We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel!”
Review of Hotel de Orangerie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Orangerie
Ranked #9 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

One absolutely wonderful stay. The hotel is in a fantastic location and has a very caring, multilingual staff. This is an upscale experience with attention to detail such as the Hermes toiletries, a free walking tour, and a travel gift bag upon check out. Yet, not pretentious and uncomfortable. Tip: If you are driving, it is a bit of a pain to find the tiny alley behind where you "park" your car. The hotel staff will then come and take your car to a nearby garage. Although ultimately convenient, I wish this had been mentioned somewhere on the web site. Driving downtown Bruges isn't a pleasant experience. :) Walking downtown however, is a very pleasant experience! What a beautiful city and a first rate hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cegmsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
We appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review about your recent stay at our Hotel. Thank you very much indeed for the positive comments on our staff and on all the efforts we give to details.
We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in Hotel de Orangerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    122
    33
    11
    10
See reviews for
114
449
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I couldn’t recommend Hotel de Orangerie more.

The staff were fantastic and looked after us tremendously, they even gave us supurb recommendations for dinner that made the evening.

The room was quaint with a delicate decor, just what you need on a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle of London. The location couldn’t be more idyllic, situation next to a canal and just off the main market square, Hotel de Orangery really couldn’t be more perfect. Every touch has been carefully thought about and it shows. The atmosphere is one of tranquil harmony and makes me want to stay there again and again. I will defiantly be going back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimCastle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review of our Hotel. It is a pleasure reading your positive feedback and we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay.
We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

5 star experience all around. Will come again and refer everyone there!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrFeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for writing a positive feedback about your recent stay!
Nice to hear that you really have enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in Hotel de Orangerie very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is by far my favorite hotel in the world so far! The staff is so attentive and caring, genuinely making you feel welcomed and cared for. The rooms are comfortable, luxurious, tranquil. The beds are excellent, the bathrooms and products are excellent. The terrace overlooking the canal is perfect for an afternoon drink, and they serve afternoon tea too. I really cannot say enough good things about this wonderful little paradise in the midst of Bruges. My only complaint: We had to leave it and return to the real world.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you very much for the review you wrote about your recent stay!
It is the most beautiful review , we ever received.
Every day , we pursuit the perfection , even in the little details.
It was very pleasant to hear that you have experienced it.
We hope to welcome you back in Hotel de Orangerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

All staff are very friendly and the room decoration is very cute! We got upgraded to a suite too. Such a nice place to rest and relax. The bathroom amenities were by Hermes, part of the Small Luxury Hotel thing. It's a walking distance to all the shops and nice restaurants. The only minus point is that both the afternoon tea and breakfast are a bit pricey, 25 euro per person.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthSusilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to write a positive feedback about your recent stay in Hotel de Orangerie. It was very nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop's Waltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

An excellent long weekend. The best Hotel we have found in Bruges, and we've been here many times.The staff are so welcoming, and cant do enough for us. There is a most comfortable smoking area by the canal. Heidi is a real asset to the hotel, however all the staff are delightful.
We'll be back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a nice review about your recent stay at our Hotel. Thank you very much for the compliments and your kind words about our staff, which will be passed on to them and it will encourage to keep up their good work. We are looking forward to your next visit in Hotel de Orangerie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

If you are planning on staying the night in Bruges this hotel is a definite must. The location is perfect and as soon as you walk in you feel as if you have gone back in time. Decorations were beautiful,furniture and antiques very well thought out. The rooms are comfortable and quite luxurious,although in the junior suite the bathroom and bedroom is on a different floor,this is not particularly convenient. The breakfast was nice but limited in choice. It's not a very child friendly hotel as everyone seems to be tiptoeing around to not make noise.. We took our two year old and spent most of the time feeling as if we were disturbing everyone. I would definetly recommend the hotel for couples. Very romantic and peaceful.service was lovely and staff was professional and kind.

Room Tip: As I mentioned in my review,junior suites are large but are mezontes which means bathroom and bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is a pleasure reading your positive feedback and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Orangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Orangerie

Property: Hotel de Orangerie
Address: Kartuizerinnenstraat 10, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#41 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Orangerie 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Orangerie Hotel is located right on the most picturesque canal of medieval Bruges in the very heart of the city centre. This small XV century monastery of the Sisters Karthuizerinnen has been converted into a wonderful "boutique hotel", furnished with exclusive fabrics (Braquenié, Pierre Frey, Bennison, Ralph Lauren), antiques, and objets d'art.All of the 20 graciously proportioned bedrooms have been individually decorated with antiques, and offer all the modern comfort that the discerning traveller expects. In the elegant lounge along the canal, guests can relax by the open fire, in comfortable sofas while going through the available art books and international magazines, and enjoying a drink which is served round the clock. The winter garden lounge with its views on the “trompe l’oeil” Italian gardens is a haven of rest and tranquillity in fresh white and light-greyish colours. It is recommended to enjoy the typical English “Afternoon Tea” or an aperitif either on the waterfront terrace or in the cozy lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel de Orangerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martins Orangerie Bruges
Martins Orangerie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing