We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The receptionist”
Review of Azalea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Azalea Hotel
Ranked #82 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed June 1, 2013

First and utmost the receptionist was the highlight of our stay, he is insightful, knowledgeable and all-around lovely gentleman who was a great help in advising on local tourist attractions and meal spot.
The room is spacious with amenities and a very big window for the hot nights though be careful as the curtains can get in the way while trying to open. There is a safe in the room but try to avoid the age electronic safe as the people we were travelling with have nothing but problems and we all ended up using the same safe in our room (old school key safe no buttons).

NOTE: There is no fitness centre of swimming pool but this is my first review and clicked them by accident.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a old school safe as the newer safes are a nightmare if locked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 186 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile


I was in room 4, lovely view of the garden and towards the canal.
The room is a twin but pretty compact and the shower room was tiny, though shower cubicle itself quite roomy. The hot water in the shower was temperamental but in the hand basin fine. Room had a safe with key and kettle/drinks facility.

Generally the hotel is dated and a little shabby in places but its location is excellent. Easy reach if the train station and for all central attractions. Free wifi is excellent.

Breakfast was buffet style- eggs and bacon on the warmer plus usual cereals, meats and cheeses. Rolls and croissants also nice. Service was good at breakfast - in terns of getting a hot drink.
The bar is expensive- and not itemised when we came to pay- its charged to your room- so easy to get carried away abs our host was congenial and chatty so we bought more than we planned!

On the whole I feel the place is fairly rated- I'd stay here again due to its location but not outstanding otherwise.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davescunningplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is charming and comfortable. The location is perfect! Walking distance from the market area, but very quiet. The bed was comfortable, towels and linens of good quality. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast is generous and delicious. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The welcome and atmosphere in this hotel are it's unique selling point. The staff are happy in their jobs, genuinely interested in helping you and eager to guide and recommend you on where to eat and talk about the history of the city and the country. The night manager doubles up as bar tender and does a great job of creating a convivial atmosphere amongst the guests, whilst providing a wealth of information about Bruges and Belgium in general. Breakfast was good, with a range of food on offer at the buffet, served in a beautiful dining room overlooking a canal. The whole place is definitely shabby chic, so if you can't put up with quirky decor, creaky floorboards and doors and carpets a bit threadbare here and there then this is not the place for you. And yes there is the odd sulphurous smell around the bathroom sink - this is a centuries old building in a centuries old city, built around canals - for heaven's sake, what do people expect?! In summary, if you like a relaxed atmosphere with genuine staff who are always happy to help then look no further than the Azalea.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LozC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Nice hotel but decor is getting a little tired in our room, we could not fault the staff.
the young lady on reception was so helpful.
The beakfast was a little hit & miss 1st morning egg & bacon was good and hot but the rest of the stay it was not at it's best just about warm. the rest of breakfast was fine.
the hotel is in a quite area right by the canel and a short walk in to the t'zand square.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Don,t look any further. Book this hotel. You wont regret it. Nothing to be faulted and in a great location.The people who run the Azalea are amazing as was the breakfast when leaving. They could not have been more welcoming, friendly, genuine & helpfull. In fact we had a transport problem & they went far beyond the call of duty to help us out. Can,t speak more highly & hope to see you again. Truely excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottyontyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just returned from a 1 night stay at the Azalea (2nd November). My wife booked it at short notice through Octopus.com after being double-booked at our 'preferred' guesthouse. Have to say the Azalea was very enjoyable. The staff were extremely welcoming, polite and helpful (which is always a plus side ;-))
Location was perfect. Easy to find and only 15 minutes walk from the bus/train statiion. Situated by the side of one of the many canals in Bruges. We were given room 9 on the 1st floor with lovely views of the canal. The room was adequate for a one night stay. Beds were comfortable and the room was warm. The only downside was the decor was very dated and if I were to stay here again I'd like to see the hotel renovated.
Breakfast was the best part for me. I wasn't expecting such a continental feast. There was an array of breads and pastries. A wide selection of cheeses and cold meats as well as the famous pate's of Belgium. Jams, conserves and spreads. Cereals, yogurts and fruit. And there was also a hot server with bacon, scrambled eggs and boiled eggs.
There is a bar in the hotel (which we didn't use due to the fact that we had a young child with us) and also a lounge for relaxing!
I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeBWFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
3,088 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azalea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azalea Hotel

Address: Wulfhagestraat 43, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: $110 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Azalea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azalea Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing