We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Ranked #23 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great hotel”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is in a good, central location in Brugges. When you book a hotel with a chain you often go with prior expectations based on previous experiences. My only previous experience of Crowne Plaza was in the UK and not altogether positive but I would definitiely stay again here. The staff were exceptionally friendly, efficient and helpful and the room was good value for money. Parking on site was really useful and worth paying for. I'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bournemouthnextyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    560
    106
    27
    15
See reviews for
439
596
33
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vale of Glamorgan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel between Christmas and New Year's. Bruges is particularly attractive and busy at that time of year because of the various Christmas markets and other attractions which are held across the city.

The Crowne Plaza is perfectly situated being right on one of the city's central squares. Within minutes on foot you can reach virtually all of Bruges' famous attractions...the historic buildings...canals...restaurants...shops etc. If you'd prefer to be transported there are taxis, horse & carriages and mini-buses passing by at regular intervals.

The hotel itself is very modern and well appointed in a minimalist style. Being 4-star rated the facilities and service are excellent. For example, there's a pool, sauna and small gym on the upper floor for the use of guests.

Our double room was well equipped and had all mod-cons. It was serviced daily and there were ample toiletries, tea/coffee making facilities, crisp linen and bath-robes etc. All rooms have wi-fi access and cable tv.

There's a restaurant / cafe just off the foyer and also a large lounge/bar with open fireplace. During the day the cafe serves a buffet breakfast (quite expensive at €23 per head) and light snacks at lunchtime. In the evening it becomes an a la carte restaurant. We only ate there once as Bruges is awash with restaurants of all types and we wanted to try as many as possible in the time we had! That said, the meal we ate there was well presented and reasonably priced. Service was good.

The reception staff were very helpful. Being Belgium, everyone we encountered spoke excellent English. The native tongue here is Flemish (French in the south) Likewise, signage in and around the city is also largely bilingual Flemish / English, so no problems there!

Being on the European tourist trail, Bruges is always very busy, but even more so at Christmas/New Year because of the traditional markets in the various squares. By the end of the holiday period these squares would be much quieter as the markets are dismantled and the decorations removed....until next Christmas!

We enjoyed our visit and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to future travellers to Bruges!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Travelling with young adult children can be tricky. The crowne plaza made it easy for us, they gave us the suite 306 and the 307 room being connecting through the lounge: each of us still had our own space while being able to spend time together in the lounge.
In addition to be right in the middle of Bruges gave us all independence to pop in and out the hotel to see the sights at each of our rhythm.
A spell to the sauna and the swimming pool made it perfect to deal with the rainy weather and short day time.
Overall a very relaxing and comfortable stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ElsieFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel for one night whilst visiting the Christmas markets.
We arrived early and were able to check in as soon as we arrived,our room was lovely very modern and clean and the bed was very comfortable. Tea and coffee and water and a few choccies left too! The location was perfect everything was in walking distance, the breakfast was good lots of choice, we had a few drinks in the hotel bar which were reasonably priced. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The only thing we would moan about would be that you have to pay to park the car even though you are a paying guest. We would definitely stay in this hotel again and we will visit Brugge again as it is a lovely city how ever we were a little disappointed with the Christmas markets.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckyNpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your reaction. It is nice reading that you liked the hotel and our services. Hope to see you again in Brugge.

Best regards

Lucas Bakx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The perfect hotel for our first stay in Brugge! The hotel is located right on the Burg Square. Since we were platinum members, we were given a free upgrade to a junior suite with views of the Belfry of Bruges! Merry Christmas to us! The suite was huge and the bath tub was enormous. I appreciated the Nespresso coffee machine and the hot water pot with the assorted coffees, teas, and hot chocolate! The box of Belgian chocolates was also an added bonus! I loved drinking coffee in the morning sitting on our oversized window ledge area watching the Medieval city come alive! We liked this hotel so much we extended our stay an extra night!
The only complaint was the pricey parking. It cost 21 Euro/night. We decided just to park at the train station which was about a 15-20 minute walk to the hotel and only cost 3.50 Euro per 24 hour period and included a free bus ticket for the 2 of us. It was an easy walk!
Brugge was a beautiful city and the Crowne Plaza is in a perfect location to explore this beautiful Medieval gem!

Room Tip: 506 has great views of the square!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment. It is nice reading that you had a wonderfull stay. The price of our carpark is not cheap but your car is parked safe and secure unther the hotel. Be aware that the parking at the train station is an open public not secured carpark and mainly overcrowded.

Best regards

Lucas Bakx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weisbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Benign in Europe it seems rare to find little places that speak allot of English, however the whole city of Bruges are all fluent and so helpful. From the moment we checked in the hotel staff were very helpful on reservations to eat as well as changing reservation requests on the spot. The room was quite large for a European hotel and he bed wonderfully comfy. Our view from the room included the burg center and the awesome belfry. The only thing that wasn't so nice was he two separate blankets on the king bed as well as the leaking of the shower glass. Totally worth the bucks spent on the room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 35C0B3D0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment. I undestand your opinion about the duvets. We have chosen for two instead of one. I am sorry that we are unable to satisfie you on this. I will have a look if we can solve this in the future. Regarding the leaking shower glass, can you inform with your room number so we can solve this problem. Thank you again for your input, this helps us to improve our qualtiy.

Best regards

Lucas Bakx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed in many hotels in Brugge, but this is my favorite place now. The hotel is very comfortable, as centrally located as possible and has a very friendly staff. I am a Platinum member and was very lucky to get am upgrade to a medieval suite. The suite was on the top floor with exposed ceiling beams, huge floor plan, awesome bathroom and a good view of the square. It was very quiet and comfortable. What a great place to stay! The fitness center was small, but good.

Room Tip: I was impressed by the medieval suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joerg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Brugge

Property: Crowne Plaza Brugge
Address: Burg 10 | West Vlaanderen, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bruges
#10 Family Hotel in Bruges
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Brugge 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza hotel Brugge is situated in the city centre of the charming and romantic city of Bruges, conveniently located on the magnificent Burg Square, adjacent to the historic Town Hall and the Chapel of Holy Blood. The Crowne Plaza hotel Brugge has 96 full renovated air-conditioned rooms with TV, pay TV, iron,coffee&tea facilities, mini bar and safe.The wellness and recreational centre offers a pool, a fitness room and a sauna.The Crowne Plaza hotel offers a new restaurant concept with PlazaCafé. A hip and trendy restaurant(with a superb terrace from March until November) and serves an excellent breakfast buffet, lunch and diner. Enjoy a nice coffee or Belgium beer. Every Sundaylunch a family buffet is served. The PlazaCafé Bar is an ideal meeting place, with its comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Meetings-conferences-banquets For a modern decor in warm colours we can propose the Burgh Room (for up to 250 people). If you prefer historic surroundings we can organise an unforgettable banquet in our 14th century cellar or amidst the ancient foundations of the old St Donaas Church. Free wifi available through the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Brugge Hotel Bruges
Crowne Plaza Bruges
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brugge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing