We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent ribs and steak” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ribs 'n Beer

Ribs 'n Beer
Ranked #11 of 701 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $34
Cuisines: Bar, Barbecue, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A friendly, privately run restaurant, close to the centre of Bruges. Specialising in a volonte (all you can eat) spare ribs which can be ordered succulently slow-cooked or tradional barbequed for that extra bite! Other specialities on our menu include fajitas, as well as excellent T-Bone and Rib-eye steaks. All this can be washed down with some of the regions finest beers.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent ribs and steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Booked here in advance the first night in Bruges. I had Ribs and my wife had T-Bone steak. Both were huge portions but both delicious. Wife's steak cooked to perfection and very tender. No real choice in wine other than red, white or rose, but red was very smooth and went with the food nicely. Couldn't fault service the staff were attentive but not intrusive, Decor was nice and background music was 80's rock (a little loud at times) Meal for one starter ribs & steak and 1 bottle & 1 carafe of red came to 78 euros which is excellent value for Bruges. Yes it is a little out of the city centre but worth the trip. Menu is a bit limited for choice but what they do they do well. Highly recommended

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sky5_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,633
    734
    153
    40
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The name says it all!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

In a restaurant called Ribs 'n Beer, my advice would be to have ribs and beer! Great ribs and of course, great beer. It's an 'eat as much as you want' rib menu, with various styles and sauces. We had the slow cooked ribs with chocolate and beer sauce (twice, it was so good), and the grilled plain ribs. Both options were simply excellent. It's not gourmet cooking, but it's very tasty, great value for money (go hungry), and amongst the best ribs we have ever had. The side dishes, such as the frites etc, were also well cooked and tasty. Apparently the record is eight racks of ribs, but I managed two and a half, and was quite proud of myself. The service was also good - attentive and friendly.

If you are visiting Bruges and like meat, put aside an evening to visit Beer 'n Ribs, but skip lunch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bflannigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Visited Friday 13th and had the ribs in beer/chocolate sauce ... was very nice but couldn't finish the rack I had ... was very rich!
Would recommend, great value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One Hell of a good meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My partner and I took my parents to this restaurant for an evening meal. From the outset, the staff were fantastic. They were friendly and accommodating in every way possible.

The beers were great and the food, well, what can I say. We ate for 18 euros each and they just kept the ribs coming. After 3 courses of ribs we could eat no more. Having traveled up through Africa from Cape Town to Europe, this was without doubt one of the best meals we had in over 8 months of travel. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone and we WILL be going back there soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cape To E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
131 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best Ribs Outside the U.S.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on time for our 8pm reservation and table was ready. I booked the Rez online from the U.S. and all worked well.

The restaurant was packed but very warm inside. It was raining and so we could not dine outside. Three people had the all you can eat ribs. Great price at 19 euros. Three different BBQ sauces. The house sauce contained chocolate and no one in our group went for that. Not used to that type of sauce in the States. Two types of ribs: slow cooked and Chef's rub. The latter was more meaty and chewy. The first fell off the bones. Ribs were enjoyed by all. Ribs came with potato wedges which were good.

I had the small nachos that had cheese, chili, guacamole, sour cream and salsa. They were surprisingly very good.

One of the waiters seemed to have an arrogant attitude. We tried to add two people to our party at the last minute and he just flat out said no. Did not even pretend to want to accommodate us. That attitude lasted during our time there.

Would highly recommend for the ribs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank asalesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ribs 'n Beer also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Ribs 'n Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing