We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #41 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

It's hard not to conform with all the other reviews without sounding like a broken record, but the location is superb. We drove from London and Martin's was the second place we reached to stay for NYE, for 4 nights. The hotel is a good 3 stars, it's clean, situated amongst some great Bruges landmarks, as well as the hustling festive shops and cafes. The room was quite small and consisted of two single beds pushed together rather than a double which wasn't ideal, but good fun when my girlfriend fell inbetween them every night... but it was well priced, unlike arguably the food and drink which struggled to break away from most European Hotel's mission to hike prices on everything.

All in all a nice, relaxing, quite and clean stay with friendly staff.

Parking is $25 a day but you might be able to find a car park (quite near) cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    1,372
    429
    133
    43
See reviews for
357
1,635
84
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Booked Bruges as a surprise get away for my partner and choose this hotel after carefully reviewing several others.

I was so happy when we arrived as the hotel is directly behind the bell tower and the main square.

The hotel is clean, basic and everything you need for a city break.

Loved, Loved, Loved This City and would defiantly go back again and would stay at this hotel.

:D

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in January 2013. As mentioned before in a previous review, our welcome was efficient rather than friendly. Given a guide and map as well as our keys and sent on our way! Our room was on the first floor (room 710) and extremely clean if a little small. Super comfy bed and a high spec bathroom with an amazing shower! The hotel is very central and the belfry is right in front of you as you walk out the door, all in all a wonderful location. The bar was very nice, we visited only during happy hour so it was good value as well. Only slight grumble is that we weren't given a 'do not disturb' sign and on the first night but didn't realise this so we got a rather early wake up call on our first morning after a really early morning the previous day, only a little moan though. Didn't try the breakfast but it seemed rather expensive at 17euros! All in all a good hotel, perfect for a short stay in Bruges :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieBlackx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Great location just off the markt, friendly staff and nice atmosphere. Could do with a change in decor in the rooms, brown is very dull. Overall good value. Nice beer selection in the bar, happy hour makes is really good value. The taster beers from the Martins range are worth a look!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mill134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

we arrived on christmas eve for 3 nights,my first christmas away from home and i loved it,hotel was perfect ! location was excellent 10\10 room was ok a little small but very clean and warm,breakfast was very good lots to choose from.
this was my first trip to brugge and i wasnt disapointed lots to do and see,would go back again and would stay at the martins hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 686sally22686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked a three night stay, checking in on Christmas Eve. The hotel is very centrally located near the central Markt. Our welcome was efficient rather than warm. Our room was warm and clean - the one thing that could definitely be improved upon in our room was the lighting which was quite dull; the bathroom was satisfactory with an extremely efficient shower. A very good thing was the number of UK TV stations available on the flat sceren TV and we also appreciated the free wifi which was good and reliable.
The dinner on Christmas Eve was served in the main dining room, it was full and buzzy. 6 courses were served over 4 hours with wine, which we really enjoyed and was a great way to start Christmas. The breakfasts on subsequent days were pretty standard European buffet fayre but could be improved with more fresh fruit. The hotel was busy - but very efficient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed one night. We were able to leave our bags in the luggage room as we arrived before check in. Staff very friendly. Room small but very clean and modern. Bed really comfortable and great shower although the bathroom was tiny. No tea and coffee making facilities within the room. The location was 2 minutes walk from the square and all of the sights. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cotswolders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#18 of 97 in Bruges
2,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#30 of 97 in Bruges
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#25 of 97 in Bruges
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing