We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced with terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of La Belle Vue

La Belle Vue
Ranked #594 of 707 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Overpriced with terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Came to this restaurant with trepdation based on its location.right at the main square of bruges, i have sensed it would be overpriced with bad service. Ordered the set lunch which is run of the mill type. The shrimp cocktail and mussels were edible. Service was barely existent, only sufficient to summon the menu and bill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank philiplk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    58
    45
    26
    168
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Awful overpriced food and drink, disgusting hygiene.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Recently visited (Sept 2013). No internet access so unable to check tripadvisor, so we took a chance on dinner at this venue. It's in a great location on the main square.

Terrible mistake.

Overpriced, poor quality food but worst of all the staff were rude and their hygiene was disgusting. Our waiter had a heavy, productive cough. Not once did we see him cover his mouth when he coughed. When he sneezed he did so into his hangds wiping them on his trousers. Basic hygiene mistakes. Absolutely disgusting.

Additionally we saw and heard the waiters be rude to a customer who asked for an english language menu. They were openly disparaging in French not realising that our French language skills are very good and we understood what they were saying.

One of the worst restaurants we've ever visited. This place needs a serious visit from a public health official.

All of the above comments are based on observed behaviours.

We will never again visit a restaurant without checking tripadvisor :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Petit Déjeuner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Positives:

1) Lovely view of the square while eating/drinking - can sit on terrace or outside
2) Breakfast was good overall - nice bacon, soft bread, crisp & fluffy croissants
3) Heaters on terrace to keep warm if a bit chilly
4) Menus have food translated into English

Negatives:

1) Waiting staff could have been a little friendlier
2) Chef needs to know how to make scrambled egg! (especially when charging extra for it)
3) Bit overpriced

- Would go back again with friends as the view of the square is lovely. The food was very nice - apart from the strange version of scrambled egg!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RayCalebex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

After a long day of travelling we end up in the mainsquare off bruges. We sat us down on little terras and ask the waiter in french two beers, he smiled at us and explaind that we can easly speak english here everybody in Bruges is trained to speak manny diffrent language, we ordered a pot off mussels in garlic to schare it was so good that we licked or fingers. Thx guys

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roderidder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Service without a smile. Avoid!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Sadly I have only read the reviews for this awful restaurant since returning from Bruges, or I would have known to avoid it! My boyfriend and I stopped here for breakfast on our very first morning in the city and it wasn't a very pleasant way to start the day. We were greeted by waiters who were surly, rude and promptly 'told us off' for sitting at a table apparently meant for 6 (just 3 small tables pushed together, in an otherwise pretty empty restaurant). The food is ridiculously overpriced (we became aware that Bruges restaurants are, on the whole, very expensive for very average quality) and the waiters should be fired for their terrible attitude to so-called 'hospitality'. Avoid at all costs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rose319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Vue also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to La Belle Vue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing