We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream location in the fairy tale city”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #40 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

17 years earlier we had stayed in this hotel on our short-break honeymoon. It was as perfect this time as it was then. Clean and comfortable, efficient yet relaxed and right in the heart of this beautiful, magical city. Perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,321 - 1,327 of 2,986 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

3rd time here so they're doing something right!! great location , great rooms and a great bar with a happy hour for a pre dinner cocktail.if brugges is on your list of places to go then this hotel comes recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_kdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel, for a 3* was superb. The location, opposite the Belfry, is perfect, just 20 seconds from the main square.
Although the room was one of the smallest i have stayed in, it was clean and attractive. The bathroom was modern and hotel staff were very helpful and full of recommendation. A must stay for your break in Bruge.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We arrived late on a Friday night, the staff at reception were warm and friendly. The room was nicely decorated but tiny, just about enough space to shuffle around the bed! Hardly slept a wink either, as the room overlooks a street and every car (or horse and cart) going by woke me up. I am a light sleeper though! The next day I decided to see about getting a different room (at least a quieter one), the staff were again very accommodating and gave us a new room, much bigger this time, but it was still overlooking the street, so not wanting to go another night without sleep, I asked if we couldn't have a room off the street - they told us that 80% of the rooms were overlooking the street but they'd move our bags if an interior room became available (which thankfully it did) - so our second and last night was a vaste improvement on the first! The room was really quiet and bigger! I would recommend Martins for it's location and helpful staff, but beware if you are a light sleeper like me. The breakfast buffet was quite good but not always fully stocked.

Room Tip: If you're not happy ask for a different room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poleulor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have recently stayed in Brugge for the first time, and Hotel Martin was perfectly placed for the centre of Brugge, right opposite the Beerfest we were there for, and 1 street away from the main square........... Beautiful Hotel, and the Staff were really proffession but still smiley and welcoming.... The entrance and bar stunning, Lovely rooms, and the Breakfast to die for.... We will definitely be going back.....

Room Tip: I can imagine every room will be great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazzaroony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here twice in last 2 yrs! Brilliant location, great value - rooms are small but comfortable and clean! Planning my nxt trip back to Brugge and Martin's will def be where I choose to stay! Barman was really nice - really knows his stuff!!

Room Tip: Try the Martin's Cocktails - The yellow one is the BEST I have ever had!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

stayed at Martins over New Years (Dec 12 to Jan 13) booked through a Eurostar package. Found the hotel to be clean, reasonably priced and VERY central. Rooms on the 4th floor had high ceilings, large bathrooms, and great views across the town which meant we had a view across the town of the fireworks on New Years Eve. The room lacked the basic kettle (for tea/coffee making), however there is a vending machine in the basement for hot beverages. The hotel breakfast was mediocre, but being so central there were dozens of other options on the doorstep. (er, yes, chocolate and beer ARE breakfast options for team monkey when on holiday).
The location really recommends this hotel, it is seriously just steps away from the old square.

Room Tip: top floor rooms for the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeaM0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#35 of 97 in Bruges
2,396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#28 of 97 in Bruges
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $84 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing