We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year”
Review of Hans Memling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hans Memling Hotel
Ranked #71 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Leeds England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New year”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights over new year. We`ve stayed in Brugge meny times over new year and in summer and this has to have been one of the nicest hotels. The staff were very friendly polite and helpful. The building was nice and centrak and it was comfortable to stay, The breakfasts were good and food was never inshort supply. Would definitely consider staying here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebsLeedsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    232
    166
    57
    27
See reviews for
87
284
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Spent Christmas eve and Christmas day in this great city. Lots of things to do and see at anytime of year. A little cold and breezy but the Gluwein (heated red wine) helps the chills go away.

Hotel was about 200 meters from the square and very close to several local bars and restaurants. The hotel room was quite nice but had very squeaky wooden floors.

If you say here you will be more than pleased with the service and the morning breakfast was exceptional. Scrambled eggs, ham and toast...unheard of in most European hotels. Standard fruits, tea, bagets, etc. Really nice eating area also.

Staff was exceptional...

Room Tip: O floor is the best to stay on....no problem about traffic noise at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soddycreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

What a lovely quaint Hotel.
My Girlfriend and I had one night here she had no kids so it had to be romantic/close to the square/ a good deal, it was all of them and more.
1 minute from great pubs resterants and 2 mins from the square.
The staff . . notably the receptionist was such help above and beyond.
Breakfast was lovely too.
My Girlfriend and I both loved the hotel and plan to stay again 10/10.

Tips for parking is follow signs for the Centrum, its cheap and great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonnymsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed at Hans Memling hotel over the Christmas period. I knew it was close to the centre markt, but this hotel was literally about 2 minutes walk from the centre, which was great. Got upgraded to the Studio room, which was fantastic and had a cute, little staircase which lead to the bedroom upstairs which was great. The studio room was massive for the 2 of us and the room was clean and tidy. Breakfasts were very filling as their was an abundance of bacon and eggs, cereals, breads, cheeses and ham to choose from. Staff were very friendly, spoke good english and accomodating when needed. You can walk from the train station, or it's just as easy to catch one of many buses at the sum of 1.20 euros per person and it drops you off around the corner. Overall, this hotel was a great choice: for price, location and quality. I will recommend this hotel to everyone...Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank touristillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. Room was clean and the location was great, bars and restaurant's were a plenty and around the corner from all the main attractions. The walk from the train station took about 20 minutes to walk to.

In all a good hotel but if your room is facing the main road, it can be noisy till late in the night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiinmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Box, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here 23/12/2012 for two nights, family group of five including our 8 year old daughter. My wife, daughter and I shared a three bed family room. Great location, good size family room loads to eat for breakfast all set in a nice old building just off the main square. As stated in other reviews rooms on the street side (ie family rooms) do get a lot of noise from the bars just down the road for most of the night! mostly when the customers pop out for a cigarette! However I was aware of this when I booked and the location more than made up for this and after all day walking around the old town including going up the Belfry we all manged to get some sleep. Loads to do beer reasonably priced (and strong) and easy to find some where to eat, horse carriage ride was good and well worth doing. Lots of shops and place's to get a Coffee, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My mum and I stayed here for a short break to Bruges; the hotel is more basic (which is reflected in the price), however it is clean, and the breakfast is really good, with lots of choice. The hotel is located close to the market square, which is really convenient. Also the staff are really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewExplorer069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
The Golden tree hotel
The Golden tree hotel
#59 of 97 in Bruges
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koffieboontje
Hotel Koffieboontje
#81 of 97 in Bruges
609 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#54 of 97 in Bruges
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 't  Putje
0.2 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
2,872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hans Memling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Memling Hotel

Property: Hans Memling Hotel
Address: Kuiperstraat 18, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hans Memling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hans Memling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Memling Bruges
Hotel Hans Memling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing