was very comfortable. Breakfast with Heidi and her staff was excellent as usual. Everybody is so helpful and pleasant. Missed afternoon tea with Glen though. Hope he gets better soon.

Room Tip: any room is good, we have stayed in 5 different ones and can't fault any
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richards61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for writing a nice review! It was really a pleasure reading that you have enjoyed your stay for the 5th time in our Hotel. Furthermore, your kind words about the staff is most appreciated and will be past on to them. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located near Bruges museums and attractions. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly. They were happy to make restaurant reccomendations for us and made us feel welcome. The decor is extremely charming. Our room was furnished with lovely works of art and antique furniture. The hotel is located on the canal which afforded beautiful views. This small luxury hotel was well appointed. I enjoyed the Hermes personal products and the fluffy robes!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RN9865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
We appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review about your recent experience .
Thank you very much much indeed for the positive comments on our property and the kind words about our Staff.
It is very nice reading you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in Hotel de Orangerie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We loved this hotel. It is very well located in central Bruges, and with the help of the sat-nav we had no problems getting the car there. The staff then park it for you, which is great. Throughout our stay the staff were amazingly helpful, giving us restaurant recommendations and directions to the out of town supermarkets where we went to buy beer. The room was lovely, and importantly given the weather when we were there, had excellent air-conditioning. I see other people have complained about the hand held shower, but ours had a wall fixing and it's important to say that it was a great shower in terms of both water temperature and pressure. A weather forecast for the next day and a Belgian chocolate were part of the turn-down service that beautifully rounded off each day. We also very much enjoyed the free walking tour, and a little time spent sitting on the terrace next to the canal.

The bar / room service menu was limited, to the point there was nothing at all on it I could eat. But since we knew there was no restaurant when we booked, and I have awkward food allergies I don't feel it fair to take a mark off for that.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEOShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback about your recent stay and in particular your kind words about our staff, who are trying to fill your needs and requirements in order to give you a pleasant stay.
We are looking to welcome you back in the near future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary here just a few days ago, and had a lovely experience. The hotel itself is well situated, and within walking distance of most tourist sites. Our room (St John's Hospital 218) was on the second floor, and in a corner, which probably minimised noise from people walking by. As it was our anniversary, we were given complimentary drinks, and had this in the lovely room on the ground floor; the champagne was served with strawberries and macaroons - fantastic! I would say there are many picture moments in the hotel too. The amenities in the room may not include those found in 'standard' hotels (we are quite used to having our own water kettle to have coffee/tea in the morning), which is part of the Orangerie experience, and fine with me. We had water and chocolates, and our bed made ready to sleep on 2 of 3 nights. The staff also made recommendations for places to eat, and we took them up on one. We were not allowed a late check-out as there were guests arriving, but we had our luggage kept in a room beside reception. Although I have read that guests receive a travel kit upon check-out, we never received any.

Some drawbacks just to inform those who may have more specific needs:

1. The bath tub/shower area may not be suitable for those who are less able physically as it requires 'climbing' into and out of the tub. This was of course fine for us, but others may find this slightly more challenging. This comment is of course specific to our room (St John's hospital or 218) so there may be more accessible rooms. Another issue with the shower is that there is no screen which causes water to splash onto the floor. However, this is cleaned everyday, and towels are replaced as well.

2. The room safe is very small, and for those who require a bigger one (e.g. for a laptop) may need to leave this with reception for safe-keeping.

3. Last con is that we could hear noises and foot steps of others, presumably children running around, when we were in our room. There was some noise from the canal/streets but this was definitely within an acceptable range.

Overall, this hotel was a wonderful experience, beautifully decorated, well-situated, and attempts were taken to make us feel welcomed. If you require more specific needs however, for example, an accessible bath/shower, water kettle, then this hotel may not be for you. I strongly recommend this place for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: 1. I wouldn't suggest 'The Gate' as it is likely to have a lot of people traffic which m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic-NR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you very much to take the time to write a review about your recent experience at our Hotel.
it's a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel to celebrate your firstwedding anniversary.
Also nice reading that you recommend our Hotel as a" romantic getaway".
Just to inform you that all rooms are different decorated and we also have a special room , next to reception, equipped for disabled persons. Due to all the different rooms, we can meet the needs and desires of everyone.
We hope we can welcome you back very soorn in Hotel de Orangerie .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

One absolutely wonderful stay. The hotel is in a fantastic location and has a very caring, multilingual staff. This is an upscale experience with attention to detail such as the Hermes toiletries, a free walking tour, and a travel gift bag upon check out. Yet, not pretentious and uncomfortable. Tip: If you are driving, it is a bit of a pain to find the tiny alley behind where you "park" your car. The hotel staff will then come and take your car to a nearby garage. Although ultimately convenient, I wish this had been mentioned somewhere on the web site. Driving downtown Bruges isn't a pleasant experience. :) Walking downtown however, is a very pleasant experience! What a beautiful city and a first rate hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cegmsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
We appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review about your recent stay at our Hotel. Thank you very much indeed for the positive comments on our staff and on all the efforts we give to details.
We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in Hotel de Orangerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Orangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Orangerie

Property: Hotel de Orangerie
Address: Kartuizerinnenstraat 10, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#41 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Orangerie 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Orangerie Hotel is located right on the most picturesque canal of medieval Bruges in the very heart of the city centre. This small XV century monastery of the Sisters Karthuizerinnen has been converted into a wonderful "boutique hotel", furnished with exclusive fabrics (Braquenié, Pierre Frey, Bennison, Ralph Lauren), antiques, and objets d'art.All of the 20 graciously proportioned bedrooms have been individually decorated with antiques, and offer all the modern comfort that the discerning traveller expects. In the elegant lounge along the canal, guests can relax by the open fire, in comfortable sofas while going through the available art books and international magazines, and enjoying a drink which is served round the clock. The winter garden lounge with its views on the “trompe l’oeil” Italian gardens is a haven of rest and tranquillity in fresh white and light-greyish colours. It is recommended to enjoy the typical English “Afternoon Tea” or an aperitif either on the waterfront terrace or in the cozy lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Orangerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martins Orangerie Bruges
Martins Orangerie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing