We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect position for central Bruges.”
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect position for central Bruges.”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Was treated to this trip for my 50th birthday and having such a handy position made everything so easy. Could see the tower from our room over the top of the shops in the tower complex. Hotel was lovely and had tv to chill out with after busy busy days sightseeing.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheresaBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    1,330
    418
    126
    37
See reviews for
345
1,580
78
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poços de Caldas, Minas Gerais, Brazil
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The best thing in this hotel is your location, very close to the grand place and central area in Brugges. We don´t like the service. We arrive at 16h pm and we have to wait until 18h to get your rooms ready. The breakfast is very very expensive and the room is very basic and old.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edupcaldas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Booked with Eurostar package early October. Very reasonably priced and great location. Although it's right behind the Belfry there was no problem with noise. Room was quite basic - small, but comfortable, clean and modern. TV with english channels was a bonus. But we didn't come to Bruges to stay in the hotel. The combination of location and price made this hotel perfect for our needs. Excellent breakfast. Only negatives - No room service and no tea/coffee making facilities in room. Going back end of November for Christmas Markets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiltonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Agree with other readers that it is a lovely hotel, brilliant location,British TV channels, best hotel bed I've slept in, but.....
No tea/coffee facilities in room - sorely missed when we popped back to drop off packages.
Breakfast costs are a joke [17 euros, 12 if pre-booked over internet]. We recommend Hema - local shop [5-10 mins walk] selling everything. Excellent value - for 1 euro you get egg+bacon in fresh baguette + croissant + jam + tea/coffee. For extra 50cents - lovely orange juice. 3 euros for the two of us. Make sure you get there before 10 as the offer is 9-10am. Don't eat in the hotel it's just not worth it.
Take your own shampoo - they only have body lotion in bathroom.
Apart from that it is a superb location. Try Venice - just up from hotel - for a good meal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AggieCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinsBrugge, Assistant to General Manager at Martin's Brugge, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear guest

I do much appreciate your review of your stay in Martin's Brugge.

The daily rate for the buffet breakfast is indeed 17 euro but you get a well presented all you can eat buffet with hot and cold dishes. A nice start of the day.
In our bathroom you can also find besides bodylotion, shampoo and soap.Maybe you have overlooked this during your stay.

Hopefully we can welcome you back here in Brugge once again.
With kind regards
Nicky De Backer
Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just stayed for 2 nights (2 rooms, 4 adults) and had a great stay. The hotel exceeded it's 3* rating and we would definitely stay again. We had booked standard rooms which weren't massive but were fine. Fantastic location. Took our 2 children in their early 20s. They thought it was a great place to stay and handy for the local bars(which they visited when we had gone to bed!). We used the public underground car park which was 8.7 per day. Much cheaper than the hotel one which is 25 per day. Seemed secure enough. We hadn't booked breakfast as we thought it was 17euro. It is unless you book in advance when it then costs 12euro - a much better price. We missed having a kettle in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanGrace110661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Beautiful and high level service hotel. Great location behind Belfry. Clean and "new look" rooms. Excellent breakfast buffet. No free wi-fi. Good heating system. Its very important if you travel autumn- winter-early spring season.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia_Shi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Hotel Martin's was booked based on Tripadvisor reviews. Great location 2 minutes from main square in Brugge located in very charecterful cobble stoned street with immediate access to shops , resteraunts and all the main tourist attractions.
Hotel rooms excellent ( no tea/ coffee making facilities). Hotel facilities excellent but did not use the bar or resteraunt as very expensive. Better that you venture out into the square and go a few streets beyond for more affordable food and drink. Room price came with breakfast buffet which was excellent for choice and quality. Hotel staff could not have been better and no quibble over billing as described by some other reviewers. So in summary why pay for 4 and 5 star accommodation when you can experience the excellence of the 3 star Hotel Martin's.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#52 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing