We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Brugge”
Review of De Gouden Kroes

De Gouden Kroes
Reserve with
De Gouden Kroes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #81 of 713 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $45
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fresh seafood restaurant
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best meal in Brugge”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Was one of the best meals we had on this trip. From the food to the service everything was top notch. The oysters were amazing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    132
    31
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Elegant Restaurant”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Had a leisurely Sunday lunch at De Gouden Kroes and was impressed by the fresh seafood. It's stylish and upmarket. The waiter was very familiar with the menu and we appreciated how he would advised us which oyster variety was the best value. Good ambience and would be nice for dinner too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mysterymeatballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We ate here on our last night in Bruges. I had a wonderful steak, but my wife had the Cod on the pre-fixed menu and it was one of the best dishes I've ever had! The service was wonderful also.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Amazing fish”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

After reading great reviews on Trip Advisor I decided to book here on a visit to Bruge. There was only one other couple seated when we arrived but the place was full when we left. It's a small restaurant and the staff - who were extremely friendly - were rushed off their feet.
We were given small bowls of cockles, shrimps and olives to tide us over until ordering. The wait til our meals came out was very lengthy though, however worth the wait.
The cod in benedict sauce was sensational - and the mash was out of this world.
We were pretty full but considered pudding, for my gran, who has a sweet tooth. But after waiting a long while to even get the dessert menu before anyone came back to us to order, we gave up and asked for the bill.
The waiter was clearly disappointed. This does not reflect on the service, as they were very kind but they do need to bulk up the amount of staff.
Otherwise a fantastic meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shruggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This restaurant was next to our hotel and, what a find! A bit of an 'occasion' so we chose a special set menu which included freshly baked blinis, caviar, baby lobster, Grand Marnier iced souffle & champagne! Totally delicious & very good value. In a word, "go".

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BuntyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Gouden Kroes also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to De Gouden Kroes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing