We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right In City But Rooms Are Small” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Essex
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Right In City But Rooms Are Small”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had a 3 night stay in October 2012 on a tour organised by Riviera Travel via Eurostar.
Wonderful City and hotel central for everything so can walk straight into all the exciting places to explore.
First let me get the downside out of the way.
As mentioned rooms very small, so dont try swinging a cat, but only slept there so did the job.
Room we had only had 1 windom at edge of room with table in front so hard to see out at all.
No tea coffeee making facilities, although not often found in european rooms.


Good Points
Hotel well situated.
Air Con in room worfed very well.
Comfy bed and quiet so had good n nights sleep.
Was expecting cont b/fast but also had bacon, scambled eggs, boiled eggs, toms, beans ant help yourself breakfast.
Plenty of fruit, rolls, bread etc to choose from
Staff friendly and helpful, always smiling.
Took about 30 seconds to check in and out, even though as mentioned we arrived with group on trip.
Room clean with soaps face towels and body lotion, besides towels each day.
Hairdryer also in room although no mention on hotel website so we took our own!

Overall would recommend this hotel and would book again when we go back next time, although would try to get a bigger room as would probably do trip ourselves now we know area.

This is not knocking Riviera travel in anyway though as from start to finish we were looked after by Viv our guide who was fantastic and knowledgeable about everywhere we went, Many thanks to her!!

Room Tip: We had room on 4th floor, which is basically the attic and as corner room lost more space due o cut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBsTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    1,306
    405
    122
    37
See reviews for
336
1,538
73
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hythe
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed her for two nights, a Friday and a Saturday and the hotel was very busy with what seemed to be several groups. Check in was very quick and helpful, and I was given a map of the city and the receptionist marked on the map where the hotel is. Then off to my room I went, which was very recently totally refurbished and had quality fittings. The air con is the quietest that I have ever had in a hotel and can be totally controlled in room. The double glazing works well and even manages to shut out the noise of the church bells which start around 0900hrs. The beds and quilt are super comfortable and my room had a small mini bar fridge, however what I did find surprising is that there are no tea and coffee making facilities (tray) in the room I had. I was in room 731, I think they call this a 'Charming Plus Room' which is not one of their basics by any means - I would have liked a tea tray to be honest as I am used to it. The bathroom has been very well done, no bath - which I don't mind at all, has great shower and as said, all is very new. I liked the room, had a nice quality feel and I slept very well.

Breakfast is a buffet with a huge choice of everything really and all of excellent quality - the Patio breakfast room is big and I saw no queues at all for tables and the staff are very efficient.
I had scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon plus a bowl of fresh fruit - no complaints at all and no wait at all.

Check out on the Sunday morning saw some pretty big queues, but hey, with 177 rooms checking out then this was always going to happen. Front desk staff were quick and efficient and coped well - I didn't mind the queue as I wasn't pushed for time - if you are, then I would make sure of an early check out or see if they do an 'Express' service.

I liked this hotel and was very pleased I chose it - the location is fantastic in the old city centre and it is very well run with high standards of service and refurbishment. I will certainly go back.

Room Tip: Charming Plus rooms are very good indeed, didn't see the other catagories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Excellent front desk management, English spoken, easy check-in. Room & bed comfortable, nice bathroom, hot bath, lovely towels and heating during the night. Liked being able to open the window for fresh air during the day. Fantastic breakfast included, though this is very pricey when not included with the room options.

We appreciated immediate response to our complaint about noisy guests in the next room around midnight. Within minutes security had arrived and sorted the problem. Parking is very expensive, but there are no other handy alternatives at competitive prices. We spent two nights & would like to have seen a reduction on parking for subsequent nights.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel. Pity it didn't have a restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

First off - I have never bee to Europe before, needless to say Brugge - so needless so say I have nothing to compare this to. I arrived super early (around 10:45 AM) and my room was ready, so points there. The staff's English was impeccable, and they were very friendly as well. Prior to coming I read some things about Brugeans being a bit rude, but I've encountered nothing but the sweetest people thus far. The only two complaints I have is the lack of character & the spotty wifi (NOT good for business travelers or those attached to their laptops). Other than that, pretty good value and unbelievably central, yet quiet location.

Room Tip: Ask for the wifi password. Unless you see the tiny sign, they won't tell you ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Excellent location, just off the Markt (we could see the Bell Tower from our room). Comfy, big bed and good bathroom (very powerful shower). There was no extractor fan in the bathroom though, so after a shower it was VERY hot and steamy. Full range of British TV channels.
Breakfast was good value at EUR 12 (compared to nearby cafes) and there was a huge range of hot and cold food available.
Bar was ok, if a bit soulless.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BagelmanSpleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

very good location, room is adequate (but avoid the corner room as the room shape could be a bit odd). convenient garage parking. and I love their bfast too. minor complaint is the early check-out time at 11am

Room Tip: avoid corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishCreme2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

It's a well run better than average hotel. Check in was quick and painless, the room was small but adequate (we were only staying one night). Location is outstanding. Right in the absolute centre of Bruges. The hotel is behind the Belfry and a walk through the courtyard of the Belfry takes one to the Markt Square. At breakfast there is a huge variety of choices that should suit almost anyone. The only fault I had with regard to breakfast was that the coffee was ordinary. Everything else was quite nice. On check out we asked about leaving our bags while we spent the day walking around Bruges. They have a luggage storage area that is secure and even has lockers. Got our bags at the end of the day, asked if they'd call a cab and of course they did. They obviously understand hotel hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheQuietTravellerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#44 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing