We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city break”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #39 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel is perfect for getting around to see all that Bruges has on offer. Hotel right in the centre at the rear of The Belfrey so you always have a landmark to find your way back. Breakfast a bit expensive but some good places to eat around the square. The Olive Tree is a must to eat at least once during your visit. Plenty of bars to sample the vast choice of beers on offer. I would like to go back later in the year to see what the Christmas Markets are like. I would recommend this city break and this hotel to anyone wanting 2 or 3 days away to chill out and just wander around the lovely city

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel has less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyNowAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,219 - 1,225 of 3,086 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Came with car with my friends to have a short rest , there is parking from the hotel , but you have to pay £25 a night even you are guest of the hotel.
Went to the bar to ask bottle opener , the guy asked me to help h clear the table ?even he said sorry it's joke, I don't think that joke is suit for the guest .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The Martins hotel is in a perfect location just behind the main square. It felt more of a corporate/business hotel but it met our needs. The rooms were well maintained and clean and also very quiet. Breakfast was all self serve but there was enough to choose from. My only issue is why does milk in continental europe always taste strange? I wouldn't recomment the hotel for a romantic getaway but for anything else it is perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodiePhil101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Simply lovely.Location was ideal. Staff at reception and bar very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was very sumpious with plenty of choice. Would stay there again and hope to. The open outdoor area in the hotel was very relaxing. Bruges is such a beautiful city. The canal trip delightful and the museums so interesting, even the one on frites. And as for the chocolates mama mia!!@

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kiltha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great place. Spacious elegant rooms. Fabulous breakfast overlooking the canal.
Breakfast was huge - fresh breads, pastries, cheeses, meats, even champagne.
Very helpful staff.
We loved being in the old part of the hotel.
Huge windows, romantic.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal have a great view. There is a small bit of road noise but the street is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laughingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Martins Brugge. The location just can't be beat - close to the Belfry (Belfort) and Markt. The room (we had a triple) was nice and clean with a nice bathroom. The noise level in the halls was acceptable. A lot of Americans and Brits here. The staff was extremely nice and helpful! The big reasons this hotel did not get a four were: no in-room coffee, no small toiletries in the bathroom aside from lotion and small soaps, and the restaurant would not let us buy coffee without buying breakfast - which although plentiful - was €17, too much for two people who eat very little for breakfast. That being noted, we would stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank DurbinsOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Booked through Eurostar as single rooms but had nice small double room. Looked into internal courtyard but very quiet. However no wifi in that room. Staff arranged move to room with great wifi but noisier in older part of the hotel. Newer room has thermostatic shower mixer which is safer to use as manual one fluctuates hot and cold. No tea making in room. Breakfast at €17 is rip-off but plenty of nice places in the nearby squares.
Arthies' cafe in same courtyard worth trying.
Staff helpful. Clean and comfy bed with good pillows. Plenty of TV channel choice including BBC & ITV.
Would stay at Martins again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MS31Dec2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#19 of 97 in Bruges
2,344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,347 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#35 of 97 in Bruges
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $88 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing