We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
Ranked #47 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect Break”
Reviewed March 10, 2010

When we arrived we were greeted by the receptionist and given our key card, when we went into the room we both fell in love with it, beautifully decorated, tasteful and elegant. The arched window looking out onto the canal was gorgeous. The bathroom was immaculate and HUGE. All the little touches added to our stay - like your name on the welcome on the TV - ok I know its not rocket science, but it was nice :). We had a meal brought up by room service that night - was lovely to sit at the table on the very comfy chairs and watch the world go by at the same time.

Breakfasts were fantastic - great selection of foods and beverages. Staff were at hand if anything ran out, discreet and not pushy.

Couldnt fault a second of our stay there, and fully intend returning., excellent value for money and the service was second to none.

oh yes - and the walk along the corridor to the breakfast room - how beautiful is the garden????? and hearing the doves coo, then the music playing softly in the background - this all added to our relaxation and enjoyment.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheWray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    723
    314
    89
    28
See reviews for
208
922
36
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

We stayed here in August 2009 and found the hotel to be nice and clean and comfortable. Good choice on the breakfast buffett. Unfortunatley we didn't have time to try the in-house Japanese Restaurant. It is about a 10 minute stroll to the Market Square and we found it to be a very good lacation.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Christine1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

I'd been looking forward to visiting Bruges for awhile. When I arrived at the hotel I found the front desk staff to be extremely rude. I was told that I did not have a booking, that I had not called the hotel etc. Then the receptionist told me that the staff put my booking in the wrong place so it wasn't her fault she couldn't find it initially- sorry would have been appropriate as she was aggressive
The rooms are very dated and I've slept on more comfortable bricks!! I will compliment them on the his and her sinks, they were a nice touch.
The amount of additional charges sickened me, wifi cost 13 euro, parking 17, use of sauna/steam room 15 euro p/r.
Breakfast was nothing special, burnt sausages, stale bread- hmm
Overall I was extremely disappointed and to be honest, I wouldnt put a dog there!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank segadimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2009

Staff was friendly and competent. Room was comfortable and modern. Zen garden in an atrium off the lobby - kind of interesting, and nice. We watched a movie late & I think we kept up the people next door - sorry! We parked on the street right out front for very little money. The hotel is a little outside the heart of town, but the walk to the shopping/dining district was just beautiful, so no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenesaispascolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2009

A fantastic hotel just a short stroll from all the amenities in the world famous Brugge.
Hotel was superb & the staff extremely pleasant and polite at all times. Checking in was faultless although 3pm check in seemed a little late after a long journey, however there was a room to store luggage until this time.

The rooms were very comfortable, beautifully decorated and spotless thoughout. Breakfast times were very good although a litle caotic at times but neverthless lovely food and a good variety.

I would certainly recommend this hotel and will definitely return for a longer stay.

What a lovely find! Thankyou very much.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChickensSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Perfect hotel for our Beer Festival trip. Arrived 1pm Saturday - room not ready but cases could be stored so that we were able to go straight to the city. Expensive hotel parking (17 Euro/night) but street parking is good (2.50 Euros). Rooms were modern, clean, comfortable with good facilities. Easy walking distance to centre - various routes will take you around the sights. Breakfast was good - something for everyone.
Would definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Wine_der_fallers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Had a wonderful stay here back in 2006 with my girlfriend. The staff were friendly, especially Beam the barman who always took care of us.

The hotel was well placed, so that you were a short walk from the town centre, but still far enough away so that the area had its own character.

My only complaint would be that the windows were a bit thin, so you could hear what was going on outside at times; not that that was much!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
3.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
0.9 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.9 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel

Property: Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
Address: Potterierei 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De' Medici is located on one of the most romantic canals of Bruges, only few minutes walking distance from the main Market Square in the center. Each of our 101 rooms including 6 executive suites are ultimate in comfort, privacy and relaxation. Our hotel has 3 specially adapted rooms for wheelchair users, which are available upon request. If you wish to upgrade your room to one of our nice comfort rooms or an executive suite, this is possible subject to availability at a supplement. Our comfort rooms have all modern facilities and are all furbished with high quality furniture and amenities. Please do not hesitate to contact our staff on duty to assist you with this. Our lounge Bar 'Damme', with a beautiful view of the Japanese garden is the perfect place to enjoy a drink or a light snack. Daily open from 16:30 until 23:00. Our 8 multi-functional meeting rooms provide all possibilities for a meeting, conference, an incentive and banquets. Free use of WIFI for all our in-house guests and this in our guestrooms, public areas, bar and meeting rooms. At our Health Center with sauna, Jacuzzi and steam bath (at a suppl.) you can experience a total relaxation. Our fitness room is at free disposal of our hotel guests. The hotel is easily accessible by public transport or by car and has a private owned underground garage for approximately 35 cars, at a supplement. Bruges is a renowned city for its superb center, its museums, its restaurants and its pleasant shopping streets. It is also called "Venice of the North" because it has numerous canals which cross the city. In the middle of this romantic city the Golden Tulip Hotel De'Medici is located. We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Fastbooking, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip De Medici Hotel
Golden Tulip Bruges
Bruges Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing