We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #40 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed at Martins Hotel in Jan 2013, we arrived to full snow, which was great being from Australia, we walked from the train stn to Hotel which was hard due to snow but manageable , found it ok was great location behind the Belfry tower, which we had a view of the room, the room was lovely and very warm which was great as the outside was so cold, We had a happy hour drink at bar , was good we ventured to an Irish pub , for meals which was very close by. Staff were friendly could not fault the hotel and location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshlassSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    1,358
    426
    129
    42
See reviews for
353
1,614
82
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Welcomed by cheerful, competent concierge team. Comfy, clean, quiet room. Bathroom was showing age. Good, well used bar (with Trappist beers and amusing barman). Very good breakfast. It is very much a tourist hotel with coaches arriving and departing. The Japanese and Chinese change every day and, surprising to us, frequent coaches from London via the Tunnel (just four hours?) The result, in the well appointed breakfast room, is something like Butlin's. If you like people, there are a lot to watch. However, away from the public areas, apart from slamming doors, it is quiet and in good condition. Very central and just far enough away from the Belfort bells.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank embleton07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a very nice, modern hotel literally located directly behind the belfry tower. Location wise, it cannot be beat. The front desk staff is EXTREMELY helpful. They helped us rent a car, make several phone calls, and find out information we weren't able to find out ourselves. They called us in our room and checked back with us to keep us updated and were very gracious and respectful. Of course, this is something we all expect from individuals working in the hospitality industry but as we know - it's unfortunately more rare than it should be! There is outdoor seating as part of the bar but we just sat out there with our own beer and cheese to have some afternoon and evening snack and beer breaks. One suggestion: we had kind of an adventure finding the room at first. Ask what floor it's on and take the elevator to that floor. Carefully follow the room signs in the hallways and if it points to an elevator or a stairwell, take it! We had two rooms: 146 and 153. They were on 2 different floors! Not a big deal in the slightest bit, it was just really funny trying to find it and ending up at dead ends a few times. Once we figured out how it worked, it was much easier getting to the room and back to the lobby! There is a happy hour at the bar which we didn't attend but it looked quite nice! The lobby is hot - not sure why - but it's what I said to myself every time I walked in. It's a nice, comfortable lobby and a very nice hotel in a fantastic location in my favorite little Belgian town of all time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We arrived on a thursday without a reservation and the hotel desk gave us an excellent rate. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful with directions and things to do and see around the town. The breakfast menu was very good although it's not included in your room rate. I believe we paid 9 euro each. Liked Bruges and Martins hotel so much we stayed another night before heading to Brussels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Have visited Bruges a few times in the past, if I went back I would definitely check out Martin's first.
Could not be more central but in a quiet side street. Modern accommodation. Staff helpful. Car parking on site.
Breakfast includes cooked food and is excellent. Staff continually clearing and preparing the tables. The bar has a great atmosphere.
So many sites in Bruges are easily in walking distance, but beware the cobbles.
Horse carriages take tourists round and the canal boats give a different view of the sites.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wumf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel before, and, whilst I wasn't wildly impressed last time around, the offer I found on the room was enough to being me around n this trip.

However, the problems we'd had last time seem to have been somewhat magnified in the last two years: despite turning up to check in at the time specified (3pm), it took us three tries to check into our room! The first time, it simply wasn't ready, the second, there was a problem with the linen, and, on the third (three hours later), we were finally able to check in and change out of our travelling clothes. I wouldn't have minded so much, but there was no apology at all!

The room was fine, though the plumbing was noisy through the night, and the shower was pretty anaemic. The breakfast was delicious, and good value at twelve Euros each.

My overwhelming impression, though, was that the staff just don't really care that much one way or the other about their patrons, so, if service is an important part of your hotel stay, I'd give Martin's a miss.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittlestHobo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Martins is really well located and is literally 100 metres walk from The Markt and Belfry. The rooms whilst not the biggest are comfortable and very clean. The only down side is the cost of breakfast so beware. If you don't book breakfast the night you arrive it will cost you a rip off 17euros however if you book when you check in or at least the night before it will cost 12 euros. Not sure how they can justify a 5 euro hike when there is space and food to be eaten. Drinks in the bar are not cheap either but I would stay again. Its 3 star and I think it probably rates 3.5 but thats a matter of opinion

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pomiejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#19 of 97 in Bruges
2,146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#29 of 97 in Bruges
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
2,246 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing