We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good modern hotel in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Ranked #22 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is a fairly new hotel built over the remains of the Saint Donatus Cathedral, the foundations of which have been tastefully converted into conference facilities in the basement. The service was efficient and helpful if a little impersonal and you do wonder whether the prime focus is business/ conferences but don't let that put you off. The location is excellent. We were upgraded to a room overlooking the main square and it is within easy walking distance of all the main sights.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast was simple but of a good standard and you should be able to find something for most tastes there. My only complaint was that the hot water seemed to be regulated at what can only be called luke warm, presumably to stop guests from scalding themselves. There is free wifi in the rooms and you can purchase faster access if you need it.

For 15 Euros you can purchase a three day ticket to all of the Bruges Museums, which is excellent value. If time is limited make sure you visit St. Johns Hospital for the Memlings and the Groeningin Museum which has an outstanding collection of early Flemish art. Look out for the Hieronymus Bosh 'Last Judgment' and 'Madonna and Child' by Rogier Van der Weyden.

A word of warning. You may think you are going to Bruges but you will soon find that you are in Brugge. The language is definitely Flemish/ Dutch. English and German will do fine but avoid French. Also we arrived by train from Brussels on Thursday afternoon and taxis were in short supply because the majority were ferrying people back to their cruise ships.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Thank you very much for your comment. Strange that your water was not hot enough, if you could let me know your room number we will be able to check the situation and see if we have any problem.
Best regards

Lucas Bakx
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

841 - 847 of 1,582 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

The rooms were very spacious, modern, and clean - a very "American" hotel for being in the center of such an old-world city. You can't beat the location - step out the door and you are within walking distance of all city attractions. Staff was friendly and helpful. Parking is a little pricey, but no need to pay for food here - there are plenty of charming eateries throughout the city where you can expect great local food at better prices. This hotel is a nice splurge for a night when traveling through Europe.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhiannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Thank you very much for your comment. It is nice reading your comment. Since February 2012 we renovated our restaurant and our price setting is absolutly not expensive compared to other restaurants with the same standard. I hope that if you visit Bruges a next time you spent a evening in our restaurant with the splendid view on the Burg square.

Best regards
Lucas Bakx
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Brugge very recently with my other half. It's in a fantastic location, very central and everything you need to see in Bruges is within walking distance from the hotel. We had a lovely room that was very spacious, clean and well finished. Staff were very friendly and overall we had a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LcpUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Thank you very much for your comment. I will inform my staff about your positive comment on the friendliness.

Best regards

Lucas Bakx
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Crowne Plaza is actually more a business (meetings) hotel than it is a tourist hotel, but that doesn't make it less suitable for families. The rooms are well appointed and spacious enough (especially the ones with 2 queen beds) for a family of 3/4. It certainly isn't the cheapest, but that shows in the quality of service and its two 'in hotel restaurants'. The staff is friendly and helpful and we always come here when visiting this lovely town. Only minus I can think off is the rather expensive parking below the hotel, but you pay for the convenience i guess.
Best of all is the location, since you are almost in the middle of the Brugges centre, so everything is at walking distance.
Breakfast is a bit pricey, but at walking distance you have plenty of possibilities for that:for example 'Het dagelijks brood' at the Philipstockstraat i can recommend.
Other tip at walking distance for food lovers would be Deldycke traiteurs (Wollestraat 23).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hollander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Thank you for your comment. Can I advise you to book the next time a room including breakfast. You have a breakfast at a beter rate and even cheaper as in other locations in Brugge.

Best regards

Lucas Bakx
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed one night as toursits in a junior suite. Very clean and very well kept. Very reminiscent of a US convention hotel with amenities. RIght in the city, so very easy to walk around. Wdid not think the restaurant looked appealing for breakfast, but the bar in the eevening was fine. Nice staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruiseagentandtaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Thank you for your comment. It is a pity that you didn't like our new refubished restaurant. We hope that we can convince you during you next visit.

Best regards

Lucas Bakx
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in a very comfortable family room (2 double beds). We didn't eat in the hotel as there were so many fantastic restaurants and cafes just steps away from the hotel. Good attentive staff, clean nicely decorated rooms and comfortable beds. The underground car parking was 21 euros per 24 hours which we thought was reasonable given the location. Only area for improvement would be the pool area which is looking a bit tired, and the wifi service which was patchy (although that may be a Bruges-wide issue rather than just the hotel). All in all a great hotel, and we'd definitely stay here again when we next visit Bruges.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s64a61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We, a family of five, spent a few days exploring the city and must agree with other reviews about the location; it's very good.
The hotel staff were friendly and accommodate us in a decent size room (others would not) for two adults and three small children.
The facilities are not top notch but good enough as you do not spent much time in the hotel.
The cafe area for breakfast was apparently recently refurbished and it looks modern.
This is a central hotel in a city visited by many many short break visitors and you notice that; big groups arriving and leaving most of the time.
Breakfast was generally ok but one day in particular (I assume after one of those groups disembarked) there was not much to eat. We had what we could. The next day was not so bad but this time we kindly asked for a boiled egg and staff brought just a few before they disappear again. Go early or avoid groups if you can.
The room temperature was too high and despite fiddling with the AC unit, we had to open the windows (I hate wasting energy).
Parking was very convenient but €21 per day.
Would I recommend this hotel with kids? Probably if you get a good price.
Not a boutique hotel but very convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malincheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Thank you very much for your comment. This will help us in improving our service. I will definitly look into the breakfast. We will action on the way we replenish the breakfast buffet when we have rarely the tourist groups. As we are a more meetings & seminar hotel. If you open your window the AC is switched of, this will be the reason why your temperature was to high. In the March period it takes a little more time to cool the room as the central heating was still switched on. I hope to see you again in Crowne Plaza Brugge and thanks you again for this comment.
Best regards
Lucas Bakx
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
761 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#26 of 97 in Bruges
1,550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Brugge

Address: Burg 10 | West Vlaanderen, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Bruges
#8 Business Hotel in Bruges
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $148 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Brugge 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza hotel Brugge is situated in the city centre of the charming and romantic city of Bruges, conveniently located on the magnificent Burg Square, adjacent to the historic Town Hall and the Chapel of Holy Blood. The Crowne Plaza hotel Brugge has 96 full renovated air-conditioned rooms with TV, pay TV, iron,coffee&tea facilities, mini bar and safe.The wellness and recreational centre offers a pool, a fitness room and a sauna.The Crowne Plaza hotel offers a new restaurant concept with PlazaCafé. A hip and trendy restaurant(with a superb terrace from March until November) and serves an excellent breakfast buffet, lunch and diner. Enjoy a nice coffee or Belgium beer. Every Sundaylunch a family buffet is served. The PlazaCafé Bar is an ideal meeting place, with its comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Meetings-conferences-banquets For a modern decor in warm colours we can propose the Burgh Room (for up to 250 people). If you prefer historic surroundings we can organise an unforgettable banquet in our 14th century cellar or amidst the ancient foundations of the old St Donaas Church. Free wifi available through the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Brugge Hotel Bruges
Crowne Plaza Bruges
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brugge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing