We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guest-house in Brugges”
Review of Guesthouse Pickery

Guesthouse Pickery
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Pickery
Ranked #200 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great guest-house in Brugges”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Lovely, small guesthouse. The room had great wallpaper and a great large antique bed. It was very clean, and our host was very friendly and humorous. He kindly allowed three of us to stay in the room by providing us an additional cot. In the morning he delivered warm bread outside our door. Very good value and comfort.

Nice small bar down the street as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
3
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Fantastic, homely guesthouse. Felt more like being given your own room at a friend's place. Room was spacious, well-lit and quirky with antique furniture, comfortable double bed, large windows and gorgeous finishings.

Fresh bread and croissants delivered to your door every morning at 9:00 (unless requested otherwise) and a stocked fridge with the option to request refills of whatever you need. Host is extremely welcoming and able to help with any restaurant reccomendations needed (try The Biezen just down the road for mind-blowing steak and frites.)

Am already planning to book again for the Christmas period.

Room Tip: Top floor room was spacious and well lit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayLongley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We found this guesthouse on a few didn't sites when looking for hotels in bruge, Expedia stated that is was an adult only place which we checked with the owner and he said that children were more than welcome. We arrived and struggled to find the place, their is a tiny sign hanging on the front, my partner went inside and returned stating that it was like student digs. I am not sure if they are trying to go for authentic Belgium house, but it was dark... The tiling in the bathroom wasn't finished, the sink was been held up with cardboard, the doors have an inch gap at the bottom! The floors are wooden so every time our daughter walked around we were worrying about the people below. The tv wires are hanging down and so we were constantly having to watch our 1 year old son so he didn't pull the tv off the drawers. The furniture is a complete miss match, including a cheap clothes rail. We paid over £150 for 2 nights here having paid less for 2 nights in Antwerp in a genuine 4star superior room. If you are looking for the equivalent of a hostel then this is your place, if you have standards then look elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loopdidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambroos, Owner at Guesthouse Pickery, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry it was a negative experience. We are a B&B, not a hotel. Thats why there are no huge signs. It is obvious that you do not like the decoration
and style of interior. We renovated this house completely regarding the authentic style of the buidling periode 1929, but with the comfort of today. This beautiful neighborhood was built in the early 1900's, and we have chosen to graft the house on the environment. The bathrooms have old style tiling but are copletely new. There are wooden floors as all old mansions of the time, but beneath there is insulation and concrete vaults, so the sound and vibration is minimal. The rooms are very luminous and have large windows. Regarding the pricing. When comparing the prices of establishments you need to stay within a limited radius, and certainly within the same town. If you compare the tariffs in Bruges you will see that the price/quality ratio is positive. This has also been confirmed by multiple guests. Many people before have adored this place and have come here again several times. This kind of review is very exceptional and therefor subjective. When you have expectations of a hotel room regarding to style and construction, you will be dissapointed in most B&B's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2011

stayed here for two nights, felt very welcome from arrival, the owner was very helpful, room was lovely.i really enjoyed staying here, and waking up to the smell of freshly baked croissants placed by our door was a delight!would definatly stay here again,for the money you cannot go wrong, top place!! thanks again! darren

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darren t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Wonderfully renovated townhouse approximately 1km from the centre of Brugges. Whilst it is classed as a 'guesthouse', it is ceratinly far superior to many 3/4* hotels that I have stayed in. The rooms are finished to a fantastic standard and are worth every penny. The chap that runs the place is very friendly and very helpful. Will certainly stay here again on my return to the city.

Room Tip: Can't remember the room number but the room second on your right on the first floor is fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BearCJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#47 of 97 in Bruges
2,237 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.4 mi away
B&B Pickery
B&B Pickery
#92 of 231 in Bruges
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#2 of 231 in Bruges
592 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
1.2 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Pickery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Pickery

Property: Guesthouse Pickery
Address: 103 Werfstraat, Bruges, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Guesthouse Pickery 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B offers rooms in a typical old Bruges style, with comfortable and spacious private bathroom accessible from the room."Guesthouse Pickery" owes its name to the great grandparents of the owner, Laleman Ambroos.The family Pickery has been from the 19th century a well known family of sculptors, of whom many important works decorate the Bruges streets and squares to today. In the stately hall, the old family tree is silently present in black and white.Imagine yourself in an old family hotel!With its location a 10 minute walk from the central market square, it is well situated.There is free parking on the street in front of the house or on the Werfplein. This plaza includes a playground and landscaping where you can relax, or play petanque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Guesthouse Pickery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing