We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent location, great pool and surrounding green area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel is right within the canals perimeter, step out and walk 2 minutes to grab a boat ride on the canals. Very enjoyable place with great pool and meticulously maintained landscape. The basement parking is very very tight. We rather use the exit to enter as we had about 2inch clerance with the car to make it down the first time!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bretonsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,779)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,148 - 1,154 of 2,780 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Located in one of the main roads of Bruges it's about 15min walk from the main station or a short ride by taxi. From the main Centre / Cathedral its about 10min walk. It's just outside the main square, excellent for those looking for quiet area as Bruges can be very busy on a weekend / bank holidays. For those with walking difficulty that might be a bit of problem. Anyway Bruges is not big at all. I hired a bike so I could go everywhere in a fraction of mins.

This hotel seems quite new (refurbished?), it's opposite an IBIS hotel (in case you are searching on a google streeet map). The main hall is grand, new and well decorated, Novotel standards for those who are used with it. It's in a very quiet area, the hotel is by a court so the road is a few yards away from the main entrance / rooms.

Very big bar located right at the entrance, spacious lounge.

Friendly staff at the reception, they were able to give us all information we needed, maps, location etc.

There are only 3 floors, so very easy to go up and down, lifts.

Room Tip: Near the lift, as they have long long corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed for one night at the end of our holiday in September. Basic room but clean. Bathroom quite small but enough for a couple for one night. Tv was very outdated - which doesnt matter when the sights outside are so amazing but we stayed in Camponile's on this holiday with better sets - for much cheaper! We opted out of the breakfast as 20 euros each seemed a bit steep. But lots of restaurants close by! Hotel very central, after a short walk we found the Saturday Market where we found an abundance of food stalls! Amazing pastries and fresh bread looking over the canals was a much better breakfast! We enjoyed our picnic so much that later in the morning we returned for fresh bread, roti chicken and more pastries (and a sneaky bottle of beer) and again sat in a quiet area on our own looking over the canals in peace. The area is amazing, the shops are amazing, the canal boat ride is a MUST (be prepared to tip your driver even after buying your tickets). The staff in the hotel were very helpful and spoke perfect English (we were a little worried about our flemish!!), even providing us with a small map of the city. The carpark is under the hotel which is public so can get busy but is big enough to accomodate everyone. Not too much for one night (About 20euros) but might be worth putting some money to one side if your staying more than one night! We did not use the restaurant as we wanted something looking over the square but their menu seemed quite large and not TOO expensive. I would still recommend getting out into Bruge to see it lit up at night and try some Moule Frites and a bottle of beer. Cant bet Belgium mussels - so different to French (where we spent two weeks of our holiday). Overall, Loved Bruge, hotel was alright, but we didnt spend much time inside! (There is a pool for those of you that get good weather, was a bit chilly when we stayed!)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelNorthEast22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Brugge is a beautiful city with breathtaking architecture at every turn (mostly 16th/17th Century) no wonder it's been designated a UNESCO World Heritage site!

We stayed in the (3 star) Novotel and can highly recommend the place. Clean, modern rooms and such friendly, helpful staff. Reception and bar staff spoke perfect English (French, German and Flemish too!) and without exception were charming.

The hotel, whilst not quite central, is within an easy walk of the main square and the cathedral. There is an underground car park (not operated by the hotel) which costs 9 Euros a night. It was easy to access and we had no problem finding a space even for our 4X4. Once at the hotel, it remained in the car park for the entire stay. We walked everywhere - Brugges is so pedestrian friendly.

Recommend the canal trips - you get a good view of Brugges which, from the water, looks similar to Amsterdam.

Opposite the Novotel is the Ibis (2 star). We ate the first night in the Ibis - it was Ok but wouldn't recommend it as there are so many fabulous restaurants in Brugge. Can highly recommend The Gruuthuse Hof in Mariastraat. Excellent fixed price menu (they call it a "Tourist Menu"). Only E16.50 for three courses of simply brilliant food.

Back at the Novotel we enjoyed a plentiful breakfast each morning in their relaxed and well managed restaurant. My only quibble was the hot breakfast - buffet style but left out a bit too long so very "crispy" bacon and rather "rubbery" scrambled eggs but made up for by a good selection of hams, cheeses, cereals, pastries and breads. Even freshly made pancakes with Maple syrup and lots of hot coffee.

If you can get a discounted rate (sometimes they offer 3 nights for the price of 2) then the Novotel represents excellent value for money. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were genuinely overwhelmed by the friendly and professional service at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a night having cycled to Bruges from Calais. The hotel was in a great location just a 5 minute walk away from the main square and had ample parking with easy access (for our support vechicle!).

Clean, pristine with a lovely bar area and the service was wonderful. All the mod cons you would expect from a hotel room like TV, Mini bar, kettle.

Couple of minor downfalls- food is slightly pricey but there are plenty of other places to eat in Bruges! There was some noice during the night as we were on the ground floor next to the street and some noisy corridors as partiers came back to the hotel during the night- not really the hotels fault though.

Room Tip: Ask not to be on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deluxetrolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed for a two-night city break but wish it had been longer! Great hotel. Location excellent, just to the south of the Markt etc., a short stroll to anywhere you want to go. Also only a ten-minute walk from the train station, passing through some beautiful canalside footpaths. The hotel is set back from the street on it's own courtyard, facing the Ibis. There is a minimarket just across the road for any essentials.

Clean, modern and stylish inside, giving a very good impression on entering the lobby. Staff were welcoming and efficient, and eager to help. We asked about a late check-out due to a late flight home, and were offered a 3pm check-out at no cost.

The room was superb. On the rear of the hotel, it was clean, nicely furnished and large, with a good sized bed and sitting area with sofa, table & chair. A big window overlooking the hotel swimming pool area and residential parts of Bruges. Flatscreen TV with BBC1 & 2. Tea & coffee tray, minibar, lots of space to hang clothes, adjustable air con which worked well. Bathroom also a good size with powerful shower and modern fittings. Overnight generally quiet and comfortable bed, room nice and cool due to A/C, so slept very well.

Buffet breakfast in the restaurant was also exceptional, perhaps the best I have experienced. Light, attractive and spacious room with a decked outdoor section facing onto the swimming pool area. The food was delicious and varied, both hot and cold, and was replenished regularly even towards the end of the breakfast sitting. For those put off by the price of including this in their stay, I would definately recommend they go for it. In terms of quality and quantity the value for money is actually not bad at all.

I would come back here without hesitation and based on this experience would be happy to try any Novotel in other destinations.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clayt0nian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in this hotel early this month. We've enjoyed our stay as the hotel is in a great location, the room and services are more than sufficient, and the breakfast is terrific! I would recommend this place to family & friends.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Ira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,582 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#35 of 97 in Bruges
2,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.1 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#19 of 97 in Bruges
2,290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Brugge Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Brugge Centrum

Address: Katelijnestraat 65B, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bruges
#11 Business Hotel in Bruges
#13 Family Hotel in Bruges
#35 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $91 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Brugge Centrum 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Brugge Centrum is a 3 star hotel in the historic centre of Bruges, a unique European city known as the Venice of the North. It features 126 comfortable and functional rooms, a bar and restaurant, plus 8 rooms for meetings and conferences and1 large multifunctional room. The hotel is equally suited to business trips and holidays in Bruges with your partner or family, boasting a garden, terrace and outdoor heated pool in summer. Public pay parking available under the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Brugge Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Brugge Centrum Hotel Bruges
Novotel Hotel Bruges
Novotel Hotel Brugge Centrum
Novotel Bruges
Bruges Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing