We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for exploring Bruges”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Navarra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Navarra
Ranked #17 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newport, Wales
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good hotel for exploring Bruges”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We booked this hotel for 3 nights through the Euorstar website, and were very happy with our choice. The hotel is in a lovely historic building and is beautifully maintained. The room we had was large, comfortable and stylish. The only issue was that it faced the street and there was a fair amount of traffic noise over the cobbles in the busy street below. (Ear plugs are provided for guests in the room suggesting this is a well known problem and it would have been nice if this had been acknowledged when we were allocated the room.) The breakfasts were fine, although the "continental selection" were perhaps a bit limited for a "continental hotel". We may well return, but will ask for another room next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    734
    118
    31
    12
See reviews for
334
1,288
31
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We recently returned from a fantastic weekend away in Bruges, made all the better by the choice of our hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience, from the seamless ferry trip over (strongly recommend the Club Cabin if you have a kids) to the high quality hotel and stunning city.

This hotel was simple yet beautiful. Our room (44) was pretty big and very comfortable. Great location being less than 2 mins walk from the Market Square. Our 2 year old loved the hotel's swimming pool which is situated in the old cellar. Small, well equipped gym and sauna facilities also excellent.

Breakfast was absoutely fine and the Duke Bar was well stocked with local ales which went down very well after a day exploring the wonderful sights that Bruges has to offer. Christmas markets were lovely and exactly what we were hoping for in a weekend break in December - we will certainly return to the city in the summertime when (we were told) the whole feel of the place changes completely.

Had a great lunch at "Poules Moules" situated in Simon Stevinplein (5 mins walk from the Market Square). 25euro for 3 course meal inc filet mignon and quite simly the best chocolate dessert I have ever eaten!

Room Tip: Room 44 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobRebeccaWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Despite arriving extremely early (9.30am), rooms were ready and we were given the keys. Reception staff were very friendly & efficient. Beautiful building. Rooms spacious & comfortable, very high standard of cleanliness. Good sleep quality. Excellent location for all tourist amenities. Good range of food at breakfast. Highly recommend. We didn't use the spa as limited time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhondaHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here as part of the Cresta Travel "Christmas Markets" package (more about the markets later...). Excellent, quality hotel within a stone's throw of the market square; excellent, helpful staff, good clean bedroom and bathroom and good breakfast. Couldn't fault it.
As for the Christmas Markets, don't make a special journey to see them; 15 or so stalls at the bottom of the market square selling tourist-tat, football shirts/shorts/mementos, handbags:- nothing out of the ordinary. The other nearby market is packed into a smaller square, but had little more going for it.
Eateries; spoilt for choice, but would recommend The Olive Tree.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcash375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

A glimmering white hotel in central Bruges. 400 meter walk to the bell tower square or Markt. The common areas are elegant with Art Deco prints, high ceilings, and a great architectural details like Catydid columns and the Bruges signature swans in the stair railings. The hotel was dressed for the holidays including a grand 5meter Christmas tree in the spiral stairwell. It is a 10 euro taxi from the train station, 25 minute walk, or a 10 minute bus ride (2 Euros). Our room was small but clean. The only issue is that our room had a split bathroom – toilet through a door on one side and shower/sink across the room. I think that was just a few of the single rooms, not standard.
The hotel was filled with tourists on a busy holiday weekend – a mix of British and continental tourists - more families than I expected. Breakfast was excellent, but crowded.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Navarra. This hotel is very central to the Markt and bustling bars and restaurants. The hotel is very efficient from booking in to breakfast. Even though the hotel was very busy in the run up to Xmas the breakfast buffet was kept topped up and was very varied. The rooms are very clean and the doubles are a good size with lots of storage. There is only one lift however we never had to wait. There is also a lovely swimming pool and sauna area with a small gym. In all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I had been to Bruges before and noticed this hotel, The location is absolutely the best just 2 minutes walk from the Market Square. They had decent parking for €14 per night, but considering the location this is reasonable.

Upon arrival you enter a gorgeous little courtyard with a very relaxing, warm and welcoming reception / seating area; the staf... all of them.... were very helpful and welcoming; they did everything they could to help us, even getting us some milk in a jar for a brew! :)

They recommended we didn't eat in the market square because of the cost / quality; after the 1st day we wished we had listened.

The TV has BBC1, BBC2, Channel 4 and some other channels. The Wifi is simple; open and fast with no annoying login pages and i could log in via VPN to watch Sky Go!

Hotel rooms were very very clean; very stylish and had everything you need.

We had friends with us whom were staying in a different hotel; because of the location we annoyed the staff to cal lfor taxi's a few times... never a complaint always very helpful.

Breakfast was gorgeous; definitely not worth paying through the nose in the city's restaurants.


Awesome stay would absolutely definitely stay here agian.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Navarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Navarra

Property: Hotel Navarra
Address: St-Jakobsstraat 41, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bruges
#5 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Family Hotel in Bruges
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Navarra 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, family-run 4-star hotel enjoying a prime location right in the heart of the historical city centre of Bruges, within walking distance (just 100m away) from the Market Square (with its famous Belfry tower), all major attractions and main shopping streets. This elegant 17th-century listed mansion has been fully renovated with great flair and intensive care to detail. All rooms are spotlessly clean and enjoy air conditioning , free wifi, flatscreen satellite television, in-room safe and complimentary coffee & tea making facilities. Also enjoy our delicious buffet breakfast and make free use of our indoor pool, sauna and fitness room. Our private car park is exclusively at the disposal of our guests. Hotel Navarra is renowned for its warm atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Navarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bruges
Bruges Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing