We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DE CARRE - beautiful decorated restaurant on market square in Bruges.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The 57 Restaurant - CLOSED

The 57 Restaurant
Cuisines: Belgian, European, French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fuengirola, Spain
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DE CARRE - beautiful decorated restaurant on market square in Bruges.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Last week we visited this lovely city. We had lunch on the market in restaurant DE CARRE.The Christmas decoration is out of this world. The food was typically Belgian and full of taste. We entirely enjoyed the atmosphère and the friendly service of the waiter. We definately visit again and will recommend this restaurant to our friends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank greta d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hidden restaurant was really amazing. It is quite spacious, very good decorated with tasty food and excellent service. The price was reasonable and you can see a canal through the windows. It worths a visit!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ghillle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A bit souless”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We went here on a Saturday lunchtime in early December. Considering Bruges was packed to the hilt with tourists the 57 Restaurant was dismally quiet and as a consequence the restaurant felt like a large space without much life or soul, despite the setting next to a lovely canal. The food was pretty good on the whole although not that inspiring. My wife had a huge chicken vol-au-vent thing that she enjoyed and I had mussels natural with frites. The mussles were delicious though I was disappointed that to have them cooked in garlic and wine would cost £8 more than the £18 is cost already! But then Bruges in general is not cheap. The biggest disappointment, not for the last time on this trip, were the frites which were like bog standard oven chips. I could have cried!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmyBNewBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
“Delta Hygenist negative review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Do not believe it! This old horse enjoys jaded method for rollback! Beautiful restaurant and service is outstanding. But such tricks do not pass there!
Mike

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Serge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We ate at this restaurant on 2 evenings & found it to be perfectly charming.
It is hard to find but well worth the effort. It is next to the Chocoholics shop & follow the arrowed signs marked '57'. The unobvious location means there are not as many customers as there should be. Particularly when compared to the overpriced run of the mill tourist trap restaurants in the Markt square.
We found the food to be excellent, enhanced by the tranquil romantic setting by the canal. The service provided by Fatmir deserves special mention. He was very friendly yet unobtrusive.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oldmko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The 57 Restaurant also viewed

Sint Andries, Bruges
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing