We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Valentine's dinner ever!!!”
Review of 't Grillkasteeltje - CLOSED

't Grillkasteeltje
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $62
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Belgian, Dutch, Barbecue, European, Central European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This is a very small restaurant in 8000 Bruges, Belgium. Telephone: Belgium, (0) 493 / 103 406. The restaurant is very small and seems to have opened quite recently. Amazing food!
1 review
“Best Valentine's dinner ever!!!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

After failing to book a place to celebrate valentine at the last minute, luckily we find this place, they managed to squeeze us in and we couldn't ask for more. We had the best valentine's dinner ever, very romantic decoration and the owners were very lovely people.

I'll never forget the gift they kindly gave me. Plus the food was to die for, the goat cheese salad was amazing. The steak was perfect and their price was very reasonable.

It is definitely a place I'd recommend to everyone looking for a nice restaurant where to enjoy a good meal and be well looked after - not only like just another tourist in town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidayisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    84
    22
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a Find!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

On our first night in Brugge we ended up getting lost and stumbled across this restaurant which was a great find.

We sat downstairs which is very intimate with the food being cooked right in front of view. The staff were extremely friendly and the food was amazing and well worth getting lost for. After eating here my aim was to get lost every night in the hope of stumbling across another gem such as this.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terran01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great steak”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing meal here. Had the steak for 2 and it was HUGE! Lovely sides and really friendly service. House red was delicious too. Slightly off the beaten track but still really close to the centre-worth tracking down!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FionaR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, friendly staff, frequented and recommended by locals”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had a great evening and dinner at this restaurant (for my Birthday). Its location is hidden and needs to be found. Staff were friendly and informal. Restaurant layout is intimate. Interesting menu and food was very well prepared (in-front of us, seated on the ground floor), fresh and with great flavours. We met a Bruges restaurateur eating their who closes his restaurant in the winter and says this is his favorite Bruges restaurant. Meal and drinks were not excessively expensive, and felt like great value for what we had.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere for a romantic meal”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

On the last night of our stay in Bruges my partner and I stumbled across this restaurant a couple of minutes from the main square.
We popped in earlier in the day to get a reservation and the helpful staff booked us in. Upon arrival we picked a seat upstairs and settled into the warm atmosphere.
The friendly waitress brought olives and stuffed peppers as an appetiser and they brought up our wine. We shared a main which was HUGE steak excellently cooked on the open fire in the restaurant. We were served half of the meat first and the chef kept the rest warming until we were ready. These were served with wonderful Belgium Frites.
We were looked after all night and when it came to paying there was a slight problem with the card machine which meant i had to run and get cash (this has since been fixed) but lead to us sharing a drink with the owners of the restaurant. They were both lovely company and could not be more apologetic about the issue with the card machine.
It was a really lovely evening and the food was truly delicious. All of this and it was a great price, we both ate as much as we could, shared a bottle of wine and a drink after and felt really good value for money easily under 100 Euros. If I am ever back in Bruges i will be sure to go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke-a-tron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 't Grillkasteeltje also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing