We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Navarra” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Navarra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Navarra
Ranked #17 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the Navarra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2008

We recently stayed at Navarra for 2 nights & loved it from start to finish. The staff are very friendly and most helpful. Our room was very spacious & clean. The hotel is less than 5 minutes from the Market Square, so it is a great location. We are already planning our next trip back.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eileenore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,186
    717
    118
    31
    12
See reviews for
326
1,264
30
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2008

Booked through Air Miles. After reading reviews requested 2 rooms in main building. This was confirmed by e-mail from hotel as were restaurant bookings. Friendly attentive staff. As we had stated in our e-mail the stay was a birthday present we were delighted on arrival to be given a gift of Belgian chocolates - a nice touch!
The rooms were well equipped and we noticed that (by peeking through doors) that they varied in size but we had no problems with our rooms. You have to remember the rooms are constructed around the interior of an old building!
Breakfast was a good buffet with plenty of choice and attentive service.
Would definitley stay here again!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkshirerover2362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2008

We booked this hotel based on reviews read on Tripadvisor, thinking we'd have a lovely stay in a 4 star hotel. We were a bit disappointed, and would not consider this a 4 star hotel - at least not by American standards. The first room we were given was cramped and had barely enough room for one, let alone two. Our second room was bigger, but lacked any sort of comfort. It faced the street and was noisy all through the night. The linens were of poor quality and the blankets old and scruffy...rough to be exact. The twists and turns of the halls and up and down of steps was a nuisance, especially with luggage. The breakfast buffet was nice, but nothing out of the ordinary. The best features of this hotel are the staff, as they were always pleasant, and its location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvindublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2008

We were originally booked into another hotel but they moved us here after they overbooked us but for the same room rate. Best thing they ever did. It is located only five minutes from Brugge town square in a series of old houses. This means the rooms are along a series of winding corridors which removes the standard hotel corridor feel.There is a lift but we used the wide circular stairs that made you feel as if you were in a mansion. Very upmarket renovations and decorations.
Our room was huge, would be a suite in many hotels. Massive bed, large bathroom, and setee. Close to one of the best hotel rooms I have ever been in and I have stayed in a lot.
Breakfast was included in the rate and again was excellent buffet style.They have a nice bar if you want a evening drink.
I think their normal web price is around 160 euro so fairly pricey but well worth it.
Brugge is as good as all the publicity.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank scotaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacehaven, East Sussex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2008

Spent an excellent weekend break in Bruges staying at Best Western Hotel Navarra. The hotel is very well placed and within easy walking distance of all of the main attractions and shops. The staff are really very good and were very kind and friendly both at reception at at the breakfast buffet. Our room was in the renovated part of the hotel and was large and spacious with a nice separate sitting area with it's own television and the bathroom was nicely fitted and modern and all was very clean and well maintained. The room was on the top floor so was in the rafters so you had to be careful not to bump your head on the beams but this was well compensated by a lovely view over the rooftops of Bruges to the Belfry Tower and the main Church. The breakfast buffet is very good with a good selection of cooked items, cereal, fruit, bread, cheese and cooked meats.

Bruges is an easy place to visit and we thoroughly enjoyed the city tour by bus from Markt and the boat trip along the canals although we were fortunate to have a beautiful spring day which does help!!

We would have no hesitation to stay at the Navarra again and would higly recommend it, it was a lovely experience.

  • Liked — Friendly well run hotel
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank springfield5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2008

We recently stayed at the Navarra in Bruges. It is a nice hotel but we booked months in advance via Eurostar and upon arrival at the hotel we were allocated a room in the annexe, a separate building next to the road, small poky room , no fire escape other than to jump out of the window. We complained straightaway, were told there were no other rooms but we could change rooms the next day, which is what we did. Trouble is, although the hotel dealt with it, our first impression of a special break (20th anniversary) was of disappointment and we had the hassle of moving rooms. Everything else about the hotel was fine BUT if you plan to stay there, it would be best to contact the hotel in advance and tell them you do not want an annexe room (there are 6 annexe rooms).

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank Marigoldofhearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NavarraBrugge, General Manager at Hotel Navarra, responded to this review, June 4, 2008
Our hotel counts 94 hotel rooms. We have 6 rooms in our annexe building which is facing the courtyard. All 94 rooms have the same 4-star facilities and comfort such as telephone, minibar, trouser press, airconditioning, television, safe and coffee/tea tray.

As the guests were not satisfied with the room, we tried to offer them an alternative room as soon as possible.
We could only change rooms the next day as we were fully booked already.

We deeply regret the following comment: 'Guests need to jump out of the window in case of a fire alarm!'
This is certainly not correct as room 211 has a fire escape ladder outside the window.
On the inner side of the window, there is even an 'emergency exit' sign in order to show the escape route.
Please notice that our hotel is regularly audited by the Bruges authorities and fire brigade in order to maintain our hotel licence.

On the other hand, we are pleased to read that 'everything else about the hotel was fine'!
We will inform the staff in order to continue the good work.

Benedikte De Bruycker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walkerburn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2008

2 nights in this hotel and one word sums it up brilliant. From the staff to the bedrooms and breakfast. The rooms were spotless and spacious, with shower and bath. The breakfast buffet was delicious and plentiful, the staff were a treat and many other hotels could take a lesson from the navarra, we shall return thats for sure.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing not to like
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WalkerburnJambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#15 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Navarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Navarra

Property: Hotel Navarra
Address: St-Jakobsstraat 41, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bruges
#5 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Family Hotel in Bruges
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Navarra 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, family-run 4-star hotel enjoying a prime location right in the heart of the historical city centre of Bruges, within walking distance (just 100m away) from the Market Square (with its famous Belfry tower), all major attractions and main shopping streets. This elegant 17th-century listed mansion has been fully renovated with great flair and intensive care to detail. All rooms are spotlessly clean and enjoy air conditioning , free wifi, flatscreen satellite television, in-room safe and complimentary coffee & tea making facilities. Also enjoy our delicious buffet breakfast and make free use of our indoor pool, sauna and fitness room. Our private car park is exclusively at the disposal of our guests. Hotel Navarra is renowned for its warm atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Hotel Navarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bruges
Bruges Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing