We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch, and beer advice”
Review of Venice

Venice
Ranked #300 of 724 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lunch, and beer advice”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stopped for an unplanned lunch on the basis simply that it looked OK. It was better than we expected.

Nowhere in Brugge is cheap ( my perception is a 50% uplift on what you pay in Amsterdam or Rotterdam or Brussels). But this was OK.

Simple food - a farmers omelette and a nicoise salad. Well done , well presented and tasty. Friendly service - including advice on maybe not trying the beer I had picked at lunchtime, unless I planned to sleep. Gently pointed to something a bit lighter.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    100
    23
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great find - exceeded expectations”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Very much like other reviewers we stumbled across Venice on a dark rainy night after other establishments were full or too expensive. We were amazed by the fixed price menu and how lovely the food was. The Flemish stew and modules/frites were absolutely great.
The service was brilliant and atmosphere relaxed and friendly.
We may be returning tomorrow night too! Thank you Venice!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank City-stepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great valentine's dinner”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

If you are looking for something decent, good service, great food, reasonable prices, then this is your restaurant. Me and my boyfriend just walked in from the street, as we were looking for a not overpriced restaurant... We got a table right there, waiter was quick, professional (but not over sweet), a good few selection on the menu. We went for €17.50 3 course meal. Which was very good, for starter we had fish patè with fresh bread, and have to mention that beef stew was absolutely amazing, tender and saucy... We had 2 glass of beer each, final bill was €47!!! And on the top of it we got extra portions of chocolate mousse for dessert! :) so overall experience is great, I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“lovely friendly staff.”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Food excellent. Not over priced and a good choice .
Felt very welcome and relaxed. We were not rushed and able to take our time to choose. Also had a vegetarian option (one of our party was a veggie). The sweets were yummy!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joyce147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Set menu, good value”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We (party of 5) wandered into this restaurant on a dark rainy night feeling tired and ready to eat anything half-way decent. Ordered from the set menu (3 courses for 17.50) with minimal expectations...but we were all very pleasantly surprised. Lovely starters and even better mains. Chicken and beef stew were the highlights. Standard dessert but we were too full to take much notice by that point. It seemed to be primarily catering toward tourists but, happily, the quality wasn't compromised and we left feeling pleased with our choice.

(No idea why it's called Venice, not an Italian dish in sight - not that I am complaining!)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katrinket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venice also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing