We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find”
Review of Azalea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Azalea Hotel
Ranked #82 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This place was neat, clean, historical and with some of the friendliest and most accommodating people that I have ever met. We arrived late in the evening and the first person we met was Guy (pronounced Gee), who was manning the front desk. He directed us to our room, referred us to a
wonderful restaurant within walking distance. Later, he gave us the history on the building, as well as shared his own life experiences. We had only planned on staying that evening, but wanted to stay another night. Unbeknownst to us, it was "Taste of Europe" weekend and they only had a one person room. We gladly took it. The hotel provided breakfast every morning. On the wee hours of our departure, Guy even took me and my travelling companion to the airport and had coffee and juice waiting for us when we awoke that morning.
The location is perfect for walking to the belfry and city square. This little hotel also has a bar in the evening hours. It's a wonderful place to meet interesting people. The night before our departure, we went in and met the Belgium bunch (you know who u are!) the couple from "the country in England", and the Amsterdam brothers! We will be back. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Remember to stop and smell the roses. It's a fantastic hotel. The history is great. Thanks Guy!

Room Tip: We weren't in the room long enough to make a difference. There is a lot to see in Bruges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 186 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

I am sure in its heyday this hotel was beautiful, but is now very tired. Location excellent a short walk to the main square. The staff were extremely helpful at all times. I would love to see it refurbished as it would be stunning.

Room Tip: Room 19 very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoCoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is a lovely town house tucked away around 5 minutes' walk from the marketplace, so quiet, with charming staff. However, it is in need of TLC and looks 'tired'. Refurbished, it would be a knockout but would then probably be more expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had stayed [happily] at the Azalea before so when we planned to visit Bruges for New Year we booked well in advance [October]. After a few exchanges of e-mails to arrange parking, the dog and to get help booking a restaurant we were therefore dismayed to arrive and be told that our booking had not been made.
We were found accommodation at another hotel and the Azalea paid the difference in room rates but our visit was very much not as planned hence the rating for the hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank steve1208080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I found this hotel on Booking.com. It is an old brewery converted into a hotel of 25 rooms - 3 superior rooms and the rest are standard rooms. We had a superior room overlooking the street while the other two looked over the canal and garden. The room was surprisingly very spacious- much larger than I expected. The room was styled in keeping with the period of the brewery and each room was individual. It was very clean and for this time of the year lovely and warm. The bathroom was clean with no evidence of mould or peeling paint/wallpaper which is quite often the case with hotels. The staff were extremely polite and very helpful with directions/enquiries - contrary to other reviews. There is a well stocked bar and prices are very reasonable however you must pay for them when you pay your bill on checking out. The location of the Azalea is perfect for a short walk to the centre of Bruges and its many cafes and restaurants - 5 mins.Overall a very charming establishment and as I am very particular about hotel accommodation I have no hesitation in recommending the Azalea Hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford it book a superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a charming hotel with an old world air, located in a quiet street next to a canal. We had a very comfortable room (no. 1) overlooking the garden and canal, with impeccable bathroom facilities. All the staff we met were without exception very friendly and helpful. The breakfast menu catered for a wide range of references, and all the choices we tried over three days were excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to other visitors to Bruges.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christopherclegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We came with a gift voucher for a room and got a very spacious room (no. 25) with two arm chairs, a small table, and a desk. The bathroom seemed recently done up and was clean and the towels snowy white and soft. The black satin covering the bed may not be to your liking, but the furnishings were clean, and the room smelled good (not air freshener!). Wi-fi worked without a hitch. Breakfast was delicious with several types of buns and bread to chose from, and included scrambled eggs and bacon. From the breakfast room you have a lovely view over the canal. We parked our car in a box behind the hotel at the price of EUR 18. The staff was very helpful, smiling and competent. From the hotel it is only a few minutes' walk to the city centre.

Room Tip: No. 25 is spacious and quiet. The view from the window is towards the parking behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vidosmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
3,059 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Castillion
Hotel De Castillion
#53 of 97 in Bruges
59 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
10 mi away
Woodside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azalea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azalea Hotel

Address: Wulfhagestraat 43, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: $92 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Azalea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azalea Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing