We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“seriously?”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Reserve with
Taj Mahal is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #238 of 706 Restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $1 - $16
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We serve chicken,lamb,prawns and vegetarian dishes. We also serve vegan dishes but please ask to our waitress please.
Kortrijk, Belgium
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“seriously?”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is the first time I write a review on any site because it is really worth to tell all of you reading this that this restaurant is a guaranteed disappointment. For those having judged differently, hard to imagine they are judging another restaurant by mistake or judging their own restaurant... Food is not at all what you would expect from an Indian restaurant(especially when you are British which I'm not but easy to imagine). Lack in flavor which is hard to imagine when using lots of herbs and spices. Don't ask how but they manage..Pricewise. Ok, we're in Bruges where you know nothing comes really cheap but who cares when what you consume is worth it? This restaurant is as a consequence extremely expensive for what you get.
Having eaten in dozens of Indian restaurants all over the world, this one ranks at the last spot and will probably remain there. Actually, it ranks on the last spot of any restaurant I have ever been.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CelineR79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    91
    31
    12
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Doesn't compare with UK Indian restaurants.”
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

If you are fond of a curry in the UK, and fancy one in Bruges in this restaurant, you will be very disappointed. The menu is extremely limited, and the prices laughably high. The food although not terrible is mediocre at best, and there are no side dishes whatsoever to choose from. My advice is to avoid this restaurant if you are fond of curry. I left feeling as if I had been mugged due to the cost, and wishing I had chosen a local Flemish restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaydeejnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good food, but lacking in atmosphere”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This small Indian restaurant in Bruges has been recently renovated. The food is nice, not especially great, but compared to some other restaurants in Bruges it's good and good value - not too pricey. However, what really bothered me was the rather open kitchen, meaning it was quite noisy most of the time and we arrived home smelling of food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Niris_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Picked this from list of Indians in Brugge, rated as the top one of 4, if so the others must be terrible. I agree with Dave W, overpriced and a limited menu, perhaps the culture of Indian Restaurants hasn't made it to Brugge yet.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMeg_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What was that?”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have just had one of the poorest curries ever and believe me,I am a curry expert. First of all the price strikes you as way over the top. Here's an example from the menu for all the Brits who indulge in chicken tikka masala (which I don't) 15 euro's (without rice).rice another 4 euro's. I know that this is a city but come on that's outrageous. I thought I would have a vegetable biryani with a hot sauce. They asked me if I wanted the biryani hot and the sauce hot. What? Surely the side sauce is what it goes by, obviously not! When the sauce came up it was like the little side mint sauce you get with a Sunday roast. Pathetic! Anyway, if you are into curries don't bother and wait till you get home otherwise you will be extremely disappointed. If you are having a naan (no depth to it at all) then just have it plain. It costs an extra 1.5 euros for garlic (I didn't know garlic was the same price as diamonds!) Visit at your peril as our meal cost 52 euros for something that I could have had for half the price and ten times better back in the uk. Watch out for Bombay aloo at 13 euros (£3 back home) Give this place a miss.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing