We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
Ranked #49 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Wonderful”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights at the beginning of April. The location is in a quiet part of town away from the main tourist area but close enough to reach within a 10 minute walk. We stayed in room 129 which had a nice view of the garden. During the day you could hear the birds chirping and school children playing at the school next door. We slept with the windows open each night and had no issue with the school bell. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was really large for what I was expecting. Everything was very clean as well!

We were able to get on the wifi in this room for free. It wasn't so great that I could watch a movie before bed on the iPad but it was perfect for looking up details of restaurants we wanted to visit. We only had to login once every 24 hours for the free internet access.

I would check with the hotel on the best bus route to get on to reach the hotel. We didn't and jumped off our bus at the Belfry then walked. When we left for the train station we just walked across to the other side of the canal running in front of the hotel and that took us directly to the station.

The breakfast buffet was a nice perk to the stay. The food wasn't amazing but it was satisfying and allowed us to eat a large portion in order to have enough energy for walking around the town.

Staff was very friendly and helpful with the few questions we had for them.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anywherewithabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    784
    338
    97
    29
See reviews for
223
1,003
39
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stopped for 2 nights and had a great deal for this hotel and what a lovely hotel, room was great really big and comfortable good choice at breakfast nice staff and easy walk into centre. Bruges is a lovely place to visit and we would stop at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Pros - Excellent reception staff, great breakfast with lots of variety, comfortable good sized rooms, great location. Overall the hotel is decent, although it seems that they unsuccessfully tried to become a Japanese themed hotel with a garden and restaurant (closed).

Cons - The lifts are older than me and take longer than walking up the stairs, which are not the most hospitable, they wouldnt be out of place on a london council block. The wifi is limited to 1 hour at a time and you have to get a slip from reception. Seems pointless and an outdated system. Our sink plug closed and we couldnt get it out, and the hotel staff didnt bother either.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theonelikefranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Tucked away just few minutes walk from centre, most rooms having canal or garden views. Rooms are varied but on the whole reasonably sized & clean. We stayed bed & breakfast, breakfast included lots of thing like fruits, toast, full English etc. juice, coffee & tea all self revive. Staff are friendly & free wifi is available in certain areas. A good base.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahandMichael1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Hotel is in a very good position, near the town center and with lots of parckings just outside the building.
The staff is very kind and we have an excellent breakfast, included in the price.
For staying just one night without using the SPA and fitness center (that I think are included in the price of the room), is a little too expensive and it doesn't worth the cost.
Also, in a four star hotel, I would appreciate slippers available in the room (it's always nice to wake up in the morning or arriving in the evening and don't have to wear your own shoes).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Had a great room at the top of the old part of the hotel overlooking the canal but spoilt by the noise of the lift at all times. Usual Bruges smell in the ground floor. Helpful staff especially at Reception. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Free wifi in the rooms is a welcome recent addition. Very handy for the town centre, just a few minutes walk. Garage Parking available but quite pricey at 15 Euros a night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobPSnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Hotel location is good. There is the possibility to park the car outside as well as inside. It has more of a 3 than a 4 star rating. Overall a bit of an older hotel. Room was spaceous but carpet was stained and bathroom was poor and there was not a constant hot water stream. I have certainly been in better 4 star hotels but for the price in low season it was not too bad. You have to pay for the spa.

Room Tip: When you make the reservation specify that you want a single bed if you do so. Although there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayzor4566574532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
3.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
1.0 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#36 of 97 in Bruges
2,302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#20 of 97 in Bruges
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
1,224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#25 of 97 in Bruges
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel

Property: Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
Address: Potterierei 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De' Medici is located on one of the most romantic canals of Bruges, only few minutes walking distance from the main Market Square in the center. Each of our 101 rooms including 6 executive suites are ultimate in comfort, privacy and relaxation. Our hotel has 3 specially adapted rooms for wheelchair users, which are available upon request. If you wish to upgrade your room to one of our nice comfort rooms or an executive suite, this is possible subject to availability at a supplement. Our comfort rooms have all modern facilities and are all furbished with high quality furniture and amenities. Please do not hesitate to contact our staff on duty to assist you with this. Our lounge Bar 'Damme', with a beautiful view of the Japanese garden is the perfect place to enjoy a drink or a light snack. Daily open from 16:30 until 23:00. Our 8 multi-functional meeting rooms provide all possibilities for a meeting, conference, an incentive and banquets. Free use of WIFI for all our in-house guests and this in our guestrooms, public areas, bar and meeting rooms. At our Health Center with sauna, Jacuzzi and steam bath (at a suppl.) you can experience a total relaxation. Our fitness room is at free disposal of our hotel guests. The hotel is easily accessible by public transport or by car and has a private owned underground garage for approximately 35 cars, at a supplement. Bruges is a renowned city for its superb center, its museums, its restaurants and its pleasant shopping streets. It is also called "Venice of the North" because it has numerous canals which cross the city. In the middle of this romantic city the Golden Tulip Hotel De'Medici is located. We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip De Medici Hotel
Golden Tulip Bruges
Bruges Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing