We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good Habit”
Review of The Habit

The Habit
Ranked #68 of 716 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A very good Habit”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We found this restaurant by chance having enjoyed a very pleasant drink in the characterful bar Brugs Beertje next door. The Habit looked cosy and inviting and what a good choice this turned out to be! The food was hearty and home-cooked, portions generous and prices reasonable. The "local habit" menu was delicous - tasty garlic prawns full of flavour, a rich, melt-in-the mouth Flemish stew and a gorgeous chocolate pudding. An added bonus was that the house wine comes by the bottle, but you pay by the centimeter! Ingrid and Pol made us feel very welcome and we wish them every success with their great little restaurant. If you are in Bruges this is definitely a place we would recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris499483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    291
    71
    42
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
1 review
“Great lunch in Brugges”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had delicious menu for lunch, the staff was really friendly and attentive. The place was quiet so we could hear one each other and the location and price were great. When we are in Brugges we are definitely back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vercinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Evening meal at The Habit”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We visited on a Wednesday evening and were warmly greeted and immediately made to feel welcome. Help and advice with the menu was readily given and we were very pleased with our choices. My husband's rabbit was cooked in beer and prunes and the accompanying sauce was particularly good, as was the very interesting salad of chicory and pear, which went perfectly with the rabbit I had a very ample portion of the traditional beef stew which was meltingly tender and very flavoursome. The apple sauce and red cabbage complimented the dish perfectly. It was pleasing to note that the chef checked that the food was to our liking and seemed genuinely to care about the quality of the food he produced. Though we opted for traditional Belgian beers, we noted there was an impressive range of wine on offer too. We would certainly visit again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Food is absolutely fantastic ( I usually have the mixed grill) and the staff are all really friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Meat feast madness. We were a big party and they looked after us admirably, serving lashings of lager and meat of very high quality. Will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoatfaceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Habit also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to The Habit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing