We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Flemish Food -and a lot of it!”
Review of 't Bagientje

't Bagientje
Reserve with
't Bagientje is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #102 of 710 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Vancouver USA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Real Flemish Food -and a lot of it!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Like another reviewer here, we were steered here by a friendly bartender when we asked for dinner recommendation.

The service was very good and friendly. Their menu is not in English, but the waitress kidly described our options. We had a seasonal stew of root vegetables topped with sausage, chops and ribs, and braised rabbit, served with salad and fries. Both dishes were well made of quality ingredients, and tasted wonderful. The seasonal stew, which was a daily special, would have easily fed both of us, and we regretted leaving roughly half of it on the table. I pretty much polished off the bunny, but left some frites behind.

Great food. And when we return, we will go again, but we will know to be aware that some dishes are plenty for two.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EWT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    81
    19
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Local referral”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I was having a beer in Bruges and asked my waitress for a dinner recommendation that wasn't on Markt Square. She said this is where she goes with her family. I didn't have a reservation, which is recommended, but since I was traveling alone they found me a table. First, the service was amazing. They answered all my questions about the menu and made some great recommendations. The most important part though is that the food was fabulous. I started off with homemade pate. I hadn't had mussels yet on my trip so I tried theirs - absolutely amazing. I would recommend this place to anyone that is looking to try traditional food. An added bonus is is near the train station so it was easy to catch my train back to Brussels.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stl_emily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Stockton, Texas
Level Contributor
218 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Belgium at it's best.”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Ate her while waiting for the train, five minute walk to station. Food for area was average, which made it excellent. It is impossible to have a bad meal in this wonderful area of the world. And here you can enjoy a great meal whole waiting for your train.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
103 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Simply great! The ultimate Flemish food experience! :-D”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We got here by chance, walking towards the city centre in the evening. We were so lucky!!

The atmosphere in the restaurant is lovely, customers are locals - but the staff speaks perfect English.

We had dishes from the "suggestions of the day" list - and we were absolutely happy with them!! Flemish stew and another local meat and vegetables dish, and a bottle of red wine.
We were welcomed by a starter on the house, which we found super nice.

The staff was really warm and friendly.

The final bill was 70 Euros, which we found really good (bottle of wine and two main dishes, plus the free starters… generous portions, no need for anything else after that)

Really only positive things to say about this place!! Definitely recommended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zelda_Verona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Where the locals eat !”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

A great restaurant/hotel where friends and locals meet.For the traveler it is located a few steps from the railroad station. Flemish food at his best ! Seasonal dishes. We visited Bruges in May and ordered the in season 'asperges a la flamande' - We loved it. Also try the sole and make sure to order the croquettes ! and the Belgian frites with your steak. The food was excellent. Great and friendly service in a very cozy place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruggeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 't Bagientje also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to 't Bagientje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing