We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing bad about this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
Ranked #47 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Great location, good room (though it smelt a little of smoke).

Breakfast is very good - and free wifi a blessing.

Check in staff were helpful and have good advice & free maps.
They need more staff to jump in at check in and check out though - as the queues were too long.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JuFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,655)
There are newer reviews for Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had a lovely two nights break at the Golden Tulip hotel. The hotel was about a 10 minute walk from the main square and was a very good location near the canal and a quiet and pretty part of the town.
Hotel was great valve for money with a clean rooms, good breakfast included and staff were very helpful - I would happily recommend this hotel for a weekend break!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Nice modern, clean and friendly hotel. Only 10 mins from all the attractions bruges has to offer and very good value for a very comfortable en pretty hotel! Breakfast is also good and staff is friendly!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauledel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

With a lovely courtyard garden and very comfortable rooms (very good beds) this hotel must be one of the most pleasant places to stay in Brugues. We made good use of the sauna which is top quality. Breakfast buffet was varied and tasteful and the staff was so helpful that it was almost embarrassing at times. Also the location is great, on one of those beautiful old canals at a 10 minute walk to the central square. Warmly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We found the De'Medici hotel great. Very helpful, friendly staff. The hotel, like all of Brugge was fantastically clean, comfortable bed and a spacious modern room :) .................................................

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

With a 10 minute walk you reach the Markt. Hotel itself is nice, some parts feel dated. The first room we got was dirty, old and noisy. Because the temperature outside was below 18 degrees Celcius, the air cooling was disabled, but the temperature in the room was over 20 degrees. Opening the door to the communal balcony was their only solution, but that didn't feel safe.
We changed rooms upon our request and got a renovated room. It was like we stayed in another hotel. That room was value for money. Very nice decor, modern and clean. So we advise to book for a renovated room.
The hotel lobby has a somewhat cranky bar keeper, but the drinks are good value.

Room Tip: Be sure you get a renovated room! The old rooms are dated and worn.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at the Golden Tulip Hotel in Bruges for one night.
Positives: Friendly staff, Nice Breakfast buffet (nothing special but nice), walking distance to centre of Bruges, Comfortable nice room.
Negatives: Limited parking (no reservation possible). On the other hand, parking in the street is possible with a parking card (4hours), on Sunday there is no need for the card.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brams_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
3.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
1.0 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#36 of 97 in Bruges
2,344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#19 of 97 in Bruges
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.9 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel

Address: Potterierei 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $115 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De' Medici is located on one of the most romantic canals of Bruges, only few minutes walking distance from the main Market Square in the center. Each of our 101 rooms including 6 executive suites are ultimate in comfort, privacy and relaxation. Our hotel has 3 specially adapted rooms for wheelchair users, which are available upon request. If you wish to upgrade your room to one of our nice comfort rooms or an executive suite, this is possible subject to availability at a supplement. Our comfort rooms have all modern facilities and are all furbished with high quality furniture and amenities. Please do not hesitate to contact our staff on duty to assist you with this. Our lounge Bar 'Damme', with a beautiful view of the Japanese garden is the perfect place to enjoy a drink or a light snack. Daily open from 16:30 until 23:00. Our 8 multi-functional meeting rooms provide all possibilities for a meeting, conference, an incentive and banquets. Free use of WIFI for all our in-house guests and this in our guestrooms, public areas, bar and meeting rooms. At our Health Center with sauna, Jacuzzi and steam bath (at a suppl.) you can experience a total relaxation. Our fitness room is at free disposal of our hotel guests. The hotel is easily accessible by public transport or by car and has a private owned underground garage for approximately 35 cars, at a supplement. Bruges is a renowned city for its superb center, its museums, its restaurants and its pleasant shopping streets. It is also called "Venice of the North" because it has numerous canals which cross the city. In the middle of this romantic city the Golden Tulip Hotel De'Medici is located. We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip De Medici Hotel
Golden Tulip Bruges
Bruges Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing