We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When in Bruges; stay at the Azalea Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Azalea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Azalea Hotel
Ranked #80 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“When in Bruges; stay at the Azalea Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We arrived late last Friday night & were greeted by the night manager who was extremely helpful & warm. He spent some time going through a map of the city highlightining points of interest and for the duration of our stay was most helpful. Special mention should also go to the breakfast waiter who was very accommodating with any requests.

The room was very clean & comfortable overlooking the canal. Free Wi-Fi was a lovely suprise & in terms of its location, it is just right. The breakfast was good with a wide range of choice to suit all tastes.

The design of the hotel is very much in keeping with the character of the city. If you are visiting Bruges, then you have to stay at this hotel. If I return to Bruges in the future & I will, then I will be returning to the Azalea Hotel.

Little tip: the taxi company when bringing you from the station to the hotel (€9) hands you a slip of paper to bring you back upon departure for €6.90.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabbit96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    71
    41
    21
    8
See reviews for
22
97
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is hotel provided ll that was needed to make our recent stay in Bruge perfect .. We walked from railway station to hotel took about 15 minutes maximum ... Hotel was very close to shops .. Main square ..-and very good resturaunts .... We walked everywhere as its an easy city to explore
.. Staff at hotel helpful and welcoming ... Free wifi is a great asset ... Would recommend this hotel for a peaceful spot on the edge of the city overlooking a canal .. Bliss

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Lovely hotel. Good breakfast and free Wifi.

Perfect location for exploring Brugge and very close to the square and all the bars.

Its only a 15 min walk from the train station, but a taxi only costs around 10 Euros.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Although I arrived at 11.30am they had a room available for me within an hour. It was a pleasant room with tea and coffee facilities. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. It was within walking distance of the main square where there are many restaurants. I took a taxi to the hotel from the train station, but walked back when I left. It only took 15 minutes. I stayed 2 nights and continental breakfast was included

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gayemas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has the most grandiose , kind , and cordial attention of the staff. Food and beer are very good, You must take "zot of brugges" i believe that it is the
best dark beer I have ever tasted in my life. the location is excellent but the best : the staff

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edgar f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pettigo, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed three nights in Bruges in this hotel 3rd sept, the pictures on net are not recent, it is clean but rather dated I got a bit of a shock when we walked in as it looked like the 1980's.. Staff are lovely and very helpful, our room was practical, clean but old fashioned (wool blankets). It is very convienent to all areas in the city. I do think that at 95euro a night it is not the cheapest rate I would expect for the standard we got. The star ratings of 4* are a mistery to me and cannot be compared to Uk ratings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catmanfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed here for two nights and had a fantastic time. The room we stayed in was a good deal online, cheaper then the standard rate therefor small, but not worth complaining about considering the good price. The staff were very friendly. We had an issue with the wifi which the staff were very helpful in helping us out, and one of the owners later knocked on our door to ensure it was all ok afterwards so I appreciate the efforts. The location is perfect, just off a main street so very close to shops and sights, yet on a quiet street without buses or trucks. Window overlooked quaint gardens and canal, very picturesque, just like the city itself. I would absolutely stay here again, and very much recommend it. From a young couple.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Ensor
Ensor
#59 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.2 mi away
Hotel Karel de Stoute
Hotel Karel de Stoute
#40 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Die Swaene
Die Swaene
#60 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.4 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azalea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azalea Hotel

Property: Azalea Hotel
Address: Wulfhagestraat 43, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Azalea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azalea Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing