We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely hotel in a very pretty city”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Navarra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Navarra
Ranked #17 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northampton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel in a very pretty city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel Navarra is in an excellent location, just 2 minutes stroll to the Markt and Burg areas. Ideal for exploring the city. The hotel is well kept, clean with good facilities (although the swimming pool was a little cold on a cold day) Breakfast is generous and sets you up well for the day. The hotel is expensive comparative to similar hotels in other cities we've stayed in. However, It is a decent price in what is an expensive city. Particularly with it's prime central location in the old town. The staff very very friendly and helpful. We had a very enjoyable stay and I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megatron-Atkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    733
    118
    31
    12
See reviews for
334
1,286
31
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our stay here was faultless. This hotel has everything you expect for four stars. The rates for 3 nights with breakfast were similar to other cities. There is parking in the hotel (charged) which is convenient if you are touring. The position near he Markt is ideal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHirsties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Wonderful hotel. We had three nights at Navarra. Very clean and comfortable. The only slight issues we had were that we were charged for breakfast that we did not request and told there was nothing they could do about it when we got there, and being gluten intolerant meant that I had only the choice of fruit for £12.00!! , also charges are the same, £12.00, for parking.
The staff were friendly, the location was excellent, lovely pool, and recommendations for restaurants were great. The 't zwart huis served lovely dishes, even with me asking for something not on the menu, Sale e Pepe is a very welcoming, intimate Italian restaurant and In den Wittenkop was also welcoming although a fairly limited menu and on the slightly expensive side, but decent meal. Altogether a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portofino35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

First, Bruges was a very nice surprise, a lovely city, and certainly recommended for a weekend trip. Then our hotel, Navarra. The hotel is on a very good location, just a few steps of the central market square. And for a older city hotel, the hotel looks good. But our room...... the room was small, but as you will spent most of the time out, that was not a big issue, but the beds, they were tiny. Our double was 1.30 m wide, and that meant that we fitted in together, but couldn't move without disturbing each other. No lazy, comfortable sleeps for us. Another disappointment was the bar. We were travelling with our whole family and late night after dinner in town, when the kids were to bed, we wanted to have a few drinks before going to bed ourselves. The bar looks good, but the bartenders were so bad. On our first day we didn't had a happy chap but he served us at least our request. The one the day after looked if he preferred that we just moved on. Totally not interested in guests and the bartender has to color up the bar. During the day we avoided the place after being served badly. And one last remark, my mums watch was stolen when she was in the swimmingpool. Not something you can blame the hotel for but the reception was not very impressed by this. Further stay was not bad, the breakfast was fine, the decor nice, the reception in general friendly, the parking was full so only one of our cars could park at the hotel parking but we noticed that the car that was in parking garage Zilver had to pay half the amount the hotel charges, but as an overal experience I was disappointed. For a 4 star hotel I had expected a little more comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a big bed, our maybe for a twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amigo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bibbrugge, Manager at Hotel Navarra, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment, which received my highest attention.
I wish to apologize for the bad behavior of both bartenders.
I took this up with the staff immediately. Hospitality is one of the main issues and no compromises can be made. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Again, please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Benedikte De Bruycker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We're just back from 3 nights at the beautiful historic Hotel Navarra and had a great stay. The front of the hotel was impressive and matched by the well kept attractive interior. We were really pleased and surprised to be able to check in mid-morning on arriving from the ferry and this helpful approach carried on through our stay. The location is quiet but central and easy to find on foot and our room to the rear of the premises was clean, roomy and quiet.
The hotel is very well located in the center of Bruges. Our room was extremely clean, spacious and quiet.
The included breakfast was plentiful and relaxed but a bit samey by the last morning but this is a minor quibble.Interesting old photographs and a potted history of the building definitely added to the overall positive impression and we would definitely stay there if we're lucky enough to be in Bruges again.
Free internet and wifi without passwords too if you need that sort of thing.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms seemed a little bit of a walk from reception so let them know if any mobility issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopHat121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a 4 star hotel. Booked off the internet and what a lovely hotel it was. The reception staff were more than helpful. The staff in the dining room was friendly and nothing seemed too much for them - there was always a hello and goodbye too which I like. They only do breakfasts and they were of excellent quality without any rushing.

I wish the hotel had made more on their website about the swimming pool and spa, as that can be very important for those with a longer stay.

i would be very happy to stay there again because of the above plus it was very close to all the beautiful sights and squares.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Navarra for several nights with our 4-year old and loved it! The hotel is very well located in the center of Bruges. Our room was extremely clean, spacious and quiet. The hotel boasts a pool, which our daughter loved, and a Jazz bar. Everyone was very friendly -- the staff recommended several local restaurants for dinner (a few of which we visited and enjoyed) and loaned us umbrellas on rainy days. The breakfast (which was included in the rate) was delicious. We will definitely stay there the next time we are visiting Bruges.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children, request the "family room" for a large room with a pull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bklyn911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#25 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Navarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Navarra

Property: Hotel Navarra
Address: St-Jakobsstraat 41, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bruges
#5 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Family Hotel in Bruges
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Navarra 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, family-run 4-star hotel enjoying a prime location right in the heart of the historical city centre of Bruges, within walking distance (just 100m away) from the Market Square (with its famous Belfry tower), all major attractions and main shopping streets. This elegant 17th-century listed mansion has been fully renovated with great flair and intensive care to detail. All rooms are spotlessly clean and enjoy air conditioning , free wifi, flatscreen satellite television, in-room safe and complimentary coffee & tea making facilities. Also enjoy our delicious buffet breakfast and make free use of our indoor pool, sauna and fitness room. Our private car park is exclusively at the disposal of our guests. Hotel Navarra is renowned for its warm atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Navarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bruges
Bruges Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing