We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, good value”
Review of Venice

Venice
Ranked #283 of 710 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, good value”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a small restaurant close to the main square (The Markt). It is friendly, it has a good menu and it is good value for money. If you want a simple meal then go for the 17.50 Euro fixed menu (which still offers a limited choice of dishes). A more extensive meal is the 32 Euro fixed meal (offering a wider choice) which includes an aperitif and sorbet. There is also a full a la carte menu. I had one of the best fillet steaks that I have ever tasted (with the pepper sauce). It is probably useful to book, particularly towards the weekend. The manager and staff were friendly and the service was good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stanley1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    100
    23
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awfull service”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We were a group of 6 coworkers who just wanted to eat some "mules" in Bruges and ended in Venice with a horrible experience!
Not the quality of what we eat but by the lack of education, hubris, arrogance of the employee who served us. Since chauvinistic comments, insults to our country! I have never been treated this way! Who attends this way can not contact customers! The experience ended with the attached photo: employee made this unbelievable gesture!

Helpful?
Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Apathetic Service”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

For the price of the food you would be expecting it to be close to Michelin star standard but they are nowhere near it. The service was just as disappointing, all the waiter was interested in was taking the initial order. Once that was done it was then completely hit and miss - serving our food or clearing the table whenever he remembered that we were there. At the end of the meal, one of us had to go up and ask for the bill because by then we were invisible to the two waiters. Disappointingly poor.

Helpful?
1 Thank Victus99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

A chance happening when looking for a dinner spot. The food was far beyond expectation in terms of taste and presentation. We enjoyed the 'plat de jour'- vegetable soup hot and flavourful; beef stew and grilled chicken; for dessert creamy chocolate mousse. Reasonably priced at 17.50€. Fabulous! Our waiter was friendly and cheerful!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KPZip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were in Brugge recently to sight see and also to visit Ypres/War memorials/trenches.

We stumbled across Venice in a reasonably quiet street - we decided to go in although we were hesitant as we couldn`t see into the restaurant - once you were in you would describe it a local/quaint in style. The food was the best we had had on our break, the waiter recommend the wine (allowed us to sample before we ordered) took our orders and served our food - without any problem. He was very aware of the other diners and their needs.

During our meal we realised there were a further three couples from our trip in the restaurant - all had had a lovely evening in the Venice.

Portion sizes were as you would expect, my king prawns were excellent - we didn`t eat from the `tourist menu` but others did and had all enjoyed what they had ordered.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venice also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing