We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but outdated accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
Ranked #47 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Boxtel, The Netherlands
1 review
“Good, but outdated accommodation”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Had a lovely stay in January 2013 with my girlfriend. The hotel has very helpful staff and an elaborate breakfast at its disposal. Great location, with only a 10 minutes walk to the city center, only the parking availability is little and the hotel is a bit outdated and needs some renovation. Other than that we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuusDenteneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    764
    331
    94
    28
See reviews for
217
975
39
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed just before new year celebrations for one night found all the staff very friendly always going out of their way to help. The hotel in very good location being just a ten minute walk to the heart of bruges! The hotel is very clean but the downside being the need for some updating in all areas the rooms are quite dark and dimly lit the bed very uncomfortable mattress too soft and pillows are flat! For an extra £7.50 you can take advantage of the sauna Turkish bath steam room and tiny fitness suite but again all need to be updated. The parking is secure and available for an extra £12.50 a day! All in all a most enjoyable stay and would probably book again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had a lovely stay in December, staff were great and the lovely breakfast set us up for the day! Enjoyed a Christmas drink in the hotel bar with great service. Highly recommend .Will hopefully be going back next December

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennedy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel is located in a tranquil area of Brugge with good accessibility ba car and some parking lots. The staff is very friendly and tries to help where possible (e.g. hints for free parking lots when the garage is full) - however, specific touristic hints (e.g. good restaurants) could not be given.

The rooms have a good size, the room service (incl. dinner menu) has a reasonable price (you can have a two-course dinner for less than 20€). The furniture is a little outdated(90s style) and internet access is only free if you use your own Wifi device in the lobby. The usage of the PC in the lobby or of the Wifi in the rooms costs an extra price (~9€ for 10hours), in my optinion this is not up-to-date.

We stayed for new year's eve, booked a month ahead and payed 230€ for one night. In my opinion, this is too expensive for that type of hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the hague
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The suite (room 111: 258 euros) we booked was disappointing. We booked for new years eve. Every room in Brugge was booked, except for this suite. De room is rather big. But the light is poor, reading at night with only lamplight is not possible, putting make-up is hard since no light and in de bathroom half a meter away from the mirror. The bathroom lacks any luxury. No fluffy towels, but worn down small ones, just a piece of soap and a shower cap, the tiles need replacement and it is in need of a paint. Bathrobes (for de sauna) are available, but you have to ask. FIlms on TV are not free (8 tot 10 euros). The bed is good but not very handy with 2 very big bedcovers instead of one for 2 persons. Personell is very friendly!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ivonn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Lovely hotel next to canal 10 minute stroll from centre of town. Didn't try restaurant but breakfast was fine. Would use this hotel again. Staff are helpful and friendly and room serviced each day. Bruge is a great place for couples and family's, great beers and food and shopping centre. Would have been nice to see bruge by boat but they only operate during high season. A trip to Ghent is also good as train service makes day trips easy to negotiate.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDeMedici, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Ms Edwards,

Thank you for your lovely review on our hotel. We're happy to read you have had a nice stay in Bruges.

Best regards,
Golden Tulip Hotel de' Medici
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strassen, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We spent 3 days in Brugge (just before 2012 Xmas) and enjoyed the Golden Tulip for its gentle staff and the good location (walking distance to all downtown key spots without being in the crowded area). Good breakfast and restaurants (the Japanese was fully, booked so we tried the Italian). From a confort and presentation point of view, it is probably slightly below expectations but I understand it'll be refurbished next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
3.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
1.0 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
2,259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
1,217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosenburg Hotel
Rosenburg Hotel
#43 of 97 in Bruges
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel

Property: Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
Address: Potterierei 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De' Medici is located on one of the most romantic canals of Bruges, only few minutes walking distance from the main Market Square in the center. Each of our 101 rooms including 6 executive suites are ultimate in comfort, privacy and relaxation. Our hotel has 3 specially adapted rooms for wheelchair users, which are available upon request. If you wish to upgrade your room to one of our nice comfort rooms or an executive suite, this is possible subject to availability at a supplement. Our comfort rooms have all modern facilities and are all furbished with high quality furniture and amenities. Please do not hesitate to contact our staff on duty to assist you with this. Our lounge Bar 'Damme', with a beautiful view of the Japanese garden is the perfect place to enjoy a drink or a light snack. Daily open from 16:30 until 23:00. Our 8 multi-functional meeting rooms provide all possibilities for a meeting, conference, an incentive and banquets. Free use of WIFI for all our in-house guests and this in our guestrooms, public areas, bar and meeting rooms. At our Health Center with sauna, Jacuzzi and steam bath (at a suppl.) you can experience a total relaxation. Our fitness room is at free disposal of our hotel guests. The hotel is easily accessible by public transport or by car and has a private owned underground garage for approximately 35 cars, at a supplement. Bruges is a renowned city for its superb center, its museums, its restaurants and its pleasant shopping streets. It is also called "Venice of the North" because it has numerous canals which cross the city. In the middle of this romantic city the Golden Tulip Hotel De'Medici is located. We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip De Medici Hotel
Golden Tulip Bruges
Bruges Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing