We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste money on expensive hotels stay here!!”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #40 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have just returned from Bruges and have had an excellent stay at this hotel. The location is excellent. Situated just behind the Belfry.The staff are all friendly and helpful. Emails were answered promptly when booking. We stayed in one of the 'charming' rooms and it was roomy, airy, spotlessly clean and nicely furnished. The price per night 110 euros included breakfast, which had a great choice to cater for everyone's tastes. I am a regular visitor to Bruges and will most certainly stay here on my next visit :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessw24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,934)
There are newer reviews for Martin's Brugge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,111 - 1,117 of 2,934 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is my second time staying at Martin's Brugge and I know there will be a third time in the future. Martin's is clean, the staff is friendly and the location is the best. They have recently opened up a new annex to the original hotel since we stayed last time (four years ago). Both parts of the hotel are clean and well designed. The beds are comfortable and I never had trouble getting a great nights sleep. The bathrooms are typical size for a European hotel (small but enough room for the essentials).

They have a breakfast for 15 euro each (I believe cheaper if booked ahead of time). I would pass on this Monday-Saturday and instead walk to one of the nice breakfast establishments in town (better food for the price). On Sunday, many places are closed or open late and we found the spread at Martin's to be good, but nothing special. There is a grocery store just down the street from Martin's and they sell fresh bread and everything else (as you walk out of Martin's, head left, just past the ATM).

One of the best parts about Martin's is the location. It is just behind the bell tower, just off the square. Almost every bus from the train station stops in the square which makes getting you and your bags from the train to Martin's very easy. When the bus drops you off in the square, look up at the bell tower (think how pretty it is) and walk towards the bell tower, as you get to the street behind the tower you will see the front of Martin's (it has a round glass electric door). Easy!

My wife and I know we will be back to Bruges soon and there is no question we will be staying at Martin's.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front may have the sounds of horse hooves clapping through open windows during the day...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling-Illini4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I and four friends stayed at Martins as part of an organised 4 day break which was very well ran and very enjoyable. The hotel is located in the centre of the Old town of Bruges and is in a great location for exploring the Old Town, there are restaurants and bars all within walking distance. The hotel was very clean and tidy and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was excellent, a buffet style with great variety, everything you can think of, cereal, fruit, hot English, cold meats and cheese, fresh bread and croissants, all very very nice. There were two parts to the hotel, it has obviously been extended as there was a new annex. There were a couple of dissapppointments, firstly we had a new room in the new annex to the hotel, the room was very small, the double bed just about fitted into the room and as a consequence there was very little room to move around especially when two people are getting dressed or getting ready to go out for the evening, we were bumping into each other all the time which became quite annoying, it was a single room with a double bed in it, ideal for single occupancy. the two other couples with us also had the same sized rooms again in the new annex.
Secondly the hotel bar was very small and as it was busy at peak times it took quite a long time to get served due to there only being one person working at any time.
On the whole it was a very good hotel that I would recommend. If there are two travelling that I would recommend that you avoid stayning in the new part of the hotel where the rooms are very small for two persons.

Room Tip: If possible try and avoid a room in the new part of the hotel, they are very small for double occupa...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brownofcruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We recently stayed in the Martins for 3 nights and the location was excellent. I don't know the exact price as it was part of a travel/hotel package but as the package represented good value, then I guess the price was approx. £100 per night for a double?
The hotel is located right behind the Belfry and therefore about 200 metres into the main square. The reception staff were very friendly and the rooms were a good size and very comfortable. Breakfast was a fairly standard continental affair but good enough to set you up for the day. The bar opens at 1700 and there is an happy hour from 2000-2100 when all drinks are half price - a real bonus in Bruges where prices in the Square are pretty high. However, on the night that we went in, the barman was very poor and out of keeping with the rest of the hotel staff.
Our only complaint is the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room and this may be one of the reasons it is only a 3 star hotel?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seasider968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, super friendly, sparkling clean, everything in walking distance. We loved our stay at this hotel. Fun and relaxing. No hesitation recommending this hotel ..quiet except for non stop bell ringing from towers.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEO39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Location is right behind the market square and bell tower. Room was comfortable, I would recommend not to open the window because the mosquitos will come in. I was bitten many times and had a horrible night, but I would recommend this hotel, no problems otherwise.

Room Tip: Keep your windows closed.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doris n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in Martin's Brugge from the 29 Sept to 2 Oct. We booked through hotels.com and the rate was $112/night. We thought this was great. The hotel was very comfortable and clean and the location couldn't have been better! We were literally right behind the Markt Square- we just crossed the road and went through the gate to the other side of the Belfry. It was perfect. The only downside to the room we had was that it was small. Luckily, the both of us had backpacks and we had enough room to put those down. If there were 2 people and they both had suitcases, there would be issues. I can't comment on breakfast or parking as we didn't use either.

Room Tip: We had room 714. While small, it was clean and the bed was very comfortable.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coffeelover1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#18 of 97 in Bruges
2,215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#28 of 97 in Bruges
931 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#24 of 97 in Bruges
655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $93 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing