We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance in Bruges”
Review of Hotel de Orangerie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Orangerie
Ranked #8 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Romance in Bruges”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Super Hotel, Super staff, Super service for a Super get away

I have visited Hotel De Orangerie with my wife for a weekend vacation.

The property itself is Fabulous and we had a great welcome by the Front Office team and a complimentary upgrade was offered to us.

The staff is very smiley and friendly and do their at most to meet your expectations.

The days I spent there were excellent and I do highly recommend others to visit this boutique hotel, and I will visit it again very soon !

Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume_Annick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review of our Hotel. It is a pleasure reading your positive feedback and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    126
    35
    11
    10
See reviews for
120
466
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I had booked a junior suite over the Jubilee weekend. Maybe my partner and I were not wearing the appropriate designer clothes. Maybe we did not have the right looks. We got placed into one of the smallest rooms I have stayed in a decade. The bathroom was tiny and did not have a shower stand. The safe in the room was not funtional and did not get fixed. When we asked for a different room all we got back was attitude. We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Haluk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for the feedback about your recent stay.
By checking your reservation, a junior suite has never been booked. You have choosen for a Room de luxe. Furthermore, we are disappointed reading such a review because we did all the efforts to give you a pleasant stay. We offered you another room, but you prefer the room we offered by the beginning of your stay.
I hope next time , we can welcome you back in our Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mur-de-Barrez, France
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

This has to be one of the nicest and most pleasant hotels to stay in. From the moment you arrive till you leave, you are treated like their most valued guest. We had a lovely room just below the attic floor and overlooking the canal. The room was spotless, mind you so was the whole place including the outside terrace, and had everything you need. The breakfast was very nice and plentiful and my wife had the offered glass of champagne. We had a car to park and it simply disappeared and came back when needed. I cannot praise the staff highly enough. They made it all so easy.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
We appreciate that you have taken the time to write a wonderful review about your recent stay at our Hotel.
Thank you very much for the positive comments on our property and your kind words about the hospitality of our Staff. We hope to welcome you back soon for the fourth time in our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Bruges is a fairy tale city which is absolutely lovely, and we enjoyed our stay at this small friendly hotel. The breakfast was superb!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank km0h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
We do appreciate that you have taken the time to write a nice review about your recent experience at our Hotel. Thank you very much for the compliments about the breakfast !
We will pass your kind words to our staff, especially the staff who prepare and serve the breakfast, it will encourage to keep up their good work.
Looking forward to welcome you back in our Hotel de Orangerie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Together with 2 other couples that are long standing friends, we went by train (so convenient, quick and relaxing compared with airports!) and spent 4 nights in Bruge. Arriving at the Orangerie (an old convent that has been extremely nicely converted), we entered a charming and relaxing place, where the staff are quietly dedicated to making you welcome and looking after you extremely well. The bedrooms (there are various types/positions/cost) are en-suite and very nice, with comfortable beds - we looked out over a side street, but it was quiet. Breakfast is excellent and afternoon tea is also very good - if it is fine, have it on the 'patio' alongside the canal and watch the boats/birds. This hotel is so nicely run, that it is difficult to believe that the owners only took it over May 2011. If they do put 'walk in' showers in some rooms, it will overcome the only query.

Room Tip: Not the attic/3rd floor, reading other review! There are some larger rooms and rooms overlooking can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
It is a pleasure reading such a positive review of our Hotel and thank you very much for your compliments on our property.
We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The hotel is amazing!!! It's well located, the staf is very nice and the bedroom is soooooo comfortable!!!!
When we arrived there was a personalized welcome letter on the bed and a free walking tour around the city.
Breakfast is fantastic! Everything is delicious and the treatment couldn't be better.
There's also a teddy bear in a robe waiting for you on the bed when you arrive. It's such a treat! You can buy the bear if you want to.
The toilet ammenities is from Hermès!!! Do I have to say more??
I recommend it to everyone!!!!! Please go!!!!!! It's amazing!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marylg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
It is a pleasure reading such a positive review of our Hotel and thank you very much for your compliments.
We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We spent 2 nights in Brugges at the Hotel de Orangerie it was outstanding, the service, breakfast and location was all top quality - the only slight let down was we had the attic room I think it was 319 which I dont think was as good as the other rooms - so a bit of advise avoid the attic room
The weather in April 2012 was wet but there are many good restaurants and drinking houses to wet your appetite -the Cambrinus just off the market square in Philipstock straat is excellent value for money also the cafe Rose for beer is much cheaper than many other places

Room Tip: Dont have the attic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie V, Manager at Hotel de Orangerie, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel. It is a pleasure reading your positive feedback and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay.
As your preference doesn't go to the attic room ( a large family room with view on the Belfry), we have several other room types that fit everyone's desire.
Looking forward to welcome you back in Hotel de Orangerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Orangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Orangerie

Property: Hotel de Orangerie
Address: Kartuizerinnenstraat 10, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#41 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Orangerie 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Orangerie Hotel is located right on the most picturesque canal of medieval Bruges in the very heart of the city centre. This small XV century monastery of the Sisters Karthuizerinnen has been converted into a wonderful "boutique hotel", furnished with exclusive fabrics (Braquenié, Pierre Frey, Bennison, Ralph Lauren), antiques, and objets d'art.All of the 20 graciously proportioned bedrooms have been individually decorated with antiques, and offer all the modern comfort that the discerning traveller expects. In the elegant lounge along the canal, guests can relax by the open fire, in comfortable sofas while going through the available art books and international magazines, and enjoying a drink which is served round the clock. The winter garden lounge with its views on the “trompe l’oeil” Italian gardens is a haven of rest and tranquillity in fresh white and light-greyish colours. It is recommended to enjoy the typical English “Afternoon Tea” or an aperitif either on the waterfront terrace or in the cozy lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Orangerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martins Orangerie Bruges
Martins Orangerie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing