We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time in Martin's!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Third time in Martin's!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was the third time that we stayed in Martin's Brugge. Everything was great. Clean, warm room, comfortable bed. The only negative this time was the noise, there was building work going on in the courtyard outside the dining room. Drilling started at 8 am and reverberated through the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petrosthess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    1,306
    405
    122
    37
See reviews for
336
1,538
73
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had a few hotels to pick from as a couple looking for a short, two night stay in Bruges. This was the most central, reasonably priced hotel.

We absolutely loved it! Room was just what we needed, great buffet style breakfast and close enough to everything touristy to drop bags off midday if we wanted to. The cocktail bar was also in our Bruges guide as one to go to - definitely tried and tested and just as good as the book says.

I would, and have, recommend this hotel to anyone, couples or families.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Great location, but don't be fooled by the bright and airy reception area. Our room was small and dark. We had to put on wall lights, lamp, bed side lights - in fact any light we could to make the room less dingy. I think the painters and decorators had a job lot of mocha/chocolate/brown paint as everything was painted those colours.
The room was at the front of the hotel so was quite noisy and that's with the window shut - dread to think what it would be like in the summer!
Was also woke up by the occupants upstairs having a shower or flushing the toilet as the waste pipe ran through our room next to the bed!
Wifi is absolute rubbish - couldn't get it in the room at all and very sporadic in the reception area.
No tea making facilities, but English TV very good!
Saying that, bar and breakfast room were very nice and staff helpful. Can explore the lovely town of Bruges within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

myself and my girlfriend stayed in martins bruges from feb 14th until feb 17 2014..our room was on the top in the eaves,,,very large room with 2 velox windows and views of the belfry...very clean room i mean very,,and very comfortable double bed,,nice room fridge,and couch in the room as well,,a bit noisy from the bell ringing out from the belfry from the mourning until around 19;00 but thats all part of the fun,,,very pleasant staff,,and most important within 2 mins of Grote Markt ,,,the center of bruges...overall a great hotel..

Room Tip: top floor and a room to over look the belfry tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank damienmurphy954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great hotel just round the corner from the main square. there a happy hour at the hotel bar 8-9pm all beers half price... if your close by its worth calling back.... no complaints about the quality of beer in Bruges but it's not cheap. rooms were clean and comfortable. only problem was there was lots of building work going on whilst we were there, quite noisy and unsightly.... but I suppose its got to happen at some point in time. turn right out the hotel and 200 metres on the right hand side is a supermarket if you need anything.... 5 euro for 4 croissants and a bottle of orange juice.... or 17euro each for breakfast at the hotel. chocolate and beer shops everywhere :)

Room Tip: we had many many different chocolates whilst we were there but try the truffles at pralinettes just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redqueeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We have been to Martins Brugge three times in the last few years and I would rank each visit very highly. The staff are kind, helpful and professional. The hotel is clean, comfortable and beautiful. The location of the hotel is centrally located and thus handy to most areas of Bruges, and is a short walk from the train station. Would highly suggest Martins Brugge!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meags7681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

The hotel has a fantastic location in the center of Brugge, the hotel staff are excellent, and very helpful, the hotels overall is a very good standard, the breakfast suits all tastes, very nice bar area to chill out as well, there is underground parking which costs extra....if you are going to stay in Brugge and want central location at a reasonable price, this is your place...

Room Tip: Front of hotel, for a perfect wake up call from the Belfry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andywoodward2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#44 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing